Google+

Dead Rising: Chop Til You Drop review

AT A GLANCE
  • Awesome premise
  • Creative ways to kill
  • Creepy in a special way
  • Not nearly enough zombies
  • Annoying small enemies
  • Limited weapons and exploration

In our opinion the most annoying, least fun to fight enemies in any game cheap enough to have them are the pint-size scurrying creatures that run along the ground below your gunsights and leap up at your face. Rubbish, aren’t they? Actually, maybe it’s a tie between those and the little flying enemies that are incredibly hard to target and do a disproportionate amount of damage. Take your pick. The vicious buggers have ruined many a level of otherwise decent games. We hate them both.

Dead Rising is absolutely riddled with them; an inexplicable plague of deadly poodles and parrots that have absolutely nothing to do with the story and are completely unsatisfying to kill, because as soon as you take one out, another of its horrible little mates will materialise from the ether. What purpose could they possibly serve? Why do they even exist in a game that’s meant to be about fighting zombies in a shopping mall?

Ah yes. It’s because there aren’t actually all that many zombies to fight. Almost everything that’s wrong with Dead Rising on Wii can be traced to the game engine’s inability to generate a sufficient density of undead horde. Instead of being harried around the mall, smashing through windows and taking any available route to avoid being surrounded by the milling throng, you’re funneled down narrow paths that force you past small groups of zombies, appearing in the same place every time.

Much of the mall is closed off with impassable red ropes. You can’t climb things or smash through windows. You’ve got no choice but to walk through a confined area where you know a bunch of five or 10 zombies will fade in when you’re a few meters away. One shotgun blast will clear them all out, if you can be bothered, or you could just weave your way through their slow, grasping hands.

And that’s where the poodles and parrots come in. Other than the occasional boss they’re the only enemies that pose any sort of threat. The dogs will even do sidesteps when you point a gun at them, like guards in GoldenEye. They’re so damned hard to hit and so infinite in their respawning capacity, we were soon reduced to running past them rather than making an effort to take them on. We spent an unreasonable proportion of our time in the game pursued by a chorus of yaps and squawks.

More Info

Release date: Feb 24 2009 - Wii (US)
Feb 27 2009 - Wii (UK)
Available Platforms: Wii
Genre: Action
Published by: Capcom
Developed by: Capcom
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language
PEGI Rating:
18+

18 comments

  • Grenade - February 25, 2009 2:36 a.m.

    Probably the least surprising thing ever.
  • GoldenMe - February 25, 2009 4:30 a.m.

    And once again, the Wii gets another shabby port. This gaming age is starting to get old.
  • Necromance - February 25, 2009 4:58 a.m.

    MadWorld has a much better chance of being great.
  • Romination - February 25, 2009 3:36 p.m.

    I had a few hopes for this... until i saw the poodle. Then I cried myself to sleep and ordered my friends to cry themselves to sleep as well.
  • grounder07 - February 25, 2009 8:45 p.m.

    are you guys all alright in the head? this is the exact thing wii needed. I personally love this game
  • Defguru7777 - February 26, 2009 2:50 a.m.

    Why the hell is Cletus selling guns to Frank?
  • RebornKusabi - February 26, 2009 7:56 p.m.

    Maybe he got bored of getting killed by my Megabuster?
  • m_gamer234 - March 14, 2009 4:48 a.m.

    HAH HA HA.... FRank doesnt even have a camera around his neck in this game...HAAH HA HAAAA...lol this game is terrible...ha ha ha...funny stuff. they sure did half ass it on the wii.
  • riodoku79 - February 25, 2009 1:03 a.m.

    this makes me very sadface :(
  • Gahmah - February 25, 2009 1:39 a.m.

    one of my friends actually wants to buy this game... sigh.... TIME TO BUY A SWEATER
  • Gameguy151 - February 25, 2009 4:16 p.m.

    for some reasen, when you described the most annoying enemies, i instantly thought of the infection flood and drones from Halo...
  • Ashb1988 - March 1, 2009 12:33 a.m.

    What really needed doing was to keep dead rising on the 360 and never to have been brought to the wii as it does not have the power to run games like that in a satisfactory way instead they should have gone createin there own idea of dead rising instead of ripin off a terrible remake of a game that has never grown old on the 360!!! And whats with the over the shoulder view it.
  • nny1001 - March 3, 2009 3:23 a.m.

    This game isn't so terrible. I actually went out and bought it and so far i am really enjoying it. Of course the graphics are dumbed down to about a regular xbox level. thats what was going to happen anyways. i dont understand why people are complaining so much. give them some credit for bringing a more interactive game for the wii. this is something that needed to happen just like the resident evil series. so if you have a wii... buck up and head down to your local rental store and rent it at least. it will give you entertainment beyond just a few days. just remember the old resident evil item menus... same deal.
  • key0blade - March 6, 2009 12:31 p.m.

    Well, atleast I get to save some money for something important...
  • m_gamer234 - March 10, 2009 12:24 a.m.

    wait wait wait wait wait......Why the Hell is Cletus selling guns to frank!!!??? WTF. This game must suck! Gah! Doesn't even make since.
  • iheartmonkeyz - August 16, 2009 10:20 p.m.

    well...this is a dissapointment...
  • dorak123 - September 4, 2009 6:22 p.m.

    he does have a camera just that it in his hand... eh the games ok could of been more difficult though
  • linkganon - February 16, 2010 12:03 a.m.

    i'd buy this if it goes on sale for maybe 30 dollars or less, otherwise, i'll save up for a PS3.

Showing 1-18 of 18 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000