Google+

Diablo 3 review (Updated with patch 2.0.1)

Great
Back to Article

59 comments

  • Zeedar - May 22, 2012 12:43 a.m.

    I may get this, when the price drops. It is still a decent game, but it wont have the impact of Diablo 2. Also the DRM on this game is unacceptable. I'll definitely get Torchlight 2 first. Cheaper, no god forsaken DRM and there is LAN play. It's what the paying costumers deserve.
  • Person5 - May 22, 2012 3:17 a.m.

    The price will never drop, or it will drop in somewhere along the lines of five years from now. Blizz believes they can charge 60 for this game then why bother making it less. I do agree with you on Torchlight though, the actual Diablo III
  • bamb0o-stick - May 22, 2012 7:18 a.m.

    Hah, if you think about it, if you're going to spend $60 you might as well buy 3 copies of Torchlight and gift the other two to play together.
  • bamb0o-stick - May 22, 2012 7:23 a.m.

    Actually my mistake. Torchlight is being sold for FOUR copies for $60 on steam. What a steal.
  • Person5 - May 22, 2012 1:46 p.m.

    so if none of your friends get it just gift it to them so you have four out of eight people in your coop game, interesting fact, you can only have four people in a Diablo game, hm, the more you know.
  • Zyrusticae - May 21, 2012 9:44 p.m.

    I gotta say, the story/writing is definitely my biggest beef with the game. It seems like, somewhere around the release of World of Warcraft, Blizzard just lost all their ability to tell good stories - or at least, tell them in a manner that actually shows some level of restraint. I mean, compare Diablo 3 or Starcraft 2 to the originals - hell, even Warcraft 3 had better writing, as I could actually take the fall of Arthas seriously! There's just no build-up in Diablo 3; it's just a rapid-fire machinegun of events that hold no meaning to the player as there is absolutely no time given for the implications to percolate properly, not to mention they have a serious inability to withhold themselves from just dumping in more and more and more dialogue into the game. The demons do NOT need to be talking to the PC more than twice a damn game! They lose all their mystique that way! Hell, in Diablo and Diablo 2, Diablo himself never uttered more than two lines throughout the entire game, and that made the fucker MENACING. You had no idea what he was capable of, no idea what his plans were, all you knew was that he was badass, he was evil, and he needed to be fucked up quick or he'd fuck YOU. So in a nutshell: Poor dialogue, too much of that dialogue, no restraint, treating big bad demon lords like cliche cartoon villains, and not enough grimdark all contribute to the game's lousy, terrible, awful storytelling. It's a damn shame, too, because the rest of the game is pure excellence. (Minus the graphics, but I can live with that.) I guess I really shouldn't expect decent storytelling from Blizzard anymore. They just... whoever's at the helm, just doesn't know how to do it.
  • bamb0o-stick - May 22, 2012 7:21 a.m.

    I agreed with you with how scary and menacing Diablo was in the first two game. Heck, when I watched the cinematics in Diablo 2 I was at the edge of my seat engrossed with the great voice acting of the narrator. Now you have 'demon diaries' to pick up, a joke on the letters you pick up in-game where they are talking to someone about something. I just roll my eyes and say "really?"
  • Rubberducky - May 21, 2012 9:02 p.m.

    Definitely not feeling it this time around. Just doesnt seem to have the same thing as D2 had for me. Its entertaining in small doses but I haven't had the urge to play for hours on end. Think I'd give it a 7 myself, wish I had waited for a price drop now :/
  • ParagonT - May 22, 2012 7:28 a.m.

    Yeah, I fell into the hype train as well. Oh well, we all do at some point. Lesson learned.
  • Craza - May 21, 2012 8:13 p.m.

    That...actually sounds like how I felt about the game. I like it. I think it's fun, but...it's not outstanding. It has very good presentation in its visuals and effects, but it feels lackluster to me in the storyline and even the enemies. As far as the always having to be online to play it, I think it's good in the sense that if you were allowed to play offline, people could more easily dupe items or spawn items to sell for real money. I mean, just in D2 not too long ago, my boyfriend and I used this modded charm that raised EXP rate, skills, and attributes insanely high. It was mostly for fun and so we could get to the Cow level quicker, but it's easy to do stuff like that for that game. I think it's a proper security measure in place since people can actually buy and sell these items in the accessible auction house provided, whereas before, it was done behind the scenes for the most part. That's just my two cents on the issue. Does it make it much more irritating for those of us playing it alone? Yes, and I wish an offline single player mode was available, but with restricted access on the auction house, or some other type of security in place to prevent hacking/spawning. However, I'm fine with it. I know people will still probably find a way to skirt past the security in place, but it'll be harder, and hopefully more easy to spot in the auction house. What I find obnoxious is that you can't go into at least some type of "hidden" mode when you're playing. You know, when you don't want friends bothering you. I know you can set the game to private, but you can't really play under the radar.
  • ThundaGawd - May 22, 2012 3:35 a.m.

    They really should have implemented the same type of system they had In Diablo 2 in regards to the offline section of the game, where they kept the online characters you played with your friends separate from the offline characters you played on your own, and you couldn't suddenly switch an offline character to an online character O.o
  • EroticInvisibleMan - May 21, 2012 8:01 p.m.

    Solid review. As for my thoughts; it's incredibly fun but I hate what it's doing to the industry. It's the guiltiest I've felt playing a game in years.
  • Person5 - May 21, 2012 7:36 p.m.

    As a fan of Diablo, I'll just get the real successor to the Diablo title, Torchlight 2
  • KnightDehumidifier - May 21, 2012 7:26 p.m.

    So there you have it, folks. Modern Warfare 3 is better than Diablo 3. Suck it, nerds!
  • noneedlesjustshots - May 22, 2012 7:04 a.m.

    At least MW3 actually let you PLAY the single player without a connection.
  • ThundaGawd - May 21, 2012 7:24 p.m.

    I didn't find the story THAT bad, I saw quite a few parts coming, but that's because I poured countless hours into the first 2 games and knew the lore almost by heart. There WERE a few cliché parts, but they seemed few and far between in my opinion. Other than that, the unforgivable single-player lag is quite possibly the only complaint I had about the game (asides from the abnormally accessible Auction House, which made the first playthrough a bit too easy), I'm a hardcore Diablo fan, and I wasn't disappointed in the slightest :D
  • KnowYourPokemon - May 21, 2012 6:18 p.m.

    Agree with this review, few things in gaming are as frustrating as dying from lagging out... on a hardcore character. And while I loved the cinematics throughout the game especially the one at the end of Act 1, the story was so simplistic I was calling out everything that was going to happen, the only thing that kept me going story wise was that I really like Angel v.s. Demon stuff in games.
  • onetimebuster - May 21, 2012 4:48 p.m.

    well for those who dont like diablo 3 you still have torchlight 2 i cant wait for it ^^
  • MyNameIsMisterBrooks - May 21, 2012 4:42 p.m.

    Between this and John Cheese's article on cracked, I'm thoroughly convinced that Activision-Blizzard is no longer worth support. I have no ambition to play Diablo III.
  • Ausoi - May 21, 2012 4:06 p.m.

    Totally agree with your score, what really annoys me is how bad the game looks... I can play the Witcher 2 with full graphics while when I play this game I get unplayable lag... It's just not acceptable. I don't see this game going over to consoles even, pretty sad.

Showing 21-40 of 59 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: May 15 2012 - PC
Sep 03 2013 - PS3, Xbox 360 (US)
Available Platforms: PS4, PC, PS3, Xbox 360
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Blizzard
Developed by: Blizzard
Franchise: Diablo
ESRB Rating:
Mature

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.