Google+

Lollipop Chainsaw review

Decent
Back to Article

58 comments

  • Edias - June 20, 2012 4:50 a.m.

    After having had some time to play this, I feel like critics are being unfairly harsh on it. It's not perfect, but it's far better than the scores would seem to imply. It's an above average action game with a solid soundtrack which is set in a crude but entertaining world. The target audience should, at the very least, be pleased with it. It's not God of War, Bayonetta/Devil May Cry or Vanquish, no; but it's good in its own way. It just seems like action games are getting a bum rap these days. It's like they have to be over the top or they're discredited, while mediocre FPS games are getting solid scores all around; and there are far more of those. Doesn't make a whole lot of sense.
  • KingDjango - June 16, 2012 9:10 p.m.

    While I am disappointed that it wasn't given a high score,I feel like the review was actually fair and well balanced...so kudos for not being a douche and giving a biased and completely one sided review like Mitch Dyer of IGN did!
  • AuthorityFigure - June 15, 2012 9:54 p.m.

    I think it's be more successful if you played as a stupid zombie and killed cheerleaders, not the reverse.
  • Malintendog - June 14, 2012 4:27 a.m.

    I personally had low expectations for this game and was positively surprised when I actually played it. I was afraid that it would play too much on the fan service, but it uses it more as parody than anything else. All the pretty colors, the spectacular music, not to mention the phenomenal voice acting really wins me over. I do agree that the gameplay gets stale very quick. It's a good game, but it's not a 60 buck game.
  • CitizenThom - June 13, 2012 8:10 p.m.

    I thought the prologue and first chapter were a good tongue-in-cheek and entertaining experience. The gameplay's pretty straight forward, but challenging in my opinion. At least a 7.5~8 gaming experience in my opinion.
  • Shanetexas - June 12, 2012 6:19 p.m.

    Akira Yamaoka? Should a old-school Silent Hill fan like me rent this just for the music?
  • Edias - June 12, 2012 4:02 p.m.

    Sounds like a game that's best played in short bursts, which suits me just fine since my game time is rather limited.
  • robotdickens - June 12, 2012 2:45 p.m.

    Still sounds decent from the end rating. I don't know, maybe I'll pick it up when it drops to 30 dollars.
  • EnigmaSpirit - June 12, 2012 1:53 p.m.

    There is DLC so that you can look like the girls from Highschool of the Dead, Kore wa Zombie Desu Ka?, and Deadman Wonderland. I'm excited just to see those in action.
  • LordZarlon - June 12, 2012 1:53 p.m.

    Yet another Japanese game that is more style than substance.
  • AuthorityFigure - June 15, 2012 9:57 p.m.

    The stupid East vs West debate is groundless. It's just as easy to think of US titles that do the same.
  • ObliqueZombie - June 12, 2012 1:08 p.m.

    Well-spoken review, Mr. Gilbert. Great points. Looks like I'll pick this up when it's discounted, because the witty dialogue and clever script already has be wanting to try it out.
  • HitmanSB07 - June 12, 2012 12:35 p.m.

    What's up with the amount of people that think Suda 51 is the name of the game company? Grasshopper manufacture is the company, Suda 51 is the guy.
  • Cwf2008 - June 21, 2012 10:37 a.m.

    Because Suda 51 sounds more like a game company than a guy
  • MattOfSteel - June 12, 2012 12:28 p.m.

    Shame the gameplay is that shallow. Honestly, it only took the 3 minute videos to prove to me that the game was just a hack-n-slash instead of a varied action title. I think that 6 is well-deserved. Such a damn shame that Suda 51 can never seem to get all their ducks in a row. They always have to do one stupid gameplay quirk that sullies the experience.
  • KnowYourPokemon - June 12, 2012 11:14 a.m.

    *Looks at other reviews to see they've all given this game better reviews* *Then realizes this particular reviewers extremely high expectations for games in general* *Continues to play the game and have fun*
  • Mamudo - June 12, 2012 11:11 a.m.

    I'm still going to get it. There are other games where the game play doesn't shine but the world and characters redeem it. As long as it isn't broken and full of glitches I can deal with combat that doesn't blow me away.
  • StoneDreadnaught - June 12, 2012 10:58 a.m.

    I'm picking this up just to help prevent Suda 51 from fading away.
  • CrashmanX - June 12, 2012 10:57 a.m.

    6 out of 10 isn't what I was excpecting. I was honestly expecting a 7 or 8 but whatevs. I'll still rent it at the very least. I mean come on, it's Suda51. I'm bound by blood to play their games.
  • Person5 - June 12, 2012 10:50 a.m.

    That's a real shame, I was looking forward to this game quite a lot, had it preordered at Gamestop and got ready to pick it up even. But after reading this review as well as the Gamestop manager's opinion of the game after she recounted her own experience with the game, I put the money I had on this game on a different game. This review told me that the game was good for maybe fifteen dollars, not sixty. So I'm going to wait for that price to drop, and at about fifteen I'll pick it up and see if I made a mistake or not today.

Showing 1-20 of 58 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Action
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Partial Nudity, Sexual Themes, Strong Language

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.