Google+

The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword review

Excellent
Back to Article

101 comments

  • taokaka - November 11, 2011 3:07 a.m.

    Good review. I'm actually glad to see that this isn't the best Zelda game but for a good reason, which is so I can laugh at my friend who also reads this sight because he read a preview from I think IGN and he wouldn't shut up about how this is going to be the best Zelda game ever. Literally every time I saw him he would say that and now his favourite sight has just swept the rug out from beneath his feet.
  • Hobogonigal - November 11, 2011 5:30 a.m.

    Damn you Taokaka it still will be the best (and yes it was IGN)! Damn you GamesRadar for giving this a 9 when it has a wealth of new content and tries to do something new for the series. Usually I agree with all that you guys say but the only con I could see here was to do with the occasional motion control caliberation. I've been following this site for years and I've seen a lot of games with more flaws than LoZ:SS receive 10's. Oh well, I was just expecting a perfect score as your previews were always glowing. P.S. Taokaka, GamesRadar and IGN are internet sites, not sights...
  • BladedFalcon - November 11, 2011 10:38 a.m.

    And so you damn a site because they didn't give it the score you wanted. Smart, and very objective too. P.S. It's motion control "calibration", not "caliberation"....
  • taokaka - November 11, 2011 6:18 p.m.

    just because of your hilarious owning of hobogonigal I shall humbly admit that your other comment to be entirely correct. I just wanted to shut hobogonigal up and it seemed to work, MWAH HA HA HA.
  • Hobogonigal - November 11, 2011 7:34 p.m.

    Curse you James and your evil laugh!!!!!!!!
  • Hobogonigal - November 11, 2011 7:29 p.m.

    You're one to talk. First person I've seen make so many replies on one article with the sole purpose of calling people objective. Sure, its pretty fun to reply to maybe one or two but you've done quite a lot here... Not trying to be objective but GamesRadar often tend to play games up in their previews and then mention niggles after people have bought it when they post a review. I think the best example of this was the preview of Bodycount- it sounded amazing but I played the demo and it just felt off. That's why it has a Metacritic of 53. I still love GamesRadar, my favourite site, and considering all the time I've spent here I think I'm entitled to a bit of damning here and there.
  • xf3RnVnD0x - November 11, 2011 2:57 a.m.

    great ign says motin controls r perfect... 10/10 gameinformer, 10/10 edge. How can u complain about its graphics. If i ever get a hd zelda cuz fanboys of the hd twins couldn't stand the greaness that is zelda i'll be mad i just dont accpet this review is not good
  • CitizenWolfie - November 11, 2011 2:01 a.m.

    I'm looking forward to playing this come Christmas. I wasn't sure about the motion controls from the demo as it didn't feel like what I was doing matched up with what Link was doing. But since you mentioned recalibrations maybe it was something to do with that (it was at a Games convention with loads of people playing all day). I'm quite glad they toned down some of the dungeons. I know they're a huge part of the series but personally I prefer exploring every inch of Hyrule and savouring the little things like the sun setting over Lake Hylia. And I totally agree with Wind Waker being the best Zelda. I've been replaying it recently and it still feels fresh today. Majora's Mask really hasn't aged well despite being awesome. Wind Waker and Link to the Past have remained timeless. Without any spoilers, how does Ghirahim fare as the villain? He just seems a bit "diet Sephiroth" to me from what I've seen.
  • shawksta - November 11, 2011 1:34 a.m.

    What makes me excited is the Amount of content during and after the games story. Ive seen link do ALLOT of things that would make it rewarding to trying everything.
  • Gene - November 11, 2011 1:25 a.m.

    For someone like me, who genuinely believed that Twilight Princess was a poor game getting by on its Zelda name (I say that as a colossal Zelda fan but seriously: compare Twilight Princess to Okami and you'll see how much it's missing)... How much am I likely to get out of this? Has the core concept of the game evolved at all? Has it grown up? Or am I better off sticking with Skyrim and replaying Okami?
  • shawksta - November 11, 2011 1:29 a.m.

    Considering what they changed and made to the series, it has, especially with the concept,story and gameplay.
  • ithurtstopoop - November 11, 2011 1:20 a.m.

    "The thing is, Zelda is a rare example of a series that has never had a serious misstep to tarnish its record. " Well Excuuuuuuseme princess
  • juicenpancakes - November 11, 2011 1:18 a.m.

    It's a bit odd reading a Zelda review not written by Brett Elston, but if the torch should be passed to anybody, it's Miss Gudmundson. I'm adding this to my list of day-one purchases.
  • shawksta - November 11, 2011 1:15 a.m.

    Question Carolyn, would you say Ocarina of time has met its match with this game?
  • shawksta - November 11, 2011 1:13 a.m.

    Awesome review, this game is nothing but awesome, and lol on the negatives! Wind waker? Eeh, it was awesome but it WAS aggravating. Yet another major contender for GOTY!
  • keltar93 - November 11, 2011 12:42 a.m.

    Great review Carolyn! Didn't think it'd get a 9 from the words of the review, but I'm still picking it up, probably day 1
  • veryweirdguy - November 11, 2011 12:42 a.m.

    Great! Roll on next Friday!
  • magic_muffin_man - November 11, 2011 12:31 a.m.

    >Wind Waker >Best 3D Zelda That's a pretty horrible misspelling of Majora's Mask. Who edited this?
  • Gene - November 11, 2011 1:23 a.m.

    Win! Majora's Mask is, in my thought-out opinion, the best of all Zelda games. It's the only one with any true depth to the world (ironic, considering no-one's sure if it's real or not). It's the only Zelda game to look beyond THERE YOU MUST CARE ABOUT THOSE CHARACTERS AND THOSE CHARACTERS ARE EVIL. Carolyn may love her Hyrule Temple reveal, but nothing in the Zelda series has ever compared to the poignancy and intimacy of healing the cursed scientist, so that his daughter isn't traumatised any longer. Those who have played the game know what I'm referring to.
  • nathstyles - November 11, 2011 2:42 a.m.

    Have to add my agreement here. I liked Wind Waker but my god this site is hung up on it - do you not remember the endless bloody sailing?? MM had an altogether different atmosphere, full of dread and melancholy. Add to that it's excellent take on the standard formula for Zelda games and you have one of the series most unique and rewarding entries. On the Skyward Sword front - I'm sooo poor - stupid endless game release schedule bad enough Skyrim is unobtainable until end of month this will have to wait until I can afford a second hand Wii
  • chrisda - November 11, 2011 12:26 a.m.

    I still have to disagree with the Wind Waker part. Honestly, it was great and all, but the art style just doesn't do it for me and how can you defend the hours of SAILING?

Showing 81-100 of 101 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 20 2011 - Wii (US)
Available Platforms: Wii
Genre: Adventure
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Nintendo
Franchise: Legend of Zelda
ESRB Rating:
Everyone 10+: Animated Blood, Comic Mischief, Fantasy Violence
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.