Google+

Battlefield 3 review

Great
Back to Article

140 comments

  • OvidNarcissus - October 28, 2011 12:40 p.m.

    I totally agree with with this review, especially with the summary of the campaign experience. For me, Battlefield has always been about multiplayer, but I totally understand that for some players the single player experience is very important. Hell, I'd be lying if I said I wasn't hoping, not expecting but hoping, that the campaign would provide a visually awesome and satisfying experience--like a frosting rose atop a delicious multiplayer cake; but the opening subway level felt so uninvolving and insubstantial that I thought it was possibly a dream sequence, and in the next mission after being told to follow the wires but being unable to do so because I was pinned between the vehicle, the guy on the ground and another immovable NPC teammate, I kind of bailed on the campaign. Sure, the rose turned out to be made of plastic, but the cake sure is delicious.
  • e1337prodigy - October 28, 2011 12:31 p.m.

    I wish I didn't preorder this now and waited for the reviews. I honestly thought the single player was going to be good but short, the way it was getting hyped up. But then I personally do think that the bfbc2 single player was really fun, so maybe i will enjoy it. But from what I read on the review it sounds bad. I'm not really much of a multiplayer person, I get annoyed and stressed when I lose (I play games to destress and have fun and I don't do that when I play multiplayer).
  • shawksta - October 28, 2011 12:20 p.m.

    Seems other reviews werent joking, the same is said by you. Great review, Battlefield is indeed awesome but the fact that it has a campaign, a weak one, really throws it off, but Multiplayer fans will love it.
  • bozemanjha - October 28, 2011 12:07 p.m.

    Of course, if Origin keeps you from launching BF3 while its in "online" mode, then all you have is the campaign, and a very terrible game indeed.
  • Net_Bastard - October 28, 2011 11:55 a.m.

    I'm gonna pick this up for the multiplayer as soon as I get the money to upgrade my GPU.
  • snipes101 - October 28, 2011 11:11 a.m.

    I can not in any way, shape or form see how a campaign described as this bland can then be labelled as better than Black Ops' campaign. Given what I have read so far about the campaign I cannot imagine that it would be better.
  • flare149 - October 28, 2011 11:06 a.m.

    My only problem with this review (which is a great review, this is just a complaint I have with all Battlefield reviews) is that it doesn't take into account the possibility that no one will help each other online, and instead insists they will. I've enjoyed playing Battlefield games before, but often it amounted to "Spawn and run as fast as possible to tank" for many of my allies. Many of the support actions are done for kills and leveling up (I'll place ammo here so I can wait for people around this corner), and not so much seeing someone in need on your squad and directly helping them. It does work out well sometimes, but I think that a part of the review should include some sort of admittance to readers like "If you get into a game with solid players..." Again, it's a great review, but it's also a very real fact of the Battlefield games.
  • avantguardian - October 28, 2011 7:30 p.m.

    i agree, it seems like battlefield is always praised with the context that you'll actually be in a decent squad. very few of my friends play video games, so i'm often lone-wolfing it. battlefield has a tough time accomodating solo players. it's not like i'm just sitting back playing recon either. i prefer to be a medic, which sucks if you can't find a squad, or if your squad is all recon a-holes( happened A LOT in BC2). when it's working, it's a cracking good time. but i've had too many BF sessions ruined by the endless slog, especially in rush matches. this is why i find comparing BF to CoD to be rather pointless. i play BF when buddies are online, but CoD going solo. they're just such different experiences.
  • groxack - October 28, 2011 10:54 a.m.

    well this feel like Déjà vu all over again, well a guess this time we are gona star using "so is as good a s bf3?"
  • spideralex90 - October 28, 2011 10:27 a.m.

    I know the 8/10 comes from being the middle of the road between a 6/10 campaign, and 10/10 multiplayer. But saying at the end of the article that it's better than black ops, but giving it a lower score overall sort of contradicts the whole paragraph saying it's better than black ops.
  • Nodoudt - October 28, 2011 10:17 a.m.

    Sort of reminds me of when Section 8: Prejudice came out, though obviously on a very different scale. It had some great multiplayer (for a downloadable title, that is) but with an utterly forgettable single-player campaign. That being said, if it's addicting enough to keep me from playing TF2 for awhile, I'll snatch it up in a heartbeat.
  • c-c-c-combo breaker - October 28, 2011 9:59 a.m.

    Nice review Dave... I feel that BF3 should've gotten a higher score though, on the basis that you play through the single player for perhaps a week maximum, and then you spend months on the awesome multiplayer.
  • gmcb2011 - October 28, 2011 10:28 a.m.

    My thoughts exactly. What I don't understand is why it's an 8 instead of a 9. In BF:BC2, they said the campaign was a 6 and multiplayer a 10, and it got a 9. Apparently BF3 would get the same subscores, but it's only worthy of an 8? I know this is a 10 in my book, as it is for most of the people getting this game. I don't know why, but this review left a bad taste in my mouth.
  • jako1991 - October 28, 2011 10:45 a.m.

    Just reading some of the comments there and personally i just play the campaign of games to get them out of the way no matter how good they are so im usually done and dusted with all single player parts of games by my second day owning them. then straight onto multiplayer. keep in mind im talking about first person fps's here not fallout or something before i piss someone off and they feel the need to argue that lol. i actually cant remember a game since this gen started that warranted a replay or even a return once it was completed however maybe when were younger we see things as more entertaining than they really were.
  • Baron164 - October 28, 2011 9:28 a.m.

    Well I'm disappointed in DICE's inability to create a solid campaign. I did think the Original Bad Company had a good campaign but it sounds like they have taken a step back with these recent outing.
  • Grif - October 28, 2011 9:42 a.m.

    I loved the silliness of Bad Company's campaign. They completely ruined it in Bad Company 2. They went from a bunch of misfits hunting for gold who got lucky enough to survive to a bunch of "misfits" who are capable of taking on most of the Russian army. I miss the gold crates...
  • OtterPopAfterbirth - October 28, 2011 9:16 a.m.

    half a game, you say? I guess i'll wait until its half the price.
  • OddWoN ER - October 28, 2011 8:55 a.m.

    this is like the same review for much of DICE's work. crappy campaign, great multiplayer.
  • archnite - October 28, 2011 8:41 a.m.

    Only as good as Halo: Reach FAIL. Is that meme old yet? Yes - Ill keep doing it anyways. Couldn't agree with this review more. In fact since the Xbox version is on two disks they should of sold it as two separate games.
  • larkan - October 28, 2011 8:16 a.m.

    I honestly don't know anyone that actually bought this game for the campaign/co-op aspect, and I really don't think they could pack any more into the multiplayer. I really think this is a game that has potential, but as of the launch it still feels like I've paid for a beta. There's lag on basically every server larger than 24 people, and I know it's not the fault of my rig or my internet connection. Also, hit detection is horrid in some cases...I mean honestly, if I hit someone with 3 shots from a tank MG, they should die....not run away. Despite these and other flaws, I still find it very engrossing when playing in a squad with friends, as this game definitely encourages teamwork and strategy when playing on the bigger maps. I just hope that there are some patches heading our way in the near future to help alleviate some of the problems that the majority of the user base is experiencing.

Showing 81-100 of 140 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Electronic Arts
Developed by: DICE
Franchise: Battlefield
ESRB Rating:
Rating Pending
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.