Google+

The Amazing Spider-Man review

Decent
Back to Article

43 comments

  • ObliqueZombie - June 26, 2012 4:32 p.m.

    I feel as if Beenox is getting tired. Like they know they're not gonna go anywhere because they don't try, and then don't try even more because they stay rooted in the mediocre. I think the rights need to be switched to someone else, someone promising, someone who's a raving fan of Spiderman. Rocksteady obviously had some die-hard fans on their team. Alas, I haven't played a Spiderman game, since, well, Spiderman 3 on the PS2. As you can guess, that wasn't a good farewell, so mediocre or not, I'll probably get this when a price drop comes in. I'm dying to be Peter Parker once more.
  • wheresmymonkey - June 27, 2012 1:14 a.m.

    Right, so you haven't played shattered dimensions, Which was porbably the most comprehansive spiderman game ever ( in terms of ppure fan service if nothing else) yet they're mediocre. Come on man. If you're going to knock it at least try it.
  • ObliqueZombie - June 27, 2012 6:41 p.m.

    Well, juding from the scored they've accumulated over the years, I'd say I can safely say they're average at best. But I'm not "knocking" anything. I WANT to play these games, but I don't have the money to--especially for new games.
  • Evanesco - June 26, 2012 4:34 p.m.

    Knew it was going to be terrible. It was just painfully obvious from the gameplay. Beenox needs to give up and find something else to ruin. Jump of the DC / Marvel line and let Rocksteady develop the next spider man game. Then you'd see what he can really do.
  • PleasantPig - June 27, 2012 2:47 a.m.

    Since when is 3/5 a 'terible' score?
  • ParagonT - June 27, 2012 1:54 p.m.

    I guess since the score system was changed, a three may seem great from a standpoint, but doesn't it equal a six? The new score system just seems to exist just to make games seem better. But In my opinion, if you simplify the system, you generalize and confuse people as to what makes it that score. Personally, I like the old scoring system better. People are used to it, people know what the difference between a six and a six-point-eight is, and it gives more room to correctly score it. A game could be on the borderline between a three out of five and a 4 out of five, see what I'm getting at here?
  • Sinosaur - June 27, 2012 2:59 p.m.

    They're using half stars, so the point scale is still more or less out of ten, it's just now a 7 is a 3.5 stars and a 9 is 4.5 stars. I believe the idea with the change was that a game they give a 6 isn't terrible, just not spectacular, and people sort of understand three stars to mean that. Still really weird making the mental adjustment, though, but in your example they'd give it 4.5 stars.
  • ParagonT - June 27, 2012 7:57 p.m.

    Ah, I just stumbled upon a review with the half stars and came back to check on this in my update, not edit button although, my mistake. Still although, it's going by ones. 1,2,3,4,etc...
  • ParagonT - June 27, 2012 7:59 p.m.

    *No edit button although* You see? An edit button would do wonders. Just tell the time of when the post was first made, and time of edit.
  • Evanesco - June 27, 2012 3:27 p.m.

    Never said anything about the score mate. The game failed to live up to expectations and failed pretty damn hard, just like all of Beenox's games. The number of stars is an arbitrary symbol that only flamboyantly superficial websites like Metacritic care about. Take the review for what it says, not for the point value it decides to make up.
  • GaryTheGuidoHunter - June 26, 2012 5:09 p.m.

    I read this review with the idea "If it's like Spider-Man 2, I'll be happy" and it seems like it is too similiar. Seeing as that's the last Spider-Man game I played, I plan on treating this like a Spider-Man 2 rebirth with a different story.
  • talleyXIV - June 26, 2012 5:32 p.m.

    Well this sucks donkey dick.
  • aberkromby - June 27, 2012 7:41 a.m.

    Is it just me or does spidey attach is web to the sky when swinging through the city (like he did in the really old N64 game)?
  • bebl09 - June 27, 2012 11:31 a.m.

    Yeah, it does look a bit silly. Although apparently you can't swing over Central Park or the ocean so that makes sense at least.
  • aberkromby - June 28, 2012 6:58 a.m.

    I wonder why they went with that system, considering Spiderman 2 on the ps2 had a fantastic web-slinging system and still managed to connect to buildings. But whatever though... I don't plan on buying the game anyways. My spidey 2 disc is still in cood condition, and nothing I see here warrants an upgrade.
  • Cyberninja - June 27, 2012 1:45 p.m.

    So for video reviews, GR is going to use the old point system?
  • Jessmn2 - June 27, 2012 2:20 p.m.

    I don't care how over the top the robots and bosses are, they're fun. Though....probably would have been smarter for them to release the game...like, maybe a week after the movie came out. But in terms of movie games, it does pretty well for itself.
  • tehtimeisnow - June 27, 2012 2:23 p.m.

    ha ah i new this gane wuold suck it look so stuped its a cartoon charackter and its for little kids
  • narrat0r - June 29, 2012 3:14 p.m.

    You're a bit retarded, aren't you sir?
  • KnowYourPokemon - June 27, 2012 3:34 p.m.

    Bad points are bland boss fights and not much new in terms of gameplay and gets a 3/5(basically 6/10) rating. Funny how CoD games get 9/10, 10/10s for doing just that.
  • Redeater - June 27, 2012 4:45 p.m.

    Pokemon has been doing that since the first game and it still receives 9's and 10's. :) I think the difference is that those are technically proficient while the Spiderman games have always had mediocre gameplay mechanics.

Showing 21-40 of 43 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 2013 - PS Vita
Jun 26 2012 - Wii, PS3
Jun 29 2012 - Xbox 360 (US)
Available Platforms: PS Vita, Wii, PS3, Wii U, Xbox 360
Genre: Action
Published by: Activision
Developed by: Beenox
Franchise: Spider-man
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Mild Violence, Violence, Mild Suggestive Themes

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.