Google+

Lollipop Chainsaw review

Decent
Back to Article

58 comments

  • zombi3grim - June 12, 2012 10:19 a.m.

    I love how everyone suddenly rips on the game when it recieves a 6 out of 10. The game is awsome. This is just one guys opinion (a guy who thinks FFVII is overrated, BTW. Should show you what kind of godly expectations he has.) The game is fun and thats all that matters. You dont always need something radically different or new that pushes the envelope in EVERY game release. Im fucking sick of reviewers docking fun games because its not the next GTA or blockbuster. Some games dont HAVE to push any envelopes. Just work with what works and play it. Its fun. Game is easily an 8 or 9 out of 10.
  • PevMaster - June 12, 2012 10:59 a.m.

    I like big butts and I cannot lie! You other brothers can't deny That when a girl walks in with an itty bitty waist and a round thing in your face YOU GET SPRUNG!
  • KnowYourPokemon - June 12, 2012 11:08 a.m.

    Agreed. Too many reviewers punish games for not being the next blockbuster.
  • Sinsational - June 12, 2012 11:12 a.m.

    Well, FF7 *is* overrated, and I don't really agree that thinking that gives you higher expectations. I love the game to death, but I don't think it deserves the almost religious worship it gets from fans. No game is infallible. I honestly think the reason why so many people cling to FF7 is because it was their first RPG, plus it had the graphics going for it. But when compared to 4 and 6, the writing and characters don't measure up. Don't get me wrong, this is coming from a diehard FF fan. But I love the franchise as a whole, and I can admit when their games have flaws.
  • zombi3grim - June 12, 2012 12:33 p.m.

    The people who think FF7 is overrated are the same people who listen to no name "underground" bands for the sake of being "cool." VII deserves all its praise and then some. Its one of THE most epic RPG's to ever come out period. VII wasnt my first RPG. I played FF 1 and also VI before VII. The characters in VII far surpass that of VI and yes even IV. So does the story line. Sometimes when something is THAT popular, its popular for a damn good reason.
  • Shadow Of Death - June 13, 2012 10:18 a.m.

    Way to cram everyone who doesn't worship FF7 as the best RPG ever into a "Must be a hipster/elitist" pie. Sinsational was being quite reasonable, expressing his (or her) opinion about the game and not thinking was THAT great, and you go and assume it MUST be because he or she is doing so for the wrong reasons. I don't think FF7 is all it's cracked up to be either (rose colored glasses and all that). Was it impressive at the time? Sure. It has aged horribly though. I also liked FF8 and 10 far more, personally. FF8 has aged a lot better too. Suddenly that means I only like things that are unknown and/or unpopular?
  • Thedigitalg - June 13, 2012 11:52 a.m.

    I still play FF7-9 on a yearly basis, I thought they hold up quite well. But then, I don't game for graphics. I can see why people don't enjoy them anymore though.
  • zombi3grim - June 13, 2012 3:08 p.m.

    I love how you use the word "worship" as if to downplay the success of VII. Way to cram everyone who thinks FFVII deserves all its praise into the "worship" pie. FFVII IS all its cracked up to be. Or it was. It hasnt aged well in the graphics department but story telling, gameplay and character design, it still rivals alot of the RPGs put out today. FF X was excellent as well and is very close to VII. VII IMO wasnt that good. The battle system was WAY too easy to manipulate with junctioning. IX aged better then that IMO. The reason I label people who think VII is overrated is because back when it came out, it was the BEST of the BEST. There was ALOT of people who loved it. That doesnt fade with time. Sure, games have come out that are better then it. But for what it was and is, it ranks up there in the pantheon of greatest games in history. But NOW as with all things that garnered alot of praise, kids that grow up and see FFVII on everything and see how popular it was automatically shoe horn it in with CoD and any other series that sold extremly well. They think selling copies equates to "selling out" and not being that good. Therefore, they want to seem like the odd man out or the "special" one who is too smart to like what all the "sheeple" like. Its fucking idiotic and I seriously want to slap the hipster shades off of every single kid who thinks VII was overrated.
  • Sinsational - June 30, 2012 2 a.m.

    That wasn't the point I was trying to make at all. I was just trying to point out that when a fanbase grows for a particular medium, hype grows, and when hype grows among a large group, things start getting out of hand. People start putting these things (in this case, the game) on a high pedestal. Anyone that doesn't like it or has anything bad to say about it at all is shunned. It isn't the game that's made itself overrated, it's the fans. For it's time it was definitely one of the best. But as time grows, nostalgia grows, and fans start making it out to be greater than it actually was. I love the game, and the series, to death. But when looking at the game and comparing it with how people place it on this high untouchable perch... it doesn't match up. I have NEVER played a game that didn't have flaws, and to get criticized for trying to point them out by the huge fanbase it has... THAT'S what really annoys me. THAT'S what makes me think the game is overrated. I understand loving something (as I also love it), but to meet any calm, neutral arguments with "well, you're just a stupid hipster" is extremely insulting, and only helps to perpetuate the "infallible worship" stereotype. For the record, I don't label people. The world isn't black and white. Also, I listen to mainstream AND underground music. ;P
  • Japanaman - June 12, 2012 10:11 a.m.

    6? I guess we'd be better off playing Bikini Zombie Slayers.
  • talleyXIV - June 12, 2012 10:10 a.m.

    I had known this was going to be a failure since the first time I saw it. These developers literally make themselves out to be pervs, making a virtual girl that everyone can ogle at while playing a mediocre game. Focus on the actual content and then you guys can make something to jerk off to later.
  • Rub3z - June 12, 2012 2:20 p.m.

    Hey, come on. That's a very unfair assumption to make based on ONE game that they've made. You clearly haven't played No More Heroes or Shadows of the Damned. Those games... content. Brilliance. And this game itself at least looks like it's carrying the same torch. So the gameplay might not hold up. So you're a cheerleader hacking up zombies. Who cares? It looks awesome. And there's plenty of evidence to suggest that the content is what they're focusing on all along. Like the consistently good voice acting they've got in their games or the kickass soundtrack provided by Yamaoka. Y'know what? I'll say that I'm actually quite pleased that this game has a pretty face (tits, and ass) on its cover to sell it. Because these guys are certainly in need of the money. They're good developers. They do so many things right. It's such a shame that not that many people bought Shadows. It just looks like this time (according to this reviewer, anyway, I have yet to check other sites) some things didn't come together well in the end. It happens. I'll probably buy it anyway and enjoy it.
  • Moondoggie1157 - June 12, 2012 7:57 a.m.

    I'll still give it a go, although I don't think I'll put down 60 bucks on it. If this game is being deducted points because of its 8 hour story or Suda's past successes, well, I still feel it deserves a play. Personally, I don't see those as reasons to shy away, especially when many other games are shorter, less creative, and by comparison worse than their earlier brethren.
  • GR_HenryGilbert - June 12, 2012 10:17 a.m.

    The shorter campaign isn't a big selling-point, but the bigger problems are the weak combat and shallow gameplay. I compare it to previous Grasshopper successes because that proves they are capable of better things than what LC ended up being
  • Moondoggie1157 - June 13, 2012 9:52 a.m.

    Yea, I guess that makes sense. So much potential, just couldn't stick the landing I guess. I popped NMH in again just to refresh myself, and honestly, I didn't remember the combat being so repetitive, I couldn't play more than a couple hours... If LC is worse in that aspect, maybe I will stick it in the rental pile. Damn shame though.
  • GhostbustTyler - June 12, 2012 6:51 a.m.

    I played a bit of it a few nights ago at a launch event and it was really fun. It reminded me a lot of No More Heroes which was a good thing and is a good thing for anyone who likes the series and was on the fence about this which was more than enough to justify a purchase for me. This game is absolutely stupidly stupid and is great because of it. Games like this should exist as a contrast to all these dumb "realistic" and "gritty" overly serious games that come out by the dozen. Besides, I can't really complain about wasting money on a short game since I used gift cards I got for christmas to pre order it ahaha.
  • Cyberninja - June 12, 2012 6:20 a.m.

    I was going to buy this but now, I will put the money toward Persona 4 Arena.
  • Imgema - June 12, 2012 5:21 a.m.

    They should sell these "games" at the same price as movies. Because thats what they are when the only good thing about them are the script, the cut-scenes and the characters.
  • pr0tostar - June 12, 2012 5:17 a.m.

    They should try to start marketing games like these as budget titles. I'd love to play this game, but I can't spend full msrp on an 8hr long game. Eventually I'll have to cave into signing up for GameFly, but meh... These guys' games SHOULD be making massive sales, and they would if they lowered the price 15-20 bucks.
  • shyamapyjama - June 12, 2012 5:29 a.m.

    AGREED!

Showing 21-40 of 58 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Action
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Partial Nudity, Sexual Themes, Strong Language

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.