Skip to main content

Call of Duty: Warzone's new Scopes and Scatter Guns mode limits your arsenal to snipers and shotguns

(Image credit: Activision)

Call of Duty: Warzone (opens in new tab) is already enjoying a breadth of new content thanks to last week's release of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare season 3 (opens in new tab), but developer Infinity Ward isn't done there. As of today, a new limited time mode is available in the free-to-play battle royale, and it's sure to put the test to your sharpshooter skills. 

Scopes and Scatter Guns Trios is exactly what it sounds like, reducing Warzone's weapon pool exclusively to sniper rifles and shotguns, in what Activision describes (opens in new tab) as a "twist on Battle Royale that brings you into new ranges of play."

Read more

(Image credit: Activision)

Modern Warfare best M4 builds (opens in new tab): the best M4A1 loadouts we've found

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare (opens in new tab) is also getting a double XP (and double weapon XP) weekend starting this Friday, and that includes all of the experience points you earn in Warzone, in addition to the first-person shooter's core multiplayer modes. 

The double XP period officially goes live from April 17 at 10AM PT/1PM ET/6PM BST until Monday, April 20 at 10AM PT/1PM ET/6PM BST, so be sure to jump in for the extra points while you can. 

Rumour has it that a Warzone Duos mode (opens in new tab) will also be introduced into its battle royale arena in the coming weeks, alongside plenty of other surprises and new features that Infinity Ward teased at the start of season 3. 

Could Captain Price finally make his debut into the last-man-standing death match in the near future? He's certainly familiar with the layout of Modern Warfare 2's Gulag (opens in new tab), after all...

For more, check out the best Call of Duty games (opens in new tab) in the series' history, or find out what we've been playing in this unusual times via the latest episode of Trending Topics below. 

Alex Avard
Alex Avard

I'm GamesRadar's Features Writer, which makes me responsible for gracing the internet with as many of my words as possible, including reviews, previews, interviews, and more. Lucky internet!