Marvel reveals covers and artists for the complete Murderworld saga

Murderworld: Game Over #1
(Image credit: Marvel Comics)

The Avengers may have fought a Civil War and came out the other side still friends and teammates, but the outcome might have been different if the conflict took place somewhere they had no control – like Murderworld.

Murderworld: Avengers #1 cover (Image credit: Marvel Comics)

In November, Marvel Comics will launch the five-issue Murderworld saga, written by Jim Zub and Ray Fawkes. The story will span across five connected one-shots starting with Murderworld: Avengers #1, illustrated by Jethro Morales. Readers will see the darkest parts of Murderworld and its ruler, the maniacal Arcade, in stories starring Spider-Man, Wolverine, and Moon Knight.

And the whole thing will be tied together by a young documentarian named Paul Pastor, who's determined to expose Murderworld for what it is: a slaughterhouse for countless victims who are forced to participate in a secret tournament run by Arcade. Black Widow has a personal grudge to settle with the Murderworld mastermind… and he could outplay her still.

(Image credit: Marvel Comics)

"When I first saw Murderworld in an issue of Uncanny X-Men, I was fascinated by its colorful corniness mixed with deception and violence,” Zub says in the announcement. 

"Many years ago, Ray and I chatted about a twisted thriller-survival story set in Arcade's deadly playground and now, starting with Murderworld: Avengers, we're finally getting the chance to unleash it!"

Fawkes adds, "Murderworld is one of those stealthy, ultra-compelling concepts that always made the Marvel Universe so fascinating to me – the gaudy, family-fun veneer slapped over a deadly threat. When Jim and I were discussing it, ideas to make it more and more frightening and exciting just kept coming to us. I’m thrilled to bring them to readers in all their horrible glory!"

Following Murderworld: Avengers #1, Zub and Fawkes team up with a series of artists for four more connected one-shots. In order of release, these are Murderworld: Spider-Man #1 illustrated by Farid Karami; Murderworld: Wolverine #1 illustrated by Carlos Nieto; Murderworld: Moon Knight #1 illustrated by Luca Pizzari; and Murderworld: Game Over #1 illustrated by Netho Diaz and more.

Check out Paco Medina's cover art for all five one-shots here.

Murderworld: Avengers #1 will be available November 16, with subsequent issues in the Murderworld saga releasing December 28, January 25, February 15, and March 1.

Check out the best Avengers stories of all time. 

Samantha Puc
Editor, Newsarama

Samantha Puc (she/they) is an editor at Newsarama and an avid comics fan. Their writing has been featured on Refinery29, Bitch Media, them., The Beat, The Mary Sue, and elsewhere. She is currently pursuing a Master of Fine Arts degree in creative nonfiction at The New School.