Google+

Gran Turismo 6 review

Excellent
Back to Article

55 comments

  • hester2 - December 6, 2013 5:12 p.m.

    I can't believe they still refuse to fix the sound issues and bumper car effect when hitting walls, considering those seem to be the 2 chief complaints people have about the series. That being said, since virtually every one of your past racing game reviews have been mirror images of my own thoughts, I will be picking this up as soon as my wallet recovers from overspending on the PS4 library.
  • chrismdonahue - December 7, 2013 7:46 p.m.

    The sound hasn't changed. The bumper car effect is the same as it was, unfortunately.
  • Manguy17 - December 6, 2013 4:05 p.m.

    ooh this is interesting. Some other reviewers who I generally trust have scored this as low as 6/10. Not sure what to believe. Hopefully I can find an opportunity to try it myself.
  • brickman409 - December 7, 2013 12:01 a.m.

    The most negative things I've heard about this game is the micro transactions. Apparently you have to pay real money to unlock cars in the game. And some can get really expensive This review didn't even mention micro transactions. I don't know what the deal with that is.
  • expeditopaz - December 10, 2013 8:24 p.m.

    The expensive cars of GT5 are still expensive on GT6 (for example, the Ferrari 60's race car, which cost 20 million credits). However, you can earn this money only racing. It takes time, but you can do it.
  • GamesRadarCollanderCooper - December 6, 2013 1:13 p.m.

    No video review?
  • Timstertimster - December 6, 2013 11:44 a.m.

    Does it have multiplayer?
  • GR_JustinTowell - December 6, 2013 12:08 p.m.

    Yes it has multiplayer. But in a game like this, you need people playing it to evaluate it, and seeing as our embargo lifted today (and it has a Day One Patch), I could only tell you about single-player. GT5 evolved massively online over its lifetime, so I don't see any reason why the lessons learned haven't been used to make this one's online way better at launch.
  • expeditopaz - December 10, 2013 8:30 p.m.

    And you can only play online after complete at least the National B races.
  • FoxdenRacing - December 6, 2013 10:59 a.m.

    Hey Justin: I saw your comment on Microtrans [and have had a few arguments since the Eurogamer piece giving cash-for-credits prices that execution is far more important than existence; you make this sound as unobtrusive as FM4's tokens, if a bit overpriced], but there's one more pressing issue for me: I saw in interviews and other reviews that it was revealed not every car was given the 1080p makeover...probably because there's just too many. How common is noticing one, and are they as ugly as some of the other reviewers are claiming?
  • GR_JustinTowell - December 6, 2013 11:45 a.m.

    I didn't notice a single car during gameplay or races where I thought 'urgh, that's ugly'. I was concentrating on getting past them as quickly as possible, of course. It's true that the Premium/Standard divide hasn't been eradicated completely, but there are SO MANY CARS in here that it doesn't make sense to accurately model the interiors etc of all of them. It would take forever. Apparently all of the old Standard cars from GT5 have been reworked to clean them up from the state they were in to a respectable level, but they haven't all got a zillion polygons. All of the cars handle brilliantly. All of the cars look like their real-life counterparts. Some look exceptional. That's good enough for me! And you know how picky I was with GT5 ;) Honestly, it's a LOT better now.
  • FoxdenRacing - December 6, 2013 12:12 p.m.

    Thanks much for the reply! What I was worried about was the glaring 'Wait a minute...this is the same mesh/texture that was in GT4!' examples from pre-massive-update GT5. Sounds like those have been cleared up, thankfully! Follow-up questions: Is it worth foregoing a PS4 for an extra month or three to get GT6/PS3, given that I plan on getting a PS3 at some point to 'catch up on what I missed'? And how does it compare to your take on Forza 5 [though if you'd rather send that in a PM, I understand]? I was surprised when it wasn't your name on that one, but hopefully it was a 'Justin's busy on another game review' or 'The UK office doesn't have any XBOs yet', not anything political or sinister.
  • freeden - December 6, 2013 10:28 a.m.

    It's just too bad they didn't make this available for PS4 as well. I can only imagine what it would be like on that system.
  • MeanwhileGuy - December 6, 2013 10:04 a.m.

    Oh man, this sounds absolutely great. GT has always been the best simulator around, even for more of an arcade fan like myself. GT5 forced me to transfer to Forza for a bit, but that always felt a little soulless and lacking in personality. I think I need to add this to my slightly embarrassing backlog of The Last of Us, Bioshock Infinite, Beyond: Two Souls, Batman Arkham Origins and Dishonored. Also, Justin, how's the photo mode? GT5's was excellent, and I spent so many hours lining up the perfect shot. Probably spent more time on that than I did the actual racing.
  • jedisamurai - December 6, 2013 9:53 a.m.

    As a person who loved Gran Turismo, hated GT 2 and 3, and loved 4 and 5, this review makes me excited but also cautious. In my book the two most important things are "Is it fun?" and "Can I read a book while it loads?". I didn't see either of those things mentioned once in this review. That said, the only things mentioned as negatives were things that make Gran Turimo Gran Turismo (I've grown to love chasing after cars to finally win a race and the bumper-car physics with no damage over the years). Still...I REALLY want this to be the best game ever made for the PS3, so I'll stay hopeful while i wait for XL Game of the Year Edition to be 10.00
  • GR_JustinTowell - December 6, 2013 11:54 a.m.

    It is very fun! And the load times are... adequate. The first time you race on a track, it takes longer to load because it installs to the hard drive. The next time you race there, the load times are comparable to other racing games and therefore not worth mentioning in the review. It's probably quicker than F1 2013, actually (once installed), though I haven't timed it. Hope that helps!
  • jedisamurai - December 6, 2013 12:02 p.m.

    That's what I like to hear! Thank you very much. It might be hard to hold off on a purchase on this one... F1 2013... That reminds me I need to get around to playing F1 2010... then I only have to play 2011, and 2012...
  • GR_JustinTowell - December 6, 2013 12:09 p.m.

    Haha, go straight to F1 2013 and get on the classic Williams cars!
  • cory-c-goody-goodman - December 6, 2013 8:45 a.m.

    I feel like GT and Forza are two completely different things; GT is arcade racing with realistic influence while Forza is a racing simulator with a rewind button replacing arcade usability.
  • usmovers_02 - December 6, 2013 10:19 a.m.

    GT is a sim
  • GR_JustinTowell - December 6, 2013 11:57 a.m.

    Agreed, it's called 'The Real Driving Simulator'.

Showing 21-40 of 55 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Dec 06 2013 - PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: PS3
Genre: Racing
Published by: Sony Computer Entertainment
Developed by: Polyphony Digital
Franchise: Gran Turismo
ESRB Rating:
Everyone: Mild Lyrics

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.