Google+

Super Street Fighter IV review

AT A GLANCE
  • Substantial new content
  • Community-minded multiplayer modes
  • Upcoming tournament DLC will rock
  • It's an evolution, not a revolution
  • Nothing to win you over if you're a holdout
  • Sagat's still a top-tier powerhouse

Just over a year ago our own Dave Houghton gave Street Fighter IV a glowing 10/10, an entirely deserved score for a game that breathed new life not just into the franchise, but an entire dormant genre. This perfect reinvention of Capcom’s most beloved property was a huge hit with critics, casual players and the all-important tournament tweakers that keep the fighting engine churning.

It was such a success that Capcom’s even fallen back into its revisionist ways and prepared a heavily remixed version with 10 new characters, brilliant new online modes and rebalanced gameplay, all for the bargain price of $40. With more content at a lesser price, there’s nothing for us to do but give Super SFIV another stellar recommendation and urge you, whether you have the original or not, to dive in and get addicted all over again.


Above: More depth than the biggest open world you can find


Why does this matter, again?


Let’s say you ignored SFIV but noticed all the hoopla, the YouTube videos, the fervor surrounding a game that’s ostensibly just two people mashing buttons in each other’s faces. While it’s hard to adequately explain the nationwide hysteria that surrounded ‘90s arcades to those who weren’t there, all you need to know about Street Fighter, IV in particular, is that it’s the purest form of multiplayer, the best one-on-one test of skill, the ultimate party/trash talking game.

It takes only minutes to learn how to throw fireballs and whip out dizzying Ultra Combos. Even if you barely understand the concepts, it’s still fun to pick characters at random and pass the controller around the room, pumping your fist in the air with each victory and yelling in disbelief at each loss. Conversely, it takes weeks (if not months) to master any one character in a game with 35 uniquely balanced fighters, effectively creating a game that’s as deep as you want to be, and just as fun no matter how much time you invest.


Above: Fun with or without perfectly executed Super Combos and EX moves


But what’s different about it?


In one sense, not a lot. In fact, you can read the original game’s review and still come to the same conclusions. We’re talking nearly identical content, so if you loved IV, the handful of additions here are worth your money. If you played IV and couldn’t get into it, then there’s no way Super SFIV is going to change your mind.

On the other hand, the 10 new fighters make an already robust fighting experience even richer, especially if you’re an online player itching for new matchups. In a way, fully understanding each SF character is its own playthrough of a typical game, accounting for at least 20 hours of gameplay to become proficient. So, with even with just 10 new characters, fully exploring them all could take a whole lotta time.


Above: Potentially 700 hours of distinct gameplay

But let’s be honest – no one’s going to master every single character. It’s just comforting to know that each time you pick a new fighter, the whole experience, every counter, feint, EX special and Ultra Combo will be drastically different if you take the time to learn the details. But again, don’t be intimidated – Street Fighter is as demanding as you want it to be, nothing more.

We’ll get into the other differences on the next page, including the Replay Channel, Bonus Stages and a look at the new fighters.

More Info

Release date: Apr 27 2010 - Xbox 360
Mar 27 2011 - 3DS
Apr 27 2010 - PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, 3DS, PS3
Genre: Fighting
Published by: Capcom
Developed by: Capcom
Franchise: Street Fighter
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Alcohol Reference, Suggestive Themes, Violence, Mild Language
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

15 comments

  • infestedandy - April 27, 2010 11:47 p.m.

    I was pretty disappointed with Street Fighter IV for numerous reasons. For one, the online component was practically broken out of the box. It took them forever to fix it and when they did I had already left the scene. SF is cool and all, but I like certain other fighters much better. I definitely don't think it's as accessible as, say, Soul Calibur IV.
  • OldschoolAL - April 27, 2010 11:22 a.m.

    I'm gonna get this one, the only problem is online does not work for fighting games, one bit of lag and you've lost the game which is not indicative of anyones real skill. Maybe by super street fighter 4 EX plus Alpha turbo hyper fighting edition they'll get it working properly!!
  • TheElephantManchurianCandidate - April 27, 2010 9:57 a.m.

    So pumped for this!! Too bad we have to wait till friday in the UK :(
  • snothammer - April 27, 2010 8:27 a.m.

    I'm so excited to get this! Too bad I'm broke and need to sell some blood-plasma to get the money Thursday. The things I do for upgraded content.
  • mattdark - April 27, 2010 6:36 a.m.

    @ lovinmyps3 Agree, it would have been interesting to see Poison show up, though I would have also liked to see Elena make an appearance personally, see how they would have handled her fighting style.
  • mattdark - April 27, 2010 6:33 a.m.

    I never bought SF4, simply because I already had a feeling capcom would do a re-release in their typical fashion with the series, so I'll be glad to get a hold of this... Even if I am expecting them to announce Super Street Fighter 4 'Turbo' later this year.
  • Cyberninja - April 26, 2010 11:29 p.m.

    @Abe504 so your not old enough to remember super street fighter 2 are you?
  • lovinmyps3 - April 26, 2010 10:51 p.m.

    I kinda wish Poison was in it though. Despite her mystery gender (I force myself to accept that is actually a woman) she still kicks ass!
  • Kapwan - April 26, 2010 10:47 p.m.

    If you're a hardcore SFIV player you'll understand why this is a separate title and not DLC. The $40 start price is proof Capcom recognizes this issue. I have the game now and love it, now all they need to do is change the netcode to GGPO and it would be near perfect.
  • J-spit - April 26, 2010 9:54 p.m.

    I somehow got SFIV for twenty bucks, so....I already pre-ordered this and it adds up to one full retail game. BOOYAH!
  • Abe504 - April 26, 2010 9:25 p.m.

    this games shouldve been dlc. no way i would buy this game for even $40 bucks. They basically crapped on everybody who originally bought SF4
  • vinicusg.t.guedes - April 26, 2010 7:59 p.m.

    SF4 was really good etc, but buying this is just like buying a world cup soccer game: you are paying for basically the same stuff, a bit more polished and with a few new tricks. The huge rooster is cool but still 99% of the online players will pick Ken, Ryu, Akuma or Gouken and that is enougth reason for me not importing this game when there are so many interesting titles already to buy (God of War, Final Fantasy, 3dot game hero, Bad Company 2 just for some examples). Now if only SF4 owners could buy this half price as a DLC...
  • Amnesiac - April 26, 2010 7:17 p.m.

    I skipped the original despite being very interested (too many games out at the time), so this is a great deal for me, especially coming out at the beginning of summer and right at the start of a relative dry spell in terms of new releases.
  • Embolado - April 26, 2010 6:29 p.m.

    All fans of the series should run out and buy this game. If you have SF4 go trade it in for the next in the series. At 40 coins you cant help but support Capcoms business model: evolve the gameplay but keep most of the core mechanics the same and dont R-ape your consumers, I'm looking at you Madden.
  • tHEmISFIT - April 26, 2010 5:22 p.m.

    I'm not going to buy this crap, I already wasted enough money on street fighter 4 and hated it. So no, its the same game again.

Showing 1-15 of 15 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000