Google+

Dead Space 2 review

Excellent
Back to Article

46 comments

  • Darkhawk - January 25, 2011 7:02 p.m.

    -1.0 points for announcing DLC on release day. Talk about giving the finger to your customers.
  • Cleanser247 - January 25, 2011 6:55 p.m.

    Great review Henry! I enjoyed Dead Space 1, and I think I'll enjoy this too. But, I think it will be a rent:) The multiplayer looks like it will "lose its steam." If you aren't busy, you should be on TalkRadar this week, and talk about it more. I'd love to hear some more about it!
  • thevenomous1 - January 25, 2011 4:04 p.m.

    I played the first game awhile ago and thought it was ok. I played the demo of DS2 the other day and thought it was excellent. Everything is so much better this time around the controls zero g segments implementation of kinesis the enemies. I have to go out and get this game not today cuz its storming outside but soon. I haven't been this excited about a survival horror since RE4 first came out on gamecube!
  • Aletheon - January 25, 2011 3:30 p.m.

    Resident Evil 5 was a perfect game. Nothing at all wrong with it.
  • Bloodstorm - January 25, 2011 3:28 p.m.

    Can't wait to get this. I was one of those that waited on Dead Space because, at the time, EA was synonymous with crap. Then I finally tried the demo and it didn't seem bad, but still I waited. Then, finally last spring I bought it for $20 in the platinum hits box and gave it a go and it was great. It became predictable halfway through enemy wise (ie: the necro is coming out of that grate) but it was still a great narrative, even if I couldn't read a word on my standard definition TV. I gave the DS2 demo a god and it was pretty good. I felt they could have improved a tad on how Isaac felt to control. He still feels heavy footed, but oh well. I'm ready to get my an assault rifle and tear through some necromorphs.
  • Ridgley - January 25, 2011 2:50 p.m.

    Yummy
  • philipshaw - January 25, 2011 12:59 p.m.

    Great review Henry,definitely be getting this game on friday
  • jimmdogg - January 25, 2011 12:37 p.m.

    Great job Hankleberry. Good read.
  • Ampatent - January 25, 2011 9:12 a.m.

    I may be in the minority, but I think the faux review bashing has gotten a little stale, let's move on.
  • 510BrotherPanda - January 25, 2011 8:52 a.m.

    > Despite what some early coverage may have led you to believe, Isaac hasn’t become a Jason Statham or Master Chief-type action star That's nice to here. I can't STAND that douchy "get the Rivet Gun from GameStop" ad.
  • smallberry - January 25, 2011 8:42 a.m.

    Good review. What about the suit's powers though? I can see the gauge on his back for the slow-down thinger but what about others like telekinesis? Are there any cool physics based puzzles that include this? Just curious. I'm gonna pick it up one way or another.
  • malakai - January 25, 2011 8:14 a.m.

    OMG A 9 ARE YOU FRAKKING KIDDING ME, THIS GAME SOOOOOOO DESERVED A 10 I BET HENRY IS JUST A PS3 FAN BOY AND IS ANNOYED THE GAME CAME OUT ON XBOX FOR SHAME, ALSO TRANSFORMERS SUCKS
  • sexyman500 - January 25, 2011 8:13 a.m.

    if it's worse then bioshock 2 it must be terrible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Bitmun - January 25, 2011 8:11 a.m.

    Gungalei; Clearly you didn't watch the director's cut of Alien 3.
  • Unoriginal - January 25, 2011 7:44 a.m.

    Why do reviewers always say: "WE encountered" or "what bothered US"? Why plural? Anyway, happy too see the positive review.
  • juicenpancakes - January 25, 2011 7:25 a.m.

    I'm pretty damn excited for this game, and not only because a Henry Gilbert Super Review gives me raging erections. -- Also, can we PLEASE officially end the Halo: Reach review meme once and for all? It's getting annoying seeing it on every single GR review.
  • Gungalei - January 25, 2011 7:22 a.m.

    Second page's comparison to the Alien series has got a Ripley/Ridley mix up, unless you actually mean the mechanical space pteradactyl pirate makes an appearance. Nice review. There's nothing stopping me from buying this game.
  • GR_HenryGilbert - January 25, 2011 7:21 a.m.

    I mention it in a small aside in the PS3 review. I didn't really play it enough on the PS3 version to say how good it is, but it's going to be on sale on PSN soon, so we'll be giving it a separate review eventually.
  • KaiokenKid - January 25, 2011 6:57 a.m.

    Wonder if Dead Space Extraction with Move controls came out well?
  • Mexicutioner - January 25, 2011 6:39 a.m.

    I really am looking forward to this game finally coming out. I'm kind of meh to the how multiplayer side though. Then again, AC BroHo's multiplayer was surprisingly enjoyable so who knows.

Showing 21-40 of 46 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Jan 25 2011 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC (US)
Jan 28 2011 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC, iPhone
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Electronic Arts
Developed by: Visceral Games
Franchise: Dead Space
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.