Google+

Sonic CD review

Excellent
Back to Article

33 comments

  • Arucard04 - December 16, 2011 10:02 a.m.

    Sonic 2 is still the best of the series to me but I'm glad to see this game widely available.
  • DaveGoose - December 16, 2011 2:10 p.m.

    Sonic 2 FTW!
  • lazer59882 - December 16, 2011 9:40 a.m.

    "über-naff"??? wtmf is that?
  • SouthTippBass - December 16, 2011 9:24 a.m.

    I have been watching this game from a distance, since 1993. I always refer to it as "the only Sonic game I never played" I had a megadrive with all the other Sonics, but a mega CD was just too expensive. Oh the pain! I was Sonics No.1 fan! So I waited. And waited. And now, almost 20 years later........ I STILL cant play it as I dont own any of those systems!! Arrrrggh!!! Heres hoping it gets released on Steam or something. Sad face :-( Sonic booooom, Sonic Booooom, Sonic Boooooooooooooom!
  • el.waxa - December 16, 2011 8:21 a.m.

    Great review Justin I think I'll pick this up tonight. I remember having a shot of this when I was younger at my Mam's old boyfriends house haha I thought the first boss was amazing. The only other Mega CD game I played was final fight.
  • Sausage Warrior - December 16, 2011 8:07 a.m.

    Back in the day, I had a Mega Drive 2 with both Mega CD 2 and 32X add ons (only ever had one game for 32X, Chaotix). Back in the day, I mastered Sonic CD's special stages. Forward to a time when I no longer have the machines, I get hold of the original Sonic CD and emulator from the internet. Once I familliarised myself with the special stages, that was it, my old routines came flooding back to me, I was a pro again, I enter special stage, bish bash bosh, done. Been playing the iPhone version (won SEGA's Sonic CD fanart contest so I'll get a code to download PSN version somewhen, along with the Japanese soundtrack CD), Christian "The Taxman" Whitehead has done an amazing job with this remake with his Retro Engine, and although there are odd spots in the game where I notice minor movement/physics differences from the original game, he's got it spot on and emulated Sonic's movement far more perfectly than I expected him to. One gripe I have with this remake, though, is that I just can't get the feel for the special stages, I replay, replay, replay them and find them infinitely harder than the original version. I'm not sure whether it's to do with them running so smoothly compared to the terrible framerate of the original's special stages or if something's changed, but my old routines are out the window and I can't adjust, I have many more instances where I'm sure I should have hit a UFO but the game didn't give it to me. A new challenge to rise to, yes, but it's also frustrating. Still, I want this guy to make Sonic 5, like, NOW.
  • GR_JustinTowell - December 16, 2011 8:20 a.m.

    You won the fanart contest? Nice! Which one was yours?
  • Sausage Warrior - December 16, 2011 8:40 a.m.

    You have to go through their Flickr page as I wasn't one of the 5 top winners, my picture has a giant Metal Sonic holding a giant CD with Sonic and Amy trying to keep their balance on the disc. In an odd way, I'm glad I didn't win the signed CD, because winning a non-signed CD means I won't have to worry about keeping it in perfect condition when I want to give it a listen.
  • ssj4raditz - December 16, 2011 7:59 a.m.

    I'm thankful that this finally came out. I never had the system it was on, and I always heard how good it was/is. Now to experience it for myself is such a joy! Nice review, Mr. Towell.
  • shawksta - December 16, 2011 7:58 a.m.

    Damn, seems you enjoyed yourself, Sonic CD was awesome back then, and its great to see it Conversed well to be awesome now.
  • Elitepwnsface - December 16, 2011 7:06 a.m.

    I did actually have a Sega CD/Genesis combo back in the day and it came with Sonic CD, Some ecco game and a Genesis collection. In any case the music in this game is very good. Even today I will jump on youtube to jam to the StarDust Speedway future music.
  • Elitepwnsface - December 16, 2011 7:08 a.m.

    *StarDust Speedway Bad Future. Forgot there was good and bad future lol
  • robertpopovic - December 16, 2011 6:56 a.m.

    Meeeeh, wasn't playing on getting this at first because I doubt I'd even boot it up (far too many games to play, as well as a 2nd Skyrim playthrough whilst the first is still busy!), but I guess I'll just splurge the cash on it when I boot up my PS3 next time. Good conversions of Good Old Games need to be encouraged :)
  • GR_JustinTowell - December 16, 2011 7:02 a.m.

    Yes, GCOGOG. Exactly. It's incredibly cheap too: £1.49 on iPhone/iPad? Incredible.

Showing 21-33 of 33 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PS3, PC, Xbox 360, iPhone, iPad
Published by: Sega

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.