Google+

The 3rd Birthday review

Solid
Back to Article

29 comments

  • AngeDechu - March 27, 2011 9:41 p.m.

    Well, people, I have my issues with the game too (was a fan of the first two PE), but....there is a detail that explains rather well the character difference. (Spoilers) It's not Aya we play. It's Eve. Eve used her overdrive thing (by accident) on Aya... (Meh, for one time, story and game mechanics are not separated) shourg
  • Flashinthepan - March 28, 2011 12:36 a.m.

    What I wouldn't give for a PS3 release of this game.(probably my hands, possibly internal organs.) I still haven't played the second one, because it was $45 used at the store, so I was looking forward to the third installation in P.E. Maybe I'll have to break down and buy the second game, unless a nice someone can lone me a copy. Also, Maeda is the Otican of Parasite Eve, so to hear he isn't involved anymore makes me tear up a little.
  • ssjMrFord - March 28, 2011 3:49 a.m.

    While there was a shower scene in PEII the game didn't really mess with her character that much. She's still a strong, level headed cop (fed this time) that can handle herself. Also, if you were actually paying attention you'd see that Aya is actually wearing shorts the entire game, it makes sense as a majority of the game takes place in a freaking desert.
  • Darkhawk - March 28, 2011 5:58 a.m.

    Good review. I'm glad someone called Square out on this. The original PE is easily one of my favourite PS1 games, but this has me quite concerned. Plus: all I really want is the original combat mechanic back. (They used it in Vagrant Story, but I think that's it.)
  • philipshaw - March 28, 2011 9:54 a.m.

    I was interested in this game,thought it was going to be the systems last big game but what they have done to the character sounds awful. Also those controls just sound bad,they should have went the MGS:PW route and allowed camera control with the face buttons
  • Fusionmix - March 28, 2011 11:25 a.m.

    Yeah, another game I will not be getting. Hotness or no. An incomprehensible plot and stupid main character? Yeaaaahno.
  • Cleanser247 - March 28, 2011 5:05 p.m.

    I've been watching stuff on this game for a while now. Great review!
  • ghostlion88 - April 4, 2011 3:51 p.m.

    Well what can I say? I have no problem whatsoever with beautiful female nudity in games. It was kind of inevitable here because they probably wanted to use Aya's sexual appeal to help sell the game, and because...well, you get a bunch of male developers who sit behind computers and drawing boards for hours everyday, not seeing much of the outside world, and they're bound to start releasing repressed fantasies in some form. But I do sympathize with the reviewer here. The exposure of Aya's skin should have been more optional in consideration for some female gamers who understandably would like to play as a character with more dignity. Hang in there Carolyn, more games have got to come out eventually where they get it right. And I'm not sure this is quite the "Other M" of Parasite Eve. Maybe the story is butchered (I wouldn't know, having never played any other PE games), but the game is quite fun to play, and I would have enjoyed just as much whether Aya got naked or not-though, admittedly for me, it does make it a hundred times better.
  • Bluefox - April 17, 2011 12:47 p.m.

    Regarding Aya Brea, it sounds like an unfortunate development. But I haven't played the previous PE games so I don't know much about her. What I DO know, is that this is a shooter where your enemies are monsters! I've been waiting for a game like that to hit the psp, most of the shooters now are versus other military personnel and it gets boring after a while with no story to back it up..

Showing 21-29 of 29 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PSP
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Square Enix
Developed by: Square Enix, HexaDrive
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Partial Nudity, Strong Language, Violence

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.