Wii U system update lets you output Wii games to GamePad

TODO alt text

The latest Wii U system update introduces the ability to output video and sound to the Wii U GamePad when using the console’s Wii Mode to play games originally released for the older system. However, Nintendo says the new feature only allows Wii software to be displayed on the GamePad, so a Wii Remote Plus or Wii Remote is still required to actually play the games.

Among other features, Wii U system update 4.0 also adds support for USB keyboards, the ability to automatically receive recommended software and demos from Nintendo, and a friend list icon to the Wii U Menu for easier access. Additionally, there are changes to System Settings, Wii U Chat and Internet Browser functionality. Check out the full update notes here.

A new Nintendo Direct broadcast will be streamed online today from 3pm BST / 7am PT / 10am ET. Hosted by Nintendo president Satoru Iwata and Nintendo of Europe president Satoru Shibata, it will focus on previously announced Wii U and 3DS games scheduled for release later this year.

Topics

We recommend