Google+

Gran Turismo 5 review

Back to Article

144 comments

  • Groocifer - December 1, 2010 4:06 p.m.

    I suppose I should be pleased, really. This was the one game that had me REALLY wanting a PS3 - I'd already assumed that it would be awesome, but it seems even Polyphony are indeed fallible. At least now I don't have to shell out on a PlayStation after all - I'll stick with Forza 3 and PGR 4, thanks.
  • kazimierz3000 - December 1, 2010 6:17 a.m.

    Not living up to the hype is one thing, but I wouldn't call an average Metacritic score of 85/100 and a game that has plenty of people buying and enjoying it thoroughly failing.
  • yetanotherCid304 - December 1, 2010 3:12 a.m.

    2010 has been a year of suprises. The avatar movie sucked(ok saw that coming), there was finally a good video game movie(scott pilgrim, haven't seen it? WATCH IT!), mel gibson exploded(dude needs a bad to the side of the head)... But i never expected the game i've been waiting for since i bought a PS3 would fail! Thank you Poliphony studios...(hope this doesn't happen to Twisted Metal. That would make me switch to Xbox for life)
  • csmaan12 - December 1, 2010 2:32 a.m.

    @Wolverine08 You contradicted yourself by first saying you "know for a fact that it is the best racing simulation"...and then followed it by saying "in my opinion". On topic...wow, I guess for once I wasn't wrong with siding with Forza ever since it came out.
  • Stabby_Joe - December 1, 2010 2:14 a.m.

    @kiing8kong6 Ok... and why should people listen to you? All we've got is a quick insult?
  • kiing8kong6 - December 1, 2010 12:29 a.m.

    Dont listen to this douche i played this game and its everything stfu
  • jhab007 - November 30, 2010 11:57 p.m.

    @BawBagMcRae I wrote a little thinks before, about how Justin focused on what the game should be, and now what it is. I agree with all the points, but Justin exagerate everything. For example the AI behavior. He cant drive like a maniac and dont expect not to crash, lol. And all the visuals are true, but is not that bad.
  • KidA - November 30, 2010 11:09 p.m.

    I gotta say as much as I disagree with you Justin, this is still a great review. I'd give GT5 a 9/10, and I know it isn't perfect at all, but it works for me. I can't put it down. At the same time, this is a very buggy, glitchy game with some really poor design decisions. But I don't think any of the detracts from the driving experience, which IMO is leaps and bounds ahead of other games. So it's up to personal preference (and whether or not the good outweighs the bad. It's a classic example of a love-it/hate-it game, and it's gonna divide the fanbase a ton. That said, give Channel4 a bit of credit. In terms of physics, GT3 is outdated. Great game, but it's not a sim anymore by today's standards.
  • jacob_kreed - November 30, 2010 10:22 p.m.

    Justin is a reviewer who has forgotten there are other machines, other than an Xbox 360. The only issues with GT5 are 2, loading times on menus and online service. There is no mention of scope gameplay, Karting, Nascar, F1, Rally, hundreds of cars, interior design, external beauty on the cars. Used Car Dealerships, improved, Garage services, customising your own lobby, special events. This game deserves a 9 or 10. Its the complete package, there is no race game other Live for Speed (free on the PC) that redefines virtual driving experience. Mr Towel proves one simply thing, its not only 2018 World Cup bids can be fiddle, its also reviewers....PS Im not Fanboy just a realist in a digital world
  • ssolitare - November 30, 2010 10:11 p.m.

    Forza loads a bit slower than GT5, it's just that GT5 has more loading points and that it is more frustrating to go in and out of menus, it can get super annoying actually. GT looks much better than Forza, even it's "bad shadows" look phenomenally better than Forza's, it's just that it's held to a higher standard. The graphics are not perfect, but they are still superb. The tearing really isn't that bad (depends per person) and the FPS thing is a non issue for most of the driving experience. The rain can look pretty bad at times on certain tracks and the shadows are poorer on tracks with day/night cycle, guess why. The jaggies only look really bad the smoke effect is behind it which can b e a bit jarring. However, all of these graphical "shortcommings" are nothing compared to the content that GT5 offers. It's really a small thing, it's seriously nitpicking. GT5 has more graphical advantages than shortcomings. I'd say that about 400 GT5 standard cars look great such as the Veyron, 787B, and so many more. But there are a number that look downright horrible, especially super close. When racing you won't notice how ugly they are for a overwhelming majority of the standard cars. Look at GT's online the only real problem with it is that there is no true matchmaking. There are a whole lot of options and features not discussed by the review. I do however think that the progressive RPG elements unlocking thing does post a problem for casuals, but the elements that really define GT's Single Player racing have not been seen by a single reviewer yet. This reviewer getting to level 19 is probably more than 90% of other reviewers, you better believe it. I think the intention was for newbies to ease into the GT experience, but I think they underestimated peoples desire to have everything immediately. Arcade mode for example should have almost everything unlocked from the start so everyone can play the game to the maximum ability. The AI is smart and challenging later (I'm level 40), you just gotta watch the vids when they allow us to upload them to youtube I suppose.
  • Kwalaboy - November 30, 2010 8:46 p.m.

    After reading the review, followed by 6 pages of comments I'm finally up for adding my bit. To start I have to say the review is extremely well done. Every point in it is looked at in detail and justified, those who claim otherwise must be reading something different as I feel it's one of the most detailed reviews GR have ever done (with good reason too given the detail and content GT5 claims to have.) I haven't played the game yet as when given to option of PS3 or xbox to take to uni, I chose the xbox. But I am a big racing fan as is my best mate, both us spending endless hours on Forza and F1 2010. What I wanted to know is whether or not I should get GT5 to tide me over when I head back home for christmas. By the looks of things I'm sticking to F1. Now to the comments people have left. I'm sure many of you who are calling the review unfair already own the game and have played it, therefore have something to contribute. So do contribute. Stop calling 'bias' or 'fanboy' or whatever else you do and instead leave your opinion of the game, not the review/reviewer, to help people like me decide whether it's worth the 40 quid. And one final point, those who have been saying 'it's not fair to compare it to GT3/Forza 3/F1 2010/NFS',to put it bluntly, you're wrong. When testing anything you compare it to a standard to see how the new thing stands on it's own merits, whether its a game, ipod, tv or whatever other object is currently lying about in my room. If Forza 3 loads faster than GT5 then in that regard Forza is better, it's the collection of these comparatives that helps you form your opinion. Also to Justin/GR. What's the possibility of getting an alternative review in super review situations like this? So many people are looking at reviews like this one it seems only logical to have either 2 reviews or at least a feature where 2 people debate the merits of the game and there experiences with it?
  • CharlieFockstrot - November 30, 2010 7:06 p.m.

    Thanks for the reply Justin. I have the game (level 15 at the moment) and I don't disagree with anything in the review and the score is probably fair, but some reviews on this site seem to point out all the flaws in a game, and some seem to point out all the positives while glossing over the negatives (F1 2010 for example which has major glitches).
  • salaryman - November 30, 2010 6:33 p.m.

    I think that if this game that had come out of nowhere it would not have recieved this much financial backing, development time and marketing push (also the purchase price and special eds would be reduced), thus the disappointment here (for me anyway) stems from the fact that quite a bit of money/time seems to have been wasted (in this instance the time spent securing licensees and modeling everything). It's a recession guys, quality not quantity for gods' (other dieties are available) sakes.
  • AlpineGuy - November 30, 2010 6:06 p.m.

    This game just looks boring. I can certainly see how racing fans would like it, but the minute you try to stress 'ultra realism' in a VIDEO GAME, you've lost me. That said, I prefer Mario Kart and Burnout, so my opinion on the racing sim genre is skewed at best.
  • jaredp886 - November 30, 2010 6:06 p.m.

    So what would you have rated it if it didn't have the Gran Turismo title? A lot of your negatives are because of expectations and comparisons from previous iterations. I do agree with a few of your points, but some are somewhat harsh. I do whole heartedly agree with the stupid VW Van race, probably one of the dumbest races I've ever done.
  • GR_JustinTowell - November 30, 2010 5:52 p.m.

    I do read it, Charlie ;) I'd say I represent both. I care most about how the game plays, like the 'average gamer' you speak of. But the average GT gamer cares about driving technique, which is where my enthusiasm lies. I'm all about the braking points. I do feel that a lot of peple will want the game for the best graphics around, so that's why there's a significant portion of the review dedicated to that. Listen to TalkRadar UK tomorrow for more, including some of the other comments here being discussed. By the way, thank you to everyone who has commented so far. It's refreshing to hear not just from people who agree with the review, but that even those that don't agree have their own reasoned argument to back it up. I've read all your comments and take them all on board. Cheers.
  • GamesRadarMichaelGrimm - November 30, 2010 5:51 p.m.

    To all the people saying this review is biased and unfair, I'm a dyed in the wool car freak just like Justin and I've easily spent 1000 hours on the previous GT games combined. GT5 is a disappointment and Justin's review is right on the money. I've spent ~30 hours with it so far and there are major issues that hinder the game, not the least of which are the glaring graphical inconsistencies, excessive loading times and lack of vehicle brackets. It's still very playable and will be lots of fun for sim racing and GT fans but it simply fails to live up to the gold standard that the Gran Turismo franchise is known for.
  • CharlieFockstrot - November 30, 2010 4:27 p.m.

    Sod it; Justin, do you think you represent the average gamer or an anally retentive minority?
  • CharlieFockstrot - November 30, 2010 4:19 p.m.

    I would comment, but nobody will read it.
  • may.be.vital - November 30, 2010 3:56 p.m.

    I gotta say the comparison video is all thats needed really... GT3 sounds like a hyper fast racing simulator with powerful cars, annnd GT5 sounds like someone playing with a toy RC trying not to wake dad up from his nap. Oh well! if your disappointing then just go for Forza 3 (or 4 if its soon) cause they a very similar games.

Showing 21-40 of 144 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PS3
Genre: Racing
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: Polyphony Digital
Franchise: Gran Turismo
ESRB Rating:
Everyone: Mild Lyrics
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending