Google+

Gran Turismo review

AT A GLANCE
  • How it's finally here at last
  • Console-quality racing on a handheld
  • That the cars handle differently
  • Only four cars and no damage
  • How the gloss is mostly gone
  • No career mode? Why?

There were screenshots. There was video. There was even a picture of the PSP 1000 sitting next to a UMD with 'Gran Turismo' on it. So why has it taken five years for the damn thing to finally appear on Sony's handheld?

We can only assume that this is what Polyphony has been doing to it in that time:


Above: So... you've taken the '4' off the title? Oh, and the UMD. Good work

May 11, 2004 we saw that PSP box art and swanky UMD that implied it was ready to go. TWO THOUSAND AND FOUR. We could go on but, for the sake of our blood pressure, let's just forget that the last five years ever happened and start again. So... what have we got?

The new game features 800 vehicle models and 45 tracks. Impressive figures, although some cars are only different in name (like 5 variations of the Hyundai Coupe/Tiberion) and some tracks mere alternative routes around the same course such as Suzuka's East and West variations. You can also drive them in reverse to get even more lifespan from the game. Duplicates or no, it's bewildering when you're actually presented with the choice.


Above: Aaargh! We can't decide

The game is almost identical to PS2 Gran Turismo titles in terms of style and sensation of movement and, as you'll probably know, that means quality. Few sims manage to make every car model feel unique, but GT pulls it off just as convincingly on PSP as it does on PS2 or PS3.

The depth of the simulation means that G-forces (no, not the guinea pigs) are shifting as you take the turns, apply the brakes or gun the throttle. You wouldn't think a handheld racer could truly convey that sensation of steering a superpowered car around race circuits or through narrow back-streets, but PSP handles it with aplomb. At 60fps, the simulation of driving is never compromised and the faster cars are simply a pleasure to drive.


Above: Laguna Seca's challenging corners are a real proving ground

More Info

Release date: Oct 01 2009 - PSP (US)
Available Platforms: PSP
Genre: Racing
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: Polyphony Digital
Franchise: Gran Turismo
ESRB Rating:
Everyone
PEGI Rating:
3+

16 comments

  • CAPST3R - October 19, 2009 6:14 p.m.

    why does it say only 4 cars at the end? that's a bit off 800!
  • GR_JustinTowell - May 23, 2012 2:58 a.m.

    Four cars on the circuit at any one time.
  • CH3BURASHKA - October 5, 2009 12:42 a.m.

    And now,... it's Ridge Racer. RIIIDGE RAAAACER!
  • milkyway - September 28, 2009 6:36 a.m.

    Reviews: Sony PSP go will be released on October 1 for £220-£230. This Sony PSP go review will help you understand the new PSP go in the round. http://www.convert-video-dvd.com/news/sony-psp-go-reviews.html#115
  • jacobtussler - September 24, 2009 4:50 p.m.

    I'm Pre orderin but why no career mode? it's a let down
  • Collymilad - September 16, 2009 3:16 p.m.

    I just don't understand the dumb comments like "I'm glad there isnt a career mode, I only have a little time to play" ? Sorry, what? Ever heard of Quick Race or Single Race? Ahhh yeah most racing games have them and thats what you use for short bursts. Having a career mode as well does not affect this at all, and after more than 5 years of development it's the least you are entitled to expect. No career: Total fail.
  • rezapoc - September 16, 2009 2:45 p.m.

    I'm not buying this now, pre-orders cancelled. People buy Gran Turismo for the career mode, the tuning options and the realism, these are what the series stands for, they are what it brought to the table over every other game when it was first released. The should have just ported GT 2 and put some more polish on it for the psp and updated the car list and everyone wold have been happy. this is a cash in rushed out for the pspgo's launch. In all fairness WTF were they thinking! Screw 'em!
  • Spybreak8 - September 16, 2009 3:09 a.m.

    *meant to say not sacrificing content, my bad.
  • GameManiac - September 15, 2009 11:36 p.m.

    My first GT game was the GT1 and a friend of mine lent it to me. And ever since then, I loved the series and i have the four main GTs on PS1 and PS2. I just wish the developers would put in damage to the game...
  • Cyberninja - September 15, 2009 8:40 p.m.

    looks ok this reminds me i have gt4 somewhere in my room
  • John-117 - September 15, 2009 5:27 p.m.

    Well I'm sold! All I needed for this game to ge good, but hearing about how rich the game is for a handheld title seals the deal. I love GT and this shall by the perfect portable version for me.
  • kiteJargon - September 18, 2009 5:11 a.m.

    Some people can play GT 2 on their PSP. ;) And from the videos the driving looks just as good as it has always been. I don't need a career mode to tell me that I'm getting better and should be rewarded for it. I can judge that for myself and get my own gratification. But I'm a PC sim racer, we're kind of an elitist bunch. And no the game doesn't come out til Oct. 1. No idea why all these reviews are out already. I can understand a few days early but just over two weeks is a little ridiculous.
  • TheWebSwinger - September 18, 2009 12:54 a.m.

    This game is out?? Talk about zero fanfare, or marketing push from Sony...
  • Spybreak8 - September 16, 2009 3:08 a.m.

    Good review, I really liked the track editor in GRID DS, wish they had it on the 360 version though, and think that would be the best way to get the "we have insert number tracks". That'd allow you to optimize the graphics a bit more but not content.
  • aboli - September 15, 2009 4:40 p.m.

    I am glad there isn't a career mode in the game, leave that to consoles, I have 40 mins on the bus to college in the morning, that gives me around 7-8 races a trip, cant wait
  • AmazingKG3 - September 15, 2009 4:37 p.m.

    GT is a fun series, but I don't think I can wait 4 years in between each games. Solid Review

Showing 1-16 of 16 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000