Google+

Diablo 3 review (Updated with patch 2.0.1)

Great
Back to Article

52 comments

  • Rubberducky - May 21, 2012 9:02 p.m.

    Definitely not feeling it this time around. Just doesnt seem to have the same thing as D2 had for me. Its entertaining in small doses but I haven't had the urge to play for hours on end. Think I'd give it a 7 myself, wish I had waited for a price drop now :/
  • ParagonT - May 22, 2012 7:28 a.m.

    Yeah, I fell into the hype train as well. Oh well, we all do at some point. Lesson learned.
  • Craza - May 21, 2012 8:13 p.m.

    That...actually sounds like how I felt about the game. I like it. I think it's fun, but...it's not outstanding. It has very good presentation in its visuals and effects, but it feels lackluster to me in the storyline and even the enemies. As far as the always having to be online to play it, I think it's good in the sense that if you were allowed to play offline, people could more easily dupe items or spawn items to sell for real money. I mean, just in D2 not too long ago, my boyfriend and I used this modded charm that raised EXP rate, skills, and attributes insanely high. It was mostly for fun and so we could get to the Cow level quicker, but it's easy to do stuff like that for that game. I think it's a proper security measure in place since people can actually buy and sell these items in the accessible auction house provided, whereas before, it was done behind the scenes for the most part. That's just my two cents on the issue. Does it make it much more irritating for those of us playing it alone? Yes, and I wish an offline single player mode was available, but with restricted access on the auction house, or some other type of security in place to prevent hacking/spawning. However, I'm fine with it. I know people will still probably find a way to skirt past the security in place, but it'll be harder, and hopefully more easy to spot in the auction house. What I find obnoxious is that you can't go into at least some type of "hidden" mode when you're playing. You know, when you don't want friends bothering you. I know you can set the game to private, but you can't really play under the radar.
  • ThundaGawd - May 22, 2012 3:35 a.m.

    They really should have implemented the same type of system they had In Diablo 2 in regards to the offline section of the game, where they kept the online characters you played with your friends separate from the offline characters you played on your own, and you couldn't suddenly switch an offline character to an online character O.o
  • EroticInvisibleMan - May 21, 2012 8:01 p.m.

    Solid review. As for my thoughts; it's incredibly fun but I hate what it's doing to the industry. It's the guiltiest I've felt playing a game in years.
  • Person5 - May 21, 2012 7:36 p.m.

    As a fan of Diablo, I'll just get the real successor to the Diablo title, Torchlight 2
  • KnightDehumidifier - May 21, 2012 7:26 p.m.

    So there you have it, folks. Modern Warfare 3 is better than Diablo 3. Suck it, nerds!
  • noneedlesjustshots - May 22, 2012 7:04 a.m.

    At least MW3 actually let you PLAY the single player without a connection.
  • ThundaGawd - May 21, 2012 7:24 p.m.

    I didn't find the story THAT bad, I saw quite a few parts coming, but that's because I poured countless hours into the first 2 games and knew the lore almost by heart. There WERE a few cliché parts, but they seemed few and far between in my opinion. Other than that, the unforgivable single-player lag is quite possibly the only complaint I had about the game (asides from the abnormally accessible Auction House, which made the first playthrough a bit too easy), I'm a hardcore Diablo fan, and I wasn't disappointed in the slightest :D
  • KnowYourPokemon - May 21, 2012 6:18 p.m.

    Agree with this review, few things in gaming are as frustrating as dying from lagging out... on a hardcore character. And while I loved the cinematics throughout the game especially the one at the end of Act 1, the story was so simplistic I was calling out everything that was going to happen, the only thing that kept me going story wise was that I really like Angel v.s. Demon stuff in games.
  • onetimebuster - May 21, 2012 4:48 p.m.

    well for those who dont like diablo 3 you still have torchlight 2 i cant wait for it ^^
  • MyNameIsMisterBrooks - May 21, 2012 4:42 p.m.

    Between this and John Cheese's article on cracked, I'm thoroughly convinced that Activision-Blizzard is no longer worth support. I have no ambition to play Diablo III.
  • Ausoi - May 21, 2012 4:06 p.m.

    Totally agree with your score, what really annoys me is how bad the game looks... I can play the Witcher 2 with full graphics while when I play this game I get unplayable lag... It's just not acceptable. I don't see this game going over to consoles even, pretty sad.
  • e1337prodigy - May 16, 2012 12:37 p.m.

    Not sure how many acts there are but I have just started playing Act 2 and I have been playing it for most of the day, with the occasional food break. Seems good so far, only complaints I have is 1. you have a journal/quest book but there is only ever 1 quest in it, I have not encountered any side quests yet, other than the little quests in dungeons, but they are all completed as you play through the game. Where as I'm sure with other diablo games you would have to go to different dungeons (I can't remember if that's right). 2. The terrible servers on launch day, surely they should have expected this. They have been ok today but that is because I was playing it while people were at school/work.
  • ncurry2 - May 15, 2012 3:02 p.m.

    I'm livid. I finally got the chance to go out and buy the game and the servers are down. And I'm sure it will be hours before it's settled enough for me to actually log in since they don't have a queue system. I don't know how a company as talented and well established as Blizzard can make these mistakes, especially after how horrific the "stress test" went. I'd think they would have this sorted out.
  • Fuzunga - May 15, 2012 12:14 a.m.

    How dare you glaze over that square plastic that slipped out at the end!
  • AStrangelove - May 15, 2012 4:55 p.m.

    Inquiring penguins want to know! >(
  • ObliqueZombie - May 14, 2012 7:05 p.m.

    "Here's the CD with all of the sounds, err, musicsss... of the games." God, Hollander, that plus the dropping of the game made me laugh audibly. Keep up the clumsy, it's extremely becoming on you!
  • GR HollanderCooper - May 14, 2012 7:34 p.m.

    I DON'T KNOW WHY NOTHING WAS WORKING.
  • ultimatepunchrod - May 14, 2012 6:18 p.m.

    When I saw the USB stick was a Soul Stone, it was the first time I geeked out audibly. That is the only reason to get the CE. Not that I'm financially stable enough to get this edition, but still. Also, when is Coop going to start a new podcast for Gdar? Come on man, just do it.

Showing 21-40 of 52 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: May 15 2012 - PC
Sep 03 2013 - Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: PC, Xbox 360, PS3, PS4
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Blizzard
Developed by: Blizzard
Franchise: Diablo
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Violence
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.