Google+

Star Wars Battlefront: Elite Squadron review

Great
AT A GLANCE
  • Fight on foot, in the air or in space
  • Multiplayer will go on and on
  • Nicely animated
  • Woolly controls
  • Problematic camera
  • Erratic lock-on aim

Star Wars! Truly it’s the game license that keeps on giving, providing a universe that, even now, is capable of providing fresh stories and experiences. Elite Squadron further stripmines the Clone Wars era to tell the tale of two clone brothers, X1 and X2, one of whom (somewhat predictably) falls to the dark side...

You play X2, a clone of some repute who’s engineered from the DNA of a Jedi Master, and the game’s single-player mode takes you through many major events of the Star Wars saga. The big selling point of Elite Squadron, of course, is that it’s the first Battlefront game that gives you full freedom to fight wherever you want, making transitions from infantry to vehicles as you wish – so during a mission you may start out on foot on a planet surface, battling enemy droids, then hop into a starfighter, take to the air, and even into space to dogfight with other spaceships. It’s heady, ambitious stuff, especially in the game’s online modes, which is where the real appeal of the Battlefront games lies.

Unfortunately, everything’s soured a little bit by slightly wonky controls (we lost count of the times we oversteered a spaceship and crashed), a sometimes erratic lock-on aim and a camera that swings unhelpfully around in close quarters. While Elite Squadron is undoubtedly the best PSP Battlefront yet, loving it unreservedly relies more on your love of Star Wars than its sometimes frustrating mechanics. Nevertheless, this is still epic, cracking Star Wars battling.

Nov 3, 2009

More Info

Release date: Nov 03 2009 - PSP, DS (US)
Nov 06 2009 - PSP, DS (UK)
Available Platforms: PSP, DS
Genre: Action
Published by: LucasArts
Developed by: Rebellion, n-Space
Franchise: Star Wars
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Fantasy Violence
PEGI Rating:
12+

We Recommend By ZergNet

6 comments

  • griffed88 - November 11, 2009 6:35 a.m.

    i played and beat both the battlefronts that came before this and I'm def stoked to get this one. I sold my psp with all my games last year and i plan on getting a psp go since I hated carrying around all my umd's all the time. Also, since I'll be gettin it for Christmas I don't mind the $250 rip off price lol
  • AA95mp - November 4, 2009 7:12 p.m.

    @MGS4SolidSnake that's what i've been saying for years.
  • it_burns - November 4, 2009 6:57 p.m.

    I downloaded the PSN demo and I enjoyed the hell out of it. Might pick it up if it comes out here in the Philippines with a somewhat reasonable price. I hate the controls, though, especially when it involves landing your spacecraft on a planet's surface. And why the hell are the Jedi/Sith characters so boring to play as? They're supposed to be awesome since they can pretty much run amok and slice everything in sight. Again, we blame it on the controls, and the stiff animation, if I might add.
  • Cyberninja - November 4, 2009 11:56 a.m.

    i will get this much later when it about 20 if i go thought the list of other psp games i want
  • chinesesoldier - November 4, 2009 2:02 a.m.

    I might get this. The only things I have for PSP is SOCOM Fireteam Bravo 2 (might sell that) and sypthon fliter combat ops. the demo is awesome imo
  • MGS4SolidSnake - November 4, 2009 1:16 a.m.

    looks pretty good i just hope that there will be a console battlefront 3..of course the obligatory first

Showing 1-6 of 6 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.