Google+

Gran Turismo 5: This is not the review

A quick Gran Turismo 5 review update: We received review code from Sony on Monday morning (yesterday).  The Sony review embargo says that we are allowed to post a review on Wednesday (tomorrow). That means I have less than two days to play the game, write the review, take screenshots/video and get it published on the site.

The writing of words and editing of videos alone will take the best part of a working day. With this timeframe, that leaves me with a ‘Gran’ total of one day to play the behemoth that is Gran Turismo 5. One day for a game that has been in development for 5 years. One day for a game that is possibly Sony's biggest exclusive of the year. It deserves more.
 
These are just *some* of the things I want to achieve with the review: test the online and 'B-spec' modes. Examine the new, aggressive AI. Drive on all the track surfaces. Watch GT TV. Test the load times before and after the install (which takes 50 minutes alone). Unlock the F1 cars. It ain’t gonna happen in a day. The review WON'T be ready for tomorrow.


Above: This is the proper way to review Gran Tursimo 5

That said, rest assured that I am deep in the process of reviewing the game. I’ve gone as far as I can to make sure I do it with the best set-up I can manage. I even paid £80 at the weekend to buy a Logitech Driving Force steering wheel to go with my now-legendary racing seat just for this review. I’m playing on a (non-3D) 40inch LCD TV, although I’ve played it in 3D at Sony’s headquarters. I’ve got the PS Eye connected for head tracking. I’m listening to the audio through a hi-fi and big fat sub-woofer. I’m taking it damn seriously.

Clearly I’m not allowed to tell you what I think of the review code so far, but I will point you in the direction of my hands-on preview from a few months ago. There’s going to be a lot to talk about in the review. But I can’t write that unless I’ve played the game, so I’d better get back to it.

Expect to see GamesRadar’s Gran Turismo 5 review by the end of the week. I promise.

Nov 23, 2010

34 comments

  • Jackelsburg - November 24, 2010 10:34 a.m.

    I'm definitely interested in seeing the review when it comes out. although i got a copy of mine in the mail yesterday night (i won a copy from some subway contest they had going on) so I'm probably going to be playing it for the next couple of days...
  • grayguwapo - November 24, 2010 3:12 a.m.

    The review may not be out yet but GT5 is already out and on sale in Asia! Check out the sleek Limited Edition ready for pick-up here: http://gameonegadget.multiply.com/photos/album/2/PlayStation_3_Games_#photo=273 Nice!
  • Eliath - November 24, 2010 12:20 a.m.

    I demand a review immediately! It's not like it was just announced or been delayed for ages. Oh wait... I'm interested in reading the review, but I will be picking up my copy tomorrow.
  • EroticInvisibleMan - November 24, 2010 12:05 a.m.

    I hope someone reviews your review, Towell.
  • legory - November 23, 2010 11:13 p.m.

    I'd also like a non-racing controller version of the review. :\
  • REDJELLYNINJA - November 23, 2010 10:09 p.m.

    having been playing this since this afternoon I can honestly say it was worth the wait. sure I may only have a few cars and still have about 99.9% of the game to play but what i have played is great. karting is great. rally is great. the tracks are great. the Zonda is out of this world. AI better than average. There is so much to do it is unbelievable. with over 1000 cars and 70 variations of tracks it is a bargain at £40. cant comment on the online yet as havent tried it but i'm sure that in 24hrs all those that are waitin for this game will have their own comments to post.
  • JohnnyMaverik - November 23, 2010 9:14 p.m.

    I'd rather read a review that perhaps comes later than some of the others but is based on as much experience with all the aspects of the game as possible, than one I know is based on one days play experience with a game that can't possibly be explored to any level of depth in one day. If anything I'm just guna ignore any reviews that come out before your's now because they simply won't have put that time in and really got to grips with the game like you will have, so take your time and hats off for not only making the decision to be later but better informed for it, but for keeping us in the loop.
  • SweatyCrease - November 23, 2010 8:39 p.m.

    This is not the greatest review in the world, N00OOooooOOO00 This is just a tribute.
  • Turboash - November 23, 2010 7:55 p.m.

    Just got my Driving Force GT!!! Me excite!
  • philipshaw - November 23, 2010 7:53 p.m.

    I have yet to see any ads for this game and it's out at midnight, WTF Sony!
  • Bawheidbob - November 23, 2010 7:13 p.m.

    Awaiting with baited breath
  • CoryRX8 - November 23, 2010 6:33 p.m.

    Wait, was that the Batmobile linking to this article? What car is that?
  • ShaneCedt - November 23, 2010 6:33 p.m.

    Just make sure you get up to pee.
  • hester2 - November 23, 2010 6:13 p.m.

    And I just noticed that I think you saw that and corrected yourself in a later post. My bad.
  • hester2 - November 23, 2010 6:11 p.m.

    @andym The embargo ends tonight. He's posting the review on Friday. How about you read before you call me incompetent?
  • SweatyCrease - November 23, 2010 5:41 p.m.

    I hope the review is balanced against the fact that it doesn't cost anymore than a game that's been in development for 12 months. Is it good value for £38?
  • hardcore_gamer1990 - November 23, 2010 5:36 p.m.

    OH HOHO! Ees funny 'cos gran tourismo 5 take ages come out, and now review delayed too! Oh hoho... Family guy reference aside, this is pretty amusing.
  • Robx - November 23, 2010 5:21 p.m.

    Clutch Pedal! @karooo gtfo troll
  • Felixthecat - November 23, 2010 5:18 p.m.

    Too much hype is surrounding GT5. It can only disappoint now.
  • karooo - November 23, 2010 5:13 p.m.

    cant you see hes gonna troll GT5 hes preview points to GT5 is not a revelation sites like these are gonna give it low scores and try to stand out. he is just setting it all up pun intended

Showing 1-20 of 34 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000