Google+

Gran Turismo 6 review

Back to Article

55 comments

  • shawksta - December 6, 2013 5:35 a.m.

    Awesome
  • PolarisInParis - December 6, 2013 5:06 a.m.

    It's kinda weird, but it's strangely satisfying to see how much you enjoy GT6 after not enjoying GT5. I was initially worried about the embargo being lifted only on the day of release, but it looks like my preorder was a safe idea.
  • Gouranga - December 6, 2013 4:55 a.m.

    Great review, Justin! I'm actually excited to play GT6, even after being a bit letdown by GT5. I just have a question: it was announced a partnership between Polyphony and Ayrton Senna Institute through an in-game content. Is it available everywhere on only on Brasil or Latin American countries?
  • GR_JustinTowell - December 6, 2013 5:55 a.m.

    It's coming as DLC to all territories, I believe.
  • Nano - December 6, 2013 2:17 a.m.

    Not a word mentioned about microtransaction? £120 car?
  • GR_JustinTowell - December 6, 2013 3:37 a.m.

    It doesn't matter to the game on the disc. You can unlock all six tiers in two days and the progression system is just fine. If people are stupid enough to buy a £120 car, that's their lookout. The game itself is no different to, say, GT3 in terms of access to cars. Forza 5 is keen to suggest you spend money on cars and the paltry sums you get for winning make the microtransaction route tempting. GT6 ramps up its winnings quickly as you progress, which makes saving up for your favourite cars much easier.
  • ParagonT - December 6, 2013 3:58 a.m.

    So all the cars are accessible through gameplay? Or is there certain cars that you can only play with through a purchase?
  • GR_JustinTowell - December 6, 2013 4:04 a.m.

    It can all be unlocked through regular play from what I've seen and been told by our PR rep. Any future DLC will obviously be separate, but the optional microtransactions do not affect the regular gameplay.
  • chrismdonahue - December 7, 2013 7:54 p.m.

    All cars can be earned through gameplay. You don't have to spend a dime. Buy the Anniversary Edition though. Comes with 25 cars in your garage.
  • jedisamurai - December 6, 2013 12:51 p.m.

    After reading an article about "whales" and how one person spending thousands of dollars on micro-transactions basically makes the game free for everyone else, I'm all for them! As long as the game isn't crippled without spending money daily, everyone wins. The company gets the money to keep making games, the economy get stimulated, the buyer gets what they want, and I get to play games same as always. Besides, if they do those kind of transactions it makes it less likely that half the game will be on-disc DLC.
  • g1rldraco7 - December 5, 2013 7:25 p.m.

    These are still being made? How long before people sop buying these?
  • GR_JustinTowell - December 6, 2013 12:32 a.m.

    Yes they are and, on this evidence, never.
  • mikeylawson - December 6, 2013 2:22 a.m.

    Just because you don't like it doesn't mean people will stop buying it. It isn't a yearly update like Madden. It is a massive leap and I will certainly be picking it up purely for the Goodwood track. It is unbelievably addictive.
  • hester2 - December 5, 2013 5:15 p.m.

    Just out of curiosity, who's doing the review?
  • PlainLikeVanilla - December 5, 2013 9:47 p.m.

    Justin Towell

Showing 41-55 of 55 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Dec 06 2013 - PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: PS3
Genre: Racing
Published by: Sony Computer Entertainment
Developed by: Polyphony Digital
Franchise: Gran Turismo
ESRB Rating:
Everyone: Mild Lyrics