Google+

Gran Turismo 5 review

Back to Article

144 comments

  • Lionzest7 - November 30, 2010 3:11 p.m.

    7 doesn't make a game unplayable. In fact a 7 could be fun. PS3 and GT fanboys make it seem like it's impossible to like this game. Justin never said it was impossible to like nor buy this game. Some people need to stop sucking sony cock and start realizing reviews are subjective. God forbid a sony fanboy gets his just desserts and realizes his exclusives suck ass. If you don't agree you should look up Jim Sterling's article on destructoid about ps3 owners, or Adam Sessler's video on G4's killzone 2 review. I own both and I don't give a shit about GT. It's a boring series that tricks you into thinking you're driving simulated vehicles. All it does is put your dream car into number form and applies different values to different cars. They aren't actually unique cars. (this is all my opinion)
  • Joshin69 - November 30, 2010 12:44 p.m.

    Well Justin, a 7! My friends and I think that is very harsh but each to there own. I am tempted to call shenanigans on this though considering the barely contained contempt for the game on the this site and GR uk but then why do i care? I'm enjoying the game and that is what matters in the end.
  • BawBagMcRae - November 30, 2010 11:19 a.m.

    Quote from @jhab007 "this is a review for people that never played the game, they are all agree with it, play the game and then speak what you think." What are you talking about? Reviews are for people to make informed decisions about buying the game in the first place. Of course most people won't have played it! Also you're assuming that people agreeing with the review have not played the game? Why? Because you don't agree? I've played the game and still agree with 95% of what Justin has written (as per my comment below). This is probably the most detailed review I have seen of GT5 so far. I like the fact that every aspect of the game has been "nit-picked" as we've had to wait how long for this game? With a ridiculous amount of delays.
  • QWERTYCommander - November 30, 2010 6:10 a.m.

    @tomtorsion No one wants you here anyway. Get fucked. @ssolitaire He couldn't explore the online because of the huge issues with it. And the criticisms on the little bit of online that he did play seemed very valid. @John-117 "The wealth of content in GT5 surpasses pretty much any other sim racer, and perhaps any current racer on the market." Probably because they spent their time putting in 4 of every car so the total would add up to 1000. @rq3223 "complaining about spectators and trees.. in a racing game??" No, that's completely valid. When I tried the time trial demo for this, I saw everything. The cross-polygons, the rectangular prism-like trunk with textures straight out of a PS1, the sprite crowd, the mostly sprite-made background, everything.
  • Darkhawk - November 30, 2010 5:09 a.m.

    Why can't I buffer the freaking video on this new player? AARGH!
  • jhab007 - November 30, 2010 5:07 a.m.

    this is a review for people that never played the game, they are all agree with it, play the game and then speak what you think.
  • amethystvenom - November 30, 2010 4:55 a.m.

    I'm usually a fan of reviews here but I have to say I'm disappointed. It seems as this feel into the other pile of reviews that did not take enough time to play the game to understand it's leveling system amongst many other things not in your review. If you are a fan of arcard racers, play arcade racers. I have the game, I can't tell you the numerous hours spent already on it and there is a lot of information that is incorrect and missing. Either way, too bad you guys fell into the review trash pile due to it being incomplete.
  • John-117 - November 30, 2010 4:22 a.m.

    Good review, but I disagree. The wealth of content in GT5 surpasses pretty much any other sim racer, and perhaps any current racer on the market. I remember why I started spending my time on GiantBomb now...
  • ssolitare - November 30, 2010 3:39 a.m.

    You are not even making a fair comparison to Forza 3 and barely even know anything about GT5. This is terrible dude, flat out terrible with excessive nitpicking and not enough meat in the review.
  • ssolitare - November 30, 2010 3:33 a.m.

    This review is outrageous and filled with misinformation. Non scaling difficulty is a lie. If you got to A-Spec level 40, why would you complain about the VW race? That is nothing compared to the toughness of the races later on. He didn't even really talk about the late game content or really explored online. This is a terrible review and is not even close to becoming indicative of how good the product actually is. Horrible review, very biased.
  • Spartan523 - November 30, 2010 3:26 a.m.

    halo reach's review is a storm of shouts of bias, and hate towards charlie, and the gothem racing is CIVIL *GASP* officially sony fanboys i like you better
  • NightCrawler_358 - November 30, 2010 2:57 a.m.

    I hate that van level sooo much. but still i think this deserved at least an 8. the whole graphical quality thing is a little silly, i mean, your not going to notice little details as you screech down a road over 100 mph. still, fair review. nicely done.
  • bron1417 - November 30, 2010 2:36 a.m.

    well i'm shocked honestly. now me not having played a GT game since 3 on the PS2 which i liked a lot this is shocking. they had a long time to make this game and you figure they would have gotten this right for the people who own PS3's (i have a 360) it's sad.
  • traind - November 30, 2010 1:51 a.m.

    Good review--very detailed and it shows you care about the game and the genre. I haven't played it quite as much as you but have some similar impressions. I still think it is a great game at its core but that many of the issues you mentioned, and some you did not, tarnish it. I think PD made some very odd design decisions and this seems to have taken time and resources from improving key aspects of the game. If GT4 came out two years ago I would understand...but 5 years later it is hard to believe some of the game isn't better than it is. Still, if you have a PS3 and love sim-leaning car games, I think this is worth every penny due to the core handling engine. Just don't expect perfection.
  • BawBagMcRae - November 30, 2010 1:49 a.m.

    I really enjoyed your honest and obviously time consuming review Justin. The video comparison you posted with GT3 & GT5 was unbelievable. Without looking at which game was on screen it was occasionally hard to tell the difference. The game really does feel like a step backward, or at least no step forward. If this game was released without the GT title it would get picked apart in seconds. Massive install, huge load times and frequently inconsistent graphics are what you would have expected from a PS3 launch title. What grated on me the most is all the in game footage released was clearly picked very carefully and doesn't show the buyer a realistic glimpse of what to actually expect. Apart from the graphics, performance issues and clunky interface I agree that underneath there is a 1st class driving game there. You just shouldn't have you wade through massive piles of shit to get to a very small reward. Looking forward to the next podcast :)
  • darkmagshin - November 30, 2010 1:48 a.m.

    dammit. now i feel like fuck for buying this game. at least i got need for speed as well. meh, i'll still play it.
  • LAKERdynasty247 - November 30, 2010 1:33 a.m.

    Ouch! Not what I was expecting. Still buying the game though since im a big GT fan.
  • tomtorsion - November 30, 2010 1:28 a.m.

    I QUIT GAMES RADAR, the reviews are old crap and bias the news is last weeks news even for a lighthearted games website, even the features are nauseating it has nothing appealing about it anymore I QUIT.
  • destroythemap - November 30, 2010 1:13 a.m.

    I am new to the world of PS3 (previously an xbox360 only kind of guy), finally getting hold of one to play games such as Metal Gear 4, Killzone 2 etc. So I was super excited that I would be able to play GT5. Being a huge fan of Forza and a huge fan of realism I looked forward to seeing what the old masters from Polyhony Digital would be offering. I've had the game since launch day and I knew something wasn't right from the off. I have spent the week in denial reading every review I could find, but this is the first one that I feel I totally agree with. My house mate has the game and loves it, but I have had only Two notable "magical" moments from this game in the last week. Granted both of these occasions have been down to the incredible physics in the game, but as good as physics are I have never felt like I was immersed in the experience of driving a car fast. Being a student who is seriously strapped for cash I just don't think I can justify keeping this game, which is a huge disappointment. The shocking lack of detail in some elements of the games appearance and the constant presence of a loading screen is just too much of a distraction to enjoy the games rare moments of genius. Before this goes on and on and on and on, I'll just say thanks to Justin for finally clearing my head and making sense. I can't believe what GT has become. Tomorrow I will be trading it in for a couple of platinum must have PS3 games.
  • rq3223 - November 30, 2010 12:45 a.m.

    @the well that wouldn't be a fair assumption since he is a gt fan, but there are things in this review that are just ridiculous

Showing 41-60 of 144 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PS3
Genre: Racing
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: Polyphony Digital
Franchise: Gran Turismo
ESRB Rating:
Everyone: Mild Lyrics
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.