Google+

Crysis 3 review

Solid
Back to Article

29 comments

  • BladedFalcon - February 19, 2013 7:57 a.m.

    Another shooter that doesn't really offer anything different overall, specially in the single player side of things. Pass.
  • FOZ - February 19, 2013 10:14 a.m.

    Have you played any of the previous games?
  • BladedFalcon - February 19, 2013 11:48 a.m.

    Not really, but I don't need to play them to know taht I wouldn't get any particular enjoyment out of them. See, I don't deny they are probably very good games... but without a distinct setting, or complex storyline to set it apart, it still feels like another pretty FPS to me. And this late in this generation, I just have a very heavy FPS fatigue in general. Only FPS I played last year was Far Cry 3, and only because of the praise in the character of Vaaz, and the free roaming jungle. So again, it's not really a bash against the game itself, but without a compelling narrative, or a unique gameplay hook, I just don't feel like playing yet another FPS.
  • FOZ - February 19, 2013 12:01 p.m.

    Crysis DOES have a unique gameplay hook. It's not all foliage, sun beams, and water effects. You have to play Crysis, or at least find some particularly good videos of it, to understand why it's different and great. Crysis 2 less so, but its combat and effects are still far more impactful than any other FPS floating around right now.
  • BladedFalcon - February 19, 2013 12:42 p.m.

    *shrugs* if you can't even properly define what that hook is, it's going to be hard for me to even care. All I can see is that you have a cool suit that gives you powers like stealth and stuff, there may be more to it, but still feels very much like most other FPSs in the market to me, only prettier.
  • FOZ - February 19, 2013 3:14 p.m.

    Okay then: You can sprint 40 miles per hour for a few seconds at a time and bowl enemies over. You can pick enemies up and throw them through houses. You can kill all the enemies by throwing a bench or a dumpster at them. You can beat the entire non-alien section of the game using only your fists and some missile launchers. You can jump off of a waterfall and skydive into the water below. You can boost a jeep, jump out, and turn it into an exploding projectile. You can fire missiles straight up, then guide them into something on the ground. The game gives you an objective, points you in the general direction, and you just go. It asks you to actually make use of your powers creatively and expects you to clear a fortified village by yourself with minimal tips.
  • BladedFalcon - February 19, 2013 5:18 p.m.

    Okay, so that sounds compelling enough, but then I'm guessing that's mainly just the first game? Because form what I've read of both this and the second game, they didn't like they were nearly open enough to allow such freedom. You've convinced me in at least being open in giving the first crysis a try, but it probably won't be any time soon. Also, if I do it eventually, it probably end up being the PS3 version, which I know it probably looks much uglier, but there's no reason why the open ended options wouldn't be there, right?
  • gopher1369 - February 20, 2013 3:38 a.m.

    Yes, mainly the first game, Crysis 1 is very different to the later games. The original (and to a lesser extend Warhead) is definitely the best game in the series for me as it offers proper open "sandbox" levels, where-as Crysis 2 and 3 are much more of a "corridor" shooter style. My favourite part was comandeering boats and strafing enemies camped out on beaches using the mounted guns. Actually a lot like Far Cry 3 in fact!
  • Bloodstorm - February 20, 2013 6:43 a.m.

    Agreed. Crysis 1, even if the story was so-so, was a blast because of the sandbox levels. The second had much smaller levels, while still open to tackle any way you saw fit, there was never that much room to work with. One of the later levels of Crysis opens up to be so large (and was the first level I had to turn the graphics from high to low, it was so large) that you could probably play on it for hours if you didn't go for the objective (this is the level with the docks).
  • Bloodstorm - February 19, 2013 7:37 a.m.

    Forgettable story and characters pretty much applies to the whole Crysis franchise. The games aren't fun because of their storyline, they are fun because you feel like a bad arse in the nanosuit. Unfortunately, with Crysis 3 only on the consoles and Origin, I probably won't play it anyways, unless they release it on Steam well down the line like they did with Crysis 2. And even then, probably would wait for a sale. Crysis 2 was a slog to get through at times, and I expect this to be now less.
  • PlainLikeVanilla - February 19, 2013 7:01 a.m.

    The review video says it has been removed by user.
  • BaraChat - February 19, 2013 6:32 a.m.

    I hope the multiplayer is not as broken as it was in Crysis 2. I really tried giving it a shot, played for more than a few hours. Couldn't stand it, it was really problematic. And 5 to 6 hours is way too short. Wasn't Crysis around 8-10 hours? And Crysis 2 nearly that long?
  • Bloodstorm - February 19, 2013 7:33 a.m.

    They were both around 10 hours more or less.
  • gopher1369 - February 19, 2013 6:31 a.m.

    5 hours? A rental methinks!

Showing 21-29 of 29 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360, PC
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Electronic Arts
Developed by: Crytek
Franchise: Crysis
ESRB Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.