Google+

Homefront review

Solid
Back to Article

71 comments

  • Romination - March 17, 2011 6:30 a.m.

    Oh, their last game was Frontlines? Seems like I'd have been less excited about this game if I'd known that was their pedigree...
  • KolbitosFruitJuice - March 17, 2011 6:27 a.m.

    I want to play a shooter where the U.S. are the bad guys. I'm tired of America always being the good guys. Its not like I'm unpatriotic or anything, or that I missed that the part of the review stating that this game is not about "AMERICUH! FUCK YEAH!", but I just want a different perspective. Shepard from MW2 doesn't count. It would be very cool to play from the perspective of a soldier from another country, defending his/her country from a misguided assault from the U.S. and its army of soldiers reluctant to fight some business man's war.
  • Danielmemo - March 17, 2011 5:19 a.m.

    @cthuluswrath I didn't know retards had access to the internet now...
  • GMAN2 - March 17, 2011 2:22 a.m.

    I thought the Blops multiplayer would be much more varied than Homefront's
  • Yeager1122 - March 17, 2011 12:10 a.m.

    Well at least the multiplayer is fun which is honestly all i thought looked good in the first place had a feeling caimpaign would fall short.
  • Cleanser247 - March 16, 2011 9:52 p.m.

    Awesome review Mikel, I truly agree with you. Homefront was basically a disappointment, and had the potential to be much better. Keep up the great work : ) Oh, and by the way... You got a great haircut! It looks badass : )
  • talkraider - March 16, 2011 8:13 p.m.

    YOU HVE TO PAY EXTRA TO GET EVERYTHING ONLINE!?! AAHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!
  • UberNoob - March 16, 2011 7:20 p.m.

    Expected a higher score, but I'll settle for a 7. Might rent it first.
  • MJSHappy - March 16, 2011 7:06 p.m.

    How the did this get a super review? Was there really that much hype for it?
  • philipshaw - March 16, 2011 5:59 p.m.

    Great review, I'm interested in the story but the game-play has always looked a bit rough. Not interested in multi-player so I think I will give this one a miss
  • QWERTYCommander - March 16, 2011 5:27 p.m.

    @Gahmah You said it was horrible in the beginning of your comment, and then you said it was sub-par on the end of your comment?
  • Gahmah - March 16, 2011 4:54 p.m.

    Played through this yesterday... that games pretty horrible, that story comes off as damn ridiculous, like Battle LA or the recent Transformers movies, the how of Korea conquers east asia and then moves on to occupy the US is ham fisted as all hell. Then the concentration camps and mass grave shit is just fucking bizarre, as well as any sense of small resistance forces, WHEN YOU'VE GOT ACCESS TO A TANK DRONE AND HELICOPTERS. It's story happens BECAUSE I SAID SO like modern warfare 2, and is hard to take with any measure of gravitas when you are thrown at EVENT MEANT TO EVOKE EMOTION #237-B, just a poor sodding thing that couldn't deliver on its claims. I would say that campaign is in fact a four Mr. Reparez, I found it sub par, not decent, not average, sub par I say! Good review though.
  • OriginalJonty - March 16, 2011 3:23 p.m.

    It's almost like they tried to copy Freedom Fighters story premise but couldn't beat it. Will probably pick this up cheap.
  • crumbdunky - March 16, 2011 3:06 p.m.

    :@Ladytopegi-if you sat through Apocalypse Now you basically already know the bulk of the message, and a lot of the emotional detail, of Heart of Darkness-but, yes, some of us HAVE read books before and even "hard" ones too. HoD isn't a comfy read but if you expect anything of similar quality from the script of Homefront you WILL end up upset. Red Dawn wasn't exactly genius because of the underlying prose, was it? "Good" is a fine term if you like a game many people don't but "great" is bandied about far too freely and little about what I've seen of this game could be called that even by a very biased gamer-imho. I think this will give a decent account, if a little less polished looking, in it's MP component but 6 hours of FPS campaign(when it looks like much is hand holding too) leaves nothing like the space to develop a convincing and touching story of the type we were promised. hen I think about even AN as a movie relating to HoD I also have to admit the borderline insane Brando Performance is what made THAT film classic beyond any writing or actual Conrad/Kurtz homage. Stone still doesn't know how Brando managed what he did so the chances of anyone recreating that in game form here were always remote.
  • R_U_Guys_From_British - March 16, 2011 3:03 p.m.

    What a shame. I was anticipating the release for homefront but my interest has gone, it seems like this is yet another game where the developers are frightened for the game's performance and so decide to stick on a shitty multiplayer mode. This game could have been a 8 or 9 if they had focused on single player and the drama that comes with that.
  • BMW89 - March 16, 2011 1:02 p.m.

    See, just that whole having to buy a passcode in order to play the complete multiplayer on a used copy - which is what I would probably end up buying - is enough to make me refuse to buy this game on principle. If I own the through a legitimate purchase, then I own all of the game.
  • LadyTogepi - March 16, 2011 1:02 p.m.

    Okay, you know what? I really like this game. I know that's against the majority who gave it the monotonous "meh" to the campaign (regardless of some happy remarks about the fun multiplayer). To be honest, I'm pretty new to FPS games, and I've only had my 360 since October; before that my only experience with FPS was Halo 1 and 2. I've been playing Black Ops for a few weeks and have MW2 waiting in the wings, but I'm having a lot of fun with this campaign. I've been playing the campaign through Black Ops which is awesome, but it's a totally different experience. One is the Cold War, which, by the way, was my field of study in graduate school (and I have to say they really nailed it) and the other is a futuristic invasion including emotional crises as atrocities are committed on American soil. So the writer of the game wrote movies like Apocalypse Now? Yeah, that makes sense. That's a movie I own, and this is a modern version of that. Does anybody read Conrad's "Heart of Darkness" anymore? Just wondering. Mostly everyone's said that the story's well written, and you know what? Thank goodness. And Black Ops' storyline (which has gotten its critical nitpicking) is well written. Thank goodness. I keep hearing that this time is the Golden Age of games, and I think Homefront keeps its pace with the best of what's out there right now, even if it's a step behind the big guys. Maybe as someone newer to modern FPS games, I'm not as annoyed with the "hand-holding, etc." Maybe I even appreciate it. But it's games like Homefront that are preventing me from writing off FPS games as a one-trick pony, and it is causing me to invest in them. And if DLC comes out for it, I'm going to get it. So it's a 4-6 hour campaign? For $60? You can buy three so-so movies for $60 when they come out, and you won't get half the experience you do in Homefront. I guess what I'm saying is that there are people who are going to like this game for the story or for the multiplayer and others who aren't going to like it because it just isn't good enough to them. But no one is going to deny that it isn't "good" and a few of us might argue that it is "great."
  • StealthEagle - March 16, 2011 12:49 p.m.

    "...Homefront takes its rigidly scripted nature to a sometimes-ridiculous degree. " Now I'm a bit worry about it as Bulletstorm is really famous for placing invisible walls all over; you can't even take shortcuts by jumping 1mm down a level. So much for staring at awesome graphics when you can't interact with the world.
  • zigs - March 16, 2011 noon

    I only cared about the campaign for this game, though the story and premise was really cool. But after reading this review, I doubt I'll bother. Sounds like everything I hate about FPS campaigns - having to rehear dialogue over and over, linearity, hand-holding gameplay, invisible walls, ridiculously short length. Definitely not paying £40 for a game that takes 4-6 hours to complete. Got my fix on FPS mutliplayer with MW2 and I've got absolutely no interest in playing another multiplayer shooter for a while. Shame, seemed like this had a lot of potential.
  • Baron164 - March 16, 2011 11:49 a.m.

    I got this in the mail yesterday and beat the campaign last night, it was just as long as Modern Warfare 2 which took me about 5 and a half hours on veteran and at least Homefront's story makes sense :-) I'll agree with Mike and that the scripted sections do sometimes get annoying and overly hand holdy. The way I see is that it's better than Frontlines and I'm hoping for a sequel that digs more into the story and is more fleshed out.

Showing 21-40 of 71 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PS3, PC, Xbox 360
Genre: Shooter
Published by: THQ
Developed by: Kaos
ESRB Rating:
Rating Pending
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.