Google+

DmC: Devil May Cry review

Great
Back to Article

26 comments

  • praveen-bala - June 9, 2013 7:16 a.m.

    How do I go in to vergil's downfall,can body guide me to t???
  • gryzor - January 17, 2013 8:56 a.m.

    Without a doubt this game is audiovisual feast. Beautiful and artsy with killer soundtrack. It also brings the nostalgic feel of playing pal versions of games... Devil May Cry 2 has become my 2nd least favourite in the series.
  • GandalfTheGamer - January 15, 2013 12:32 p.m.

    I picked the game up and already played the first 2 missions on nephilim mode...this game is amazing...O_o OW and btw, I am the first one to enter the leaderboards in nephilim mode for the first 2 missions! I feel like I dedicated a lot to this game =)))
  • sandplasma - January 15, 2013 10 a.m.

    Why is he wearing a Union Jack, get with the times. USA USA lol
  • jackthemenace - January 14, 2013 1:20 p.m.

    Hell, as long as the combat's still DMC but with at least something fresh injected, I'm happy. a story, however good, as a bonus. And no matter what, it'll almost definitely be better than 2 and 4. Sure, 4 looked pretty good, but it's story was asinine, and the Dante sections were just unfortunate rehashes. And don't even get me started on 2... Either way, I think the combat and seeing Dante's origins'll be enough to tide me over until Revengeance finally comes out next month. It's a little saddening to hear the story's such a letdown, especially with Anarchy Reigns coming out to such mediocre reviews, but the demo was perfect, so I'll try not to let it get me too down.
  • BladedFalcon - January 14, 2013 4:15 p.m.

    I actually didn't dislike 4 at all. Sure, don't consider t better than 1 or 3, but it was far from a disspointment to me. Story sure was crap- but then so is with every DMC, and I guess i didn't dislike the backtracking with Dante because the combat itself was so damn fun and engaging. Could have been better? definitely, but for my money, it was the right amount of fun for me to feel satisfied. DMC2 Is utter shit though, no objections there.
  • Darkhawk - January 14, 2013 1:06 p.m.

    Not necessarily knocking it, but I'm just surprised that there's still a market for $60 nine-hour games anymore. I mean, Journey was my favourite game last year @3 hours and change, but it cost $15, not 4x as much. Who's buying this stuff new?
  • Cyberninja - January 14, 2013 3:35 p.m.

    I am for 2 reasons to get Vergil's Downfall for free (normally its $9 more) and So I can play this and then the old games to see which really is better.
  • BladedFalcon - January 14, 2013 4:12 p.m.

    Not specifically with this game. But I am really not against paying 60 bucks for a game under 10 hours if the content is polished, fun and/or original enough. Meassuring the worth of a game based on it's lenght alone is a rather narrow, sad way to judge things, since you're equalling quantity, not quality as value. And actually, I tend to dislike games that drag out for too long if it feels like they are adding stuff jsut for the sake of padding out the experience. It's why I never even got to finish, say FFXIII. Had the game been more to the point with it's pacing and story, I'd probably would have liked it 5X times better. Portal 2 or vanquish on the other hand, both games barely over 8 hours of campaign, but both genuinely original, excellent, polished, and their campaigns contained no fat or filler wahtsoever. Might have been fewer hours, but they were undilluted hours of fun taht I am glad I paid full price for. AND, the ammount of gameplay, production value and polish both games had far surprises what could be accomplished with a 15$ game such as journey. Which IS an amazing experience, but when you think about it, it's not a very expensive game or one heavy on gameplay whatsoever.
  • JMarsella09 - January 14, 2013 9:10 a.m.

    8 is great.
  • DeathbyFira - January 14, 2013 7:50 a.m.

    They are adding DLC content to the game so hopefully they will release new enemy's but otherwise i am very happy it got a great score and i cant wait to pick it up tomorrow ^^
  • BladedFalcon - January 14, 2013 5:25 a.m.

    Hm, so right on par with what I expected. I definitely called out on the enemy design problem since the very first gameplay footage showed up, so the final product having that issue is disappointing, but at least I already expected it. What I didn't expect, was the game having the story as a weak point, if there's one thing NT had done right so far was that, and was one of the reasons the reebot seemed to be worth it- Since the story in all the previous DmCs was frankly a piece of shit in all of them. But ih well, at least the combat IS really fun from what I played in the demo. Probably will get it, but I am not in any hurry of doing so any soon. That privilege goes to MGR: Rising, which I will be seriously surprised if it doesn't turn out to be superior than this one.
  • GR_RyanTaljonick - January 14, 2013 8:53 a.m.

    I was kind of bummed by the story aspect, too. Ninja Theory tends to deliver in that regard. Not saying DmC's was BAD, just...nothing special.
  • BladedFalcon - January 14, 2013 10:31 a.m.

    Yeah, kinda expected more in that area from them. But well, at the very least, is it a story that makes sense? Because the main problem with past DmCs was that the plot was all over the place. And thus ended up feeling like throwaway stories.
  • GR_RyanTaljonick - January 14, 2013 11:05 a.m.

    Yeah, it makes sense and is pretty easy to follow, so that's a plus.
  • obviouslyadouche - January 14, 2013 2:12 p.m.

    I'm pretty sure both their other games were written externally.
  • Rub3z - January 15, 2013 12:22 a.m.

    With you on that one. Can't wait for MGRR.

Showing 1-20 of 26 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Jan 15 2013 - Xbox 360
Jan 25 2013 - PC
Jan 15 2013 - PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PC, PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: Capcom
Developed by: Ninja Theory, Capcom
Franchise: Devil May Cry
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Nudity, Strong Language, Sexual Content
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.