Google+

Assassin's Creed Unity review

Back to Article

41 comments

  • KnowYourPokemon - November 11, 2014 12:39 p.m.

    I haven't commented on this site in ages but I seriously can not understand how this game got a 4/5. It's an absolute travesty of a game. The texture quality is true garbage, the crowds are a mess (Sometimes they even change clothes/gender at random!), the framerate is horrible(we're talking 20fps on console, and if you don't have a couple thousand of dollars invested in your gaming PC? Good luck getting above 15 on decent settings) ...I mean come on, this game is riddled with issues top to bottom and gets a "Great" score?
  • dias09 - November 29, 2014 4:51 p.m.

    Are joking? Couple thoudand of dollars? My 1000$ is more than enough to play this game on max!! Just so u know i have i5 4690 and gtx 970 with 8gb ram run smooth with vsync on fps never drop below 50 and most of the time i always 60 So dont talk shit if you dont know how to build a proper rig, just stay with your broken console
  • KnowYourPokemon - November 29, 2014 4:56 p.m.

    You mean now, weeks after launch and they've fixed a lot of the issues since launch? Why yes. And what console? Where in the hell did I say I played this on a console? I played it with my GTX 980, 32GB of RAM, and my i7-4770k. The game was broken as hell at launch. Maybe you shouldn't talk shit?
  • KnowYourPokemon - November 29, 2014 5:01 p.m.

    Also want a reference? Just go watch Totalbiscuit's "Let's not play Assassin's Creed Unity yet" video. He has a much better rig than either of us yet the game ran like garbage for him at launch. But by all means keep going on about a "proper rig"
  • DrN0 - November 11, 2014 11:30 a.m.

    What a beautifully written review. Game looks good too.
  • _--_ - November 11, 2014 11:28 a.m.

    --yeah --im just gonna go with the Metacritic 'user scores' --which are --coming in right around 4.6/10 --when a game(thats not an exclusive) --can garner that kinda hatred --its says 'something' --it tells us --"this game needs to be put down like a horse with 5 broken legs"
  • Rosula - November 12, 2014 2:09 a.m.

    Why not write like a normal person? Those dashes are very irritating.
  • winner2 - November 11, 2014 10:30 a.m.

    Well this sounds mostly great, now all that's left for me is to see if by the time my new graphics card gets here tomorrow that Ubi has cleared up the confusion with the pc version. Because as it stands there are a lot of people saying that it's the worst port of all time. If this is true I'm never buying an Ubi game day one ever again.
  • _--_ - November 11, 2014 11:23 a.m.

    --if there is one game --and i mean 'literally' --of ALL the games ever --that you dont wanna play on PC --its asscreed
  • winner2 - November 11, 2014 12:45 p.m.

    Black flag is the first one I tried on PC when it came out, and I didn't know a TON about pc specs and predicted performance etc at the time, so I thought it was fine and my pc just isn't the best. I got AC3 a few weeks ago cause it was cheap and it runs like a dream, so the progression in tech demands is there as predicted. HOWEVER, there are many many people much more knowledgeable than me on pcs calling bullshit on the "Required" spec of a gtx 680 or a recommended spec of a gtx 780. To them, that would be necessary for crysis 4 or something else crazy, but not this. I'm getting my eyes opened to how pathetic ubisoft is at pc. But then on the other hand there are people with set ups like mine (after I get my new card) that are playing it perfectly fine,so I'm not sure what to think or anticipate. Ubi has pissed off basically the entire pc community as of this moment, and I think they've lost a day 1 customer for life. It seems rockstar and CD Projekt red are the only 2 companies who can be trusted to make a pc game that isn't a pile of crap on arrival. My card should come with a free code for farcry 4, but at this rate I don't think I'll even install the damn thing until a month after release. Unacceptable. There are people with gtx 970's and i7's dipping into sub 20 fps, I think that means that the people at ubisoft Kiev literally just throw stuff at their keyboards and hope for the best.
  • _--_ - November 11, 2014 3:34 p.m.

    --its not because of the graphic issues --asscreed is NOTORIOUS for have horrible controls on PC --ass creed is 'built around' the thumbsticks --its got something to do with the 'action requirements' of AC's controls --theres a lot of 'turn on a dime' action controls --imagine playing Pac-man with the W S A &D buttons --its something like that --the controls dont transfer well to the PC --its like --if there is only one game you wanna play on console --its a console exclusive --and then asscreed
  • winner2 - November 11, 2014 3:43 p.m.

    Oh I agree the pc controls are horrible, they made my first play through of black flag feel kind of weird. Fortunately I've gotten a wired 360 controller since then so I just plug in and I'm good to go for most games. But aside from the controls, it sounds like the way they handled this port was AWFUL. And it goes without saying that the problems aren't going to be consistent across all users so it just gets harder to nail down the issue. A day one patch before the game is even out basically says "we done fucked up". If my new gtx 970 can't run a game that is running "acceptably" on consoles, I'm never going to buy from ubi on pc day one ever again. MEANWHILE in the near future, the actually trustworthy team at CDProjekt will come as our lords and saviors bearing Witcher 3 on a gold pedestal and joy will be had by all. It will also just be a better game in every way.
  • winner2 - November 11, 2014 4:02 p.m.

    Also, apparently it's having problems on every platform. It's a game with a lot of performance issues, people being unable to play and when they can having shitty experiences. As far as I'm concerned, whatever this game's gameplay and story are like, if it isn't very playable I'd immediately give it a 3/5 at best. And you know, this has me worried that even though Rogue is coming out innnnn February (I think?) that it will still be awful. Initially I was hoping "oh they're taking plenty more time to really nail the pc version that's great" and now I'm thinking "it doesn't even matter they'll fuck it up somehow". There's just all these signs with this game. The embargo till the day of release, the day one patches, the performance issues across platforms. Another rumor I heard was that they brought down the xbox/ps4 specs to equal not because they wanted to avoid the debate of which console is better but to avoid trying to meet their previous performance expectations. They may have lowered them to make these issues a little more tolerable.
  • _--_ - November 11, 2014 7:13 p.m.

    --they drop the game every year --this year they dropped two games --thats RIDICULOUS --these guys arent concerned about making 'top notch' games --they have their jaws locked onto the momentary popularity of the franchise --its like ANY OTHER "quantity over quality" enterprise --its all about sales numbers --its all about the money with this franchise --and --thats fine(good for these jerk offs) --but --heres the problem --its affecting the ENTIRE industry(mainly because COD is doing it also~and its becoming a 'standard') --its causing once respected and honorable franchises and publishers --its forcing them to 'keep up' --and --THAT --is why asscreed is killing the industry --cause~ lets face it --in 5 years --NOONE is gonna be playing this franchise --if i see a motherfucker in a hoodie~climb one more goddamned wall(with the greatest of ease) --im gonna challenge chuck norris to a fist fight
  • normanpleasant - November 12, 2014 4:34 a.m.

    Agreed on all points. Probably the most tragic case of franchise over-saturation in the industry, as the core concept was beautiful in the beginning. If only Rocksteady had handled it...
  • _--_ - November 12, 2014 12:04 p.m.

    @Norman --i agree with you also that --in the beginning asscreed was an EXCELLENT franchise --it had solid gameplay --interesting and NEW concepts --they really brought a new INCREDIBLE franchise to the table --also --ascreed2 is/was my 2009 goty --what they have done is a goddamned shame --all the way around
  • Rhymenocerous - November 12, 2014 7:34 a.m.

    Also think of the youngsters who are growing up and this is their first generation of gaming. They'll now go through life accepting this junk as the norm, micro-transactions and 17-sequels-by-christmas. Pretty sad, really, it has to be said.
  • _--_ - November 12, 2014 11:59 a.m.

    @Rhymenocerous --i hadnt thought of that(ever~in all my time hating this franchise and annualized franchises) --that REALLY is sad --i always think about myself so much --but --those poor kids
  • jeff-bell - November 21, 2014 11:45 a.m.

    While I have agreed with most of your points so far, it is unfair to blame call of duty for ubisoft putting out a crap game. I know that it is popular to hate on call of duty on the internet; however Activision has 3 different game developers that make the call of duty games so even though they are put out every year, the newest one was in production for 3 years. Ubisoft made 2 games in one year on their own which is why it is crap.
  • CitizenWolfie - November 11, 2014 10:22 a.m.

    Wait, so no more eavesdropping, no more regenerating health, more emphasis on assassinations, a likeable protagonist, time hopping and historical side missions and cryptic treasure hunts AND I get to customise Arno? I have such a boner right now. Seriously though, I did love AC4 but THIS is exactly what I've been wanting from Assassin's Creed ever since Brotherhood. From the sound of it, it seems like Unity deserves the "4" more so than Black Flag. Friday can't come quick enough.
  • Cruddi - November 11, 2014 12:51 p.m.

    I completely agree, I enjoyed all the assassins creed games (bar 3 strangely), I loved them more during 1, 2 and 2's follow ons, the pakour down is a feature i have been waiting for. I am sure they mentioned the parkour down back during the first 1, it was in one of the promo videos if not it's e3 video. More assassinations and customization beyond clothe colors I am all over this like a fat kid on cake.

Showing 21-40 of 41 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 11 2014 - Xbox One, PS4 (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox One, PS4
Genre: Action
Franchise: Assassin's Creed
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Alcohol