Google+

Gran Turismo 6 review

Excellent
Back to Article

55 comments

  • craig-robb - October 11, 2014 3:41 a.m.

    Everybody on here must have the patience of saints, but for me, the GT6 loading times of each track bite chunks out of my enthusiasm to play once the track has eventually loaded. It reminds me of the HD tracks from the original GT on the PlayStation. Oh, and despite great graphics et al, AI makes a game, and GT6's is crap. Crap AI, crap game.
  • mike-donovan - September 30, 2014 9:29 p.m.

    I just bought GT5 and GT6 today ( have been waiting for GT for PS4 )
  • biggles3309 - February 19, 2014 3:01 a.m.

    Biggest disappointment of the GT series and a blatant move to ripping the users off with in game purchases of game money. The seasonal events that were good sources of income to buy your dream car are now all time trials so one off rewards and not that good. GT6 top prizes £250K vs GT5 prizes of £1M. I find "free" apps annoying enough when you can't get anywhere without having to buy a pack of something, but when you have paid £50+ for a game you don't expect the developer to be pulling the same stunts, especially when there is nothing new or innovative in this version and it doesn't even run on a PS4 so the improved graphics don't really shine. We were left hanging for the full release of GT with the prologue release keeping us hooked and the wait was worthwhile. I never left my racing seat for month when it came out. GT6 has barely been touched. I've kept my PS3 specifically for GT6 so I guess it will now be going on Ebay to pay for the PS4 games.
  • lee-gregan - February 4, 2014 6:14 p.m.

    This game is a technical masterpiece, the lighting is the best you will see, its amazing that GT6 is even being compared to Forza 5 but I have seen and played Forza 5 and GT6 competes on every level and wins on most. My friend has an Xbox One and Forza 5, I showed him the replay of a race I did on GT6 on Mount Panamera ( Bathurst ) and he was gob smacked, he said it looked better than Forza 5. I can't believe Forza 5, a ' next gen ' racer and there is no time change or weather change, its ridiculous what GT6 is doing aside from the awesome graphics and there is more content on the way with a map editor and a phone app that will record a journey anywhere using GPS which you will then be able to input into the game via the map editor. It really does make Forza 5 look like a demo on 360.
  • MerylsHers12 - January 12, 2014 1:04 p.m.

    The game is amazing :) There is also a PC version of PlayGameHacker.Com download and install the manager, a great solution. Link to the manager: http://playgamehacker.com/gran-turismo-6-pc-version/ The film with the action manager: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h6Qor1RhYFk
  • Princeofgaming12 - January 5, 2014 7:20 a.m.

    I still think that Grid 2 has alot more to offer, a way better way of customizing included.
  • ReadoUK - December 11, 2013 8:09 a.m.

    Anyone wonder if the reason Driveclub was put back was because they realised the difference in graphics just wasn't big enough? GT is always going to win on cars, tracks and physics so Drive club really needed to ensure a massive gulf in graphical quality to win round the early adopters. This is the point with Forza- obviously there is a difference it's just not big enough.
  • flogbags - December 8, 2013 10:19 p.m.

    it would be great to be able to play this game, but as it stands, I have tried 3 different copies in my ps3 and still have had no joy!!! All my other games play, even dual layer games including Gran turismo 5, so why wont this one work???? I have contacted sony, and they tell me that a lot of people are having the same issue, WHY? My ps3 is not even a year old and this happens, maybe I should cancel my ps4 order, not a happy camper
  • Sliet - December 8, 2013 7:49 a.m.

    "so if your PP is too big, you’re not allowed to race (stop sniggering at the back)." I died.
  • jesse-laitinen - December 8, 2013 4:32 a.m.

    "It’s the full package straight out of the box, making its next-gen competition (*cough* Forza 5) look like a demo." To be speaking the truth Forza 5 is making this game look like a demo made in 2003.
  • matt-esterhuizen - December 9, 2013 6:13 a.m.

    No one gives a shit here about Xbox. Go join the microsoft sucks forum to discuss this...
  • lalilulelost - March 6, 2014 5:53 a.m.

    Oh, a fanboy who can't cope with reality!
  • chrismdonahue - December 7, 2013 7:40 p.m.

    If you are buying GT6, buy the Anniversary Edition. The extra 25 cars are worth it. It means I only have had to buy 2 cars, My starter and the next one up. GT6 is great so far. Looks great. Progression system is more like classic GT games. PP and license restricted (instead of class and level). Microtransactions won't bother me because I will play and earn credits normally. The winning amounts and car prices are the same as they have been for years. The Day 1 patch was big (2gb). There was a second update today.
  • DemonTraitor - December 7, 2013 6:29 a.m.

    Would love to see the actual mechanics of the menu system etc. I got bored with GT5. I loved just razzing around and learning circuits in different cars in single play mode, but having to keep leaving the circuit choose another car, then choose the circuit again.. blah blah.. what a chore. Would love to see the ability to, after having several laps, change the car without having to reload everything. And also, be able to change the circuit while keeping the car... having to go all the way back to main menu to do this in GT5... wow, it was not long before I got bored and went on my beast of a PC :/
  • CikaFajer - December 7, 2013 1:10 a.m.

    You have ˇnewˇ PP points in GT5 too ... Seasonal events ... did u play gt 5 ?
  • GR_JustinTowell - December 7, 2013 2:21 a.m.

    My review of GT5 is still on the site so feel free to read that. In the vanilla game that I reviewed, you could enter a supercar or even a fully-upgraded car into a beginner race and wipe the floor with the entire field. The new PP-governed system is superior because it actually balances races more like it should. And as for patches and DLC, I appreciate the game changed dramatically post-launch. But all it did was outline what was needed for this game, which is legitimately great as soon as you start it up from the disc alone. I did go back and install over an hours' worth of GT5 patches in one go recently to see how it had changed. It still wasn't as good as GT6 is from day 1, which is why I urge everyone to move on and play this game instead.
  • expeditopaz - December 10, 2013 8:17 p.m.

    The first events of GT5 (Sunday Cup, FF Challenge etc.) can be played with any car, regardless of its performance points. If you get some DLC or patch-prize cars, it's easy, easy to win them. GT6 really changed this (by the way, I won the first events with the default Honda Fit, without any tuning).
  • hester2 - December 6, 2013 5:12 p.m.

    I can't believe they still refuse to fix the sound issues and bumper car effect when hitting walls, considering those seem to be the 2 chief complaints people have about the series. That being said, since virtually every one of your past racing game reviews have been mirror images of my own thoughts, I will be picking this up as soon as my wallet recovers from overspending on the PS4 library.

Showing 1-20 of 55 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Dec 06 2013 - PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: PS3
Genre: Racing
Published by: Sony Computer Entertainment
Developed by: Polyphony Digital
Franchise: Gran Turismo
ESRB Rating:
Everyone: Mild Lyrics

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.