Google+

Blade Kitten hands-on preview

Downloadable action adventure Blade Kitten puts you in control of the oh-so cute Kit, a female bounty hunter (hmm…sounds familiar) who’s half cat, half hot chick. She also happens to be the last of the Darques, an ancient race of feline folk lost to mass genocide. But rather than getting all wasted on rum-spiked milk and wallowing in misery at her lonely existence, Kit instead makes a living rounding up bounties and discovering all the secrets held within the planet of Hollow Wish, a locale with no need for law and order.

Kit’s main weapon of choice is the nifty Darque Blade, a medium-sized sword that floats in midair and stays by her side at all times. It can be used for close range swipes or sent swooping out for longer-range striking. If you’re feeling a tad more brutish, you can use the Darque Blade as a spear and bring your enemies right to you, in a definite nod to Scorpion of Mortal Kombat fame. Kit’s Darque Blade has its defensive qualities as well; when the player holds down  the attack button, the blade will emit a protective bubble to keep Kit from harm. The Darque Blade does have a limited well of energy, but it recharges itself after much use and Kit’s life bar handles itself in the same manner.

Blade Kitten’s gameplay is best described as your typical side scrolling beat em up with a touch of open world exploration added for good measure. The lithe, free running Kit is able to jump, hang and climb through Hollow Wish’s huge levels. She’s also capable of jumping and balancing herself on poles without a problem. Kit also brings back a recognizable platformer move in the form of a diagonal slide and a fast sprint for more harrowing situations - such as a set of moving blocks that are timed to smash together just so, crushing your pink-haired frame into nothingness.

Blade Kitten’s cast is also fully voiced and its visual style may be very endearing to anime heads. In fact, its cel shaded graphics are bright and colorful enough to even catch the attention of casual players. And its 19 levels (including three in which Kit rides on the back of her flying alien pet, Noot) are set to deliver a lenghty amount of gameplay thanks to their surprisingly large size.

The game’s only drawback might be its repetitive gameplay. Old school or not, gamers might grow tired of hacking and slashing enemies and collecting the currency they drop as the game rolls along. But there's still plenty of time before the game hits PSN, XBLA and PC in Spring 2011, so Developer Krome Studios could easily add additional types of gameplay to the current bits already present in the game. If they do, this kitty has a fair shot at being one of the first must-play downloadable games of next year.

[Editor's note: Take a good look at the author's name on this piece. It's Elton Jones, the winner of GamesRadar's Sims 3 Intern for a Day Contest! Congratulations, Elton! He's had a great time today too, haven't you Elton? Hey, HEY! Since when does me asking you a question mean you can stop washing my car? Do you WANT to go back in the box?]

Sep 18, 2010

20 comments

  • corndog501 - September 30, 2010 6:42 a.m.

    I've already played the demo of the game. Its not bad, could use some polish, but overall its not a bad game if you're into sidescrolling hack-and-slashers.
  • TURbo - September 21, 2010 2:52 p.m.

    The new sponsor on TalkRadar
  • TURbo - September 21, 2010 2:52 p.m.

    ELTON! Well congrats on winning the 1 day internship.
  • IsaacFenix - September 19, 2010 2:34 p.m.

    Did you guys put Elton back in the box? O_O That's mean, the box is only for children and dangerous animals (to help the children toughen up).
  • ThePurpleDragon - September 19, 2010 3:10 a.m.

    Yeah, at first I was like 'since when is Reach cel shaded. Then I saw Blade Kitten and remembered it was that trailer I watched on Steam a little while ago. Then I saw Krome Studios and was like 'those guys that made the Legend of Me games?'. Anyway nice article Elton.
  • n00b - September 19, 2010 2:43 a.m.

    from the preview pic i though it was another halo reach article. anyway nice work intern
  • rxb - September 20, 2010 12:14 p.m.

    Game looks amazing. Im a whore for cel shaded graphics. Cant wait to give it a try on XBLA.
  • tyler_14_420 - September 20, 2010 2:56 a.m.

    Excellent Work Elton. Looks much better than every other Author on here's work! Haha, (just kidding!) Didn't honestly notice it was someone new's handiwork though. Props to Elton, congrats on winning the contest.
  • Cyberninja - September 20, 2010 12:55 a.m.

    i wonder which user elton is.
  • BoltActionRevolver - September 20, 2010 12:26 a.m.

    Is she killing Spartins in the first picture?
  • thedutewaw - September 19, 2010 9 p.m.

    I might have to get this game it looks pretty badass, also well done article Elton
  • Memph - September 19, 2010 8:50 p.m.

    Steam lists this as 22 Sept 2010 release. Not next year. Feel a little dodgy anticipating it, an animé fan i am not, particularly the suger-drenched cutesy stuff like this. But damn the preview looked fun, slashing and platforming in good old side-viewed 2.5D. Dodgy camera eliminated then, if the controls are tight and the moves meaty enough it could be a surprising amount of fun.
  • minimaxi - September 19, 2010 3:35 p.m.

    I might be wrong but I think I saw the trailer for this ages ago, did it go through development hell?
  • crumbdunky - September 19, 2010 2:35 p.m.

    Man, it's becoming spam central again in here! I think I'm having more trouble with the Recaptchas nowadays(upside down ones always mess me up for some reason)and I don't trust their wares either. Blade Kitten looks a pretty sweet downloadable for XBLA/PSN, though, and I've been looking forward to it for a while now and if they can add a little variety to the core play it should be really worth the little investment. IDK what it's going to cost but at a reasonable price I'd hope it5 would get a bit more support than the recent likes of the SP game which I actually rather enjoyed despite it's faults and found great value.
  • CongratulagentAgentTHEAgentAntista - September 19, 2010 9:53 a.m.

    Hhmmm, it's actually looking more interesting now.
  • JPorFavor - September 19, 2010 4:07 a.m.

    Kitten's got claws! I first read the "by" as Elton John. Nice art style too.
  • Jamahl - September 19, 2010 2:05 a.m.

    Exactly what I thought, vanguard! Elton, this was really good! It definately had that Gamesradar vibe to it. Hope you didn't mind your time in the box too much. : P
  • vanguard - September 19, 2010 12:28 a.m.

    Lol, the red guys in the first pic looks like spartans.
  • GamesRadarCharlieBarratt - September 18, 2010 11:29 p.m.

    Nice work, Elton!
  • Oxtranzor - September 18, 2010 11:12 p.m.

    WEEEEEIRD... just today i started reading a webcomic called Blade Bunny, and i found it juping from one webcomic to another... it's pactically the same thing... except well... you know... the ears

Showing 1-20 of 20 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000