Google+

The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D review

Excellent
Back to Article

67 comments

  • garfunkling - June 17, 2011 6 p.m.

    Im interested in buying a 3ds for this and the eventual starfox coming out in the fall. While truth be told the only experience with Legend of Zelda I've had is a small bit of Wind Waker I'm willing to give this a try to see what all the hububs about.
  • FlashDancerElite - June 17, 2011 6:07 p.m.

    I love how the second page of the review exists solely to justify giving it a 9 instead of a 10. Not that this (or any other review) is gonna stop Nintendo from printing money with this game.
  • shawksta - June 17, 2011 6:09 p.m.

    Awesome review as it should be, now gamers of this generation can experience why we fucking love this game. I cant wait to pick this up on sunday!
  • gamingfreak - June 17, 2011 6:24 p.m.

    Looks like its time to finally buy a 3DS.
  • Sinosaur - June 17, 2011 6:27 p.m.

    @Shinespark Nowhere in the review did Brett say that Twilight Princess was OVERALL better than Ocarina of Time. Please read more carefully, because you were either using scores (which don't matter that much) or saw the few lines about how the combat system in Twilight Princess was a bit more exciting and blew it out of proportion. The only place they ever really say something is outright better than something else is the three example titles, and none of those were Twilight Princess so obviously nobody said Twilight Princess was better than Ocarina of Time.
  • Imgema - June 17, 2011 6:32 p.m.

    "Back in the day, we expected games to be mysterious and obtuse; today, we’re all accustomed to mechanics that lead us from one place to the next, even if it’s on an almost subconscious level" I disagree completely. Sorry, but i like this kind of difficulty. It makes the game more immersive, believable, atmospheric and mysterious. It makes the particular game better. I don't need hints all the time. You know, some exploration doesn't hurt.
  • Nap1400 - June 17, 2011 6:50 p.m.

    Obligatory "THIS GAEM IZ BETTUR THEN HAL0: REACH?!??!?" comment. You guys are never going to live that down. Still, I'm getting this. No doubt about it. Still wish that they added an extra dungeon a la Link's Awakening DX, but I'll enjoy this just the same.
  • Spybreak8 - June 17, 2011 7:14 p.m.

    Awesome but the 3DS needs a better lineup for me to decide to upgrade.
  • Taxtm - June 17, 2011 7:20 p.m.

    Good to see my reserving this wasn't wasted and it's just as GODDAMN AMAZING as I'd hoped!
  • Z-man427 - June 17, 2011 7:38 p.m.

    I don't think anyone is surprised by the score. I've never been a Zelda fan, but this has had me all kinds of excited for the last year. It's one of the main reasons why I bought a 3DS at launch. I've been playing Link's Awakening on the Virtual Console and I'm loving it. I'll be in Oregon when this releases so I had my cousin preorder it for me. No sales tax is a beautiful thing. And he's a hardcore Zelda fan. He spent something like $200 on a replica Master Sword.
  • Clovin64 - June 17, 2011 7:39 p.m.

    Nice review Brett! I've never played a Zelda before, but I'm quite enjoying this on my 3DS so far. I agree though, I've bumped into several sections in which my objectives were too vague and I ended up wandering around towns chatting to NPC's for half an hour. At least I'm in familar territory, since I've played through okami before, and the similarities are pretty striking.
  • MsSmith - June 17, 2011 7:49 p.m.

    only a 9? geez brett, why do you hate legend of zelda so much? :P
  • Tenfey - June 17, 2011 8:23 p.m.

    I need to know if this version lets you skip the tedious drawn out story sequences that always put me off replaying the N64 version. Yes, I know the goddesses made Hyrule and that Gannondorf is bad, can I please just continue playing the game.
  • dcbernman - June 17, 2011 8:24 p.m.

    If someone chucked a few hundred dollar bills my way, no catch, one of the first things that would come to mind that I would want to buy would be a 3DS and Ocarina of Time 3D. A true classic and testament to the greatness of games new and old, representing the 90s, an awesome decade in gaming!
  • mylittlepwny0802 - June 17, 2011 8:36 p.m.

    Seriously, when are the Halo Reach comments going to stop? I hope GR gives Halo 4 a 7 just for the lolz
  • Redeater - June 17, 2011 8:48 p.m.

    This review just needed to be 3 words long. Go buy it!
  • MonocledYaoGuai - June 17, 2011 9:21 p.m.

    Honestly Brett, all you had to say was it's Ocarina of Time and I would have gone out and bought a copy immediately. What can I say, I've played through it over 30 times, I do an annual run, most of the time more than 3 times in a single year, and is in my opinion the 2nd best Zelda of all time (#1 is Majora). I don't have a 3DS, but rest assured I'll start saving up.
  • Grimi - June 17, 2011 9:37 p.m.

    Yay what a perfect time for my 3DS to be stolen, was really looking forward to playing this
  • jasoncarter - June 17, 2011 9:46 p.m.

    This just oozes memories from my past. I cannot wait to get this this coming week!
  • TheKey - June 17, 2011 9:56 p.m.

    A 9? WTF THIS REVIEWER IS SHIT, ALL SAYS HE IS A DIRTHEAD. HE CAN GO DIE IN A PIT......There's my attempt at humor. I think a 9 seems like a fair score, and is an extremely good one. If anyone bitches about it not being a ten, they need to go choke on their own nostalgia. I love the game, but I doubt that it's the greatest game of all time. And no-one will stop you from saying it's the greatest game ever, even if you're wrong. Good review Brett.

Showing 21-40 of 67 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Jun 19 2011 - 3DS (US)
Available Platforms: 3DS
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Nintendo
Franchise: Legend of Zelda
ESRB Rating:
Everyone 10+: Animated Blood, Fantasy Violence, Suggestive Themes

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.