Google+

Batman: Arkham City review

Astonishing
Back to Article

118 comments

  • e1337prodigy - January 23, 2012 2:50 p.m.

    Just got this game for £19.95 :). Still £40 on steam. Can't wait until I get it... cmon on postman pat.
  • Darkhawk - November 27, 2011 10:57 a.m.

    Sweet. I'm halfway through Deus Ex, and Arkham is in the mail. Can't wait to dive in!
  • rob619 - November 2, 2011 7:16 a.m.

    Noticed a few complaints on short gameplay? Your all wrong been playing for like 40 hours exploring the vast world, ridders trophies and main. Still aint finished!
  • goro_khan - November 4, 2011 7:09 a.m.

    *Thumbs Up*
  • TartanSpartan01 - November 2, 2011 6:02 a.m.

    Agree with the review and score except from the game length,the main story is about 13 hours approx maybe less but it is brilliant, just wish it had been longer ended too quick.
  • guybrush_threepwood - November 1, 2011 10:23 a.m.

    I've just witnessed my younger brother complete this and there's no way it took him 20-25 hours. Neither of us could believe the end to the main story came around as quickly as it did. It really is a criminally short main plot and, whilst the game is undoubtedly brilliant, being so short should bring the score down by a point at least. Very disappointing.
  • goro_khan - November 3, 2011 9:01 a.m.

    You and your brother are a bunch of retarded gluteus maximus holes. Nothing less! This is one amazing game from start to finish and you dare call it very disappointing? Take whatever consoles you have at home and shove it up your asses please. Do the same with your computers as well, cos' you are disgracing Grim Fandango!
  • Greenman - January 12, 2012 8:28 p.m.

    Oh yes it indeed was an amazing story it really tied everything up so perfectly...not. What's this? Robin's in the game and he looks awesome? Sweet!..Wait no, no all Robin freaking did was be Alfred's little courier for Batman, even Batman's pissed at Robin. And all that talk about Harley being in charge after Joker dies? Well let's see after finding her tied up for no honest adequate reason, the next we see her is at the end of the storyline, and then..nothing. And for all the talk of Riddler trophies extending gameplay, if the only way you can persuade gamers to come back to a game is fruitless chases for stupid little trophies, look at all the assassin creed games (their flags) and the countless other games that employed this stupid tactic. Face it, as mesmerizingly perfect the combat was (maybe a few more combos but still A+ work) and how gratifying it was to true Batman fans, it was an admittedly short experience in a videogame genre where at the very least maybe 20-30 hours is expected, and the writing in and designing someone in so awesome and badass that it changes (at least mine) people's views on that character, then give him around what ten or twelve sentences in the game? You don't have to be a game industry expert to see that is a pretty stupid move. But hey thank god the game wasn't sexist, here comes lame CatpunWoman. To conclude on why this flawed game honestly doesn't deserve all this crying over and high praise: A. Plot holes B. Predictably lame attempts to shoehorn the gamer back into the game (So after I've incapacitated 5000 of these thugs, now you want me to get some more as an insecure fetishist who enjoys awkwardly rubbing herself against dudes she knocks out? Yeah cute try Rocksteady, really adorable)and C. because I should be studying for exams and need something so I can procrastinate. Thank you for your time, I've hoped I made a lasting impression. Blessings of Mara upon all of us. Jk. I hated those pamphlets. Good. Bye.
  • Dixon - October 23, 2011 8:53 a.m.

    I know Batmans been getting Rave Reviews but has anyone seen that the new Zelda Skyward Sword has been getting better reviews? http://www.game-modo.com/2011/10/best-zelda-game-yet.html
  • garnsr - October 21, 2011 4:47 p.m.

    I got a message on PS3 that my data had been corrupted, and needed to be deleted, but after restarting I was able to play like normal a couple of times, and never got the message again, but it still makes me nervous. Other people are saying their data has gone missing on them, I'd hate to have to wait for a patch to play this game, it's great so far.
  • PopeTackler - October 21, 2011 3:28 p.m.

    I'm a good 15 hours into the storyline with a few sidequests done and my "Main Story Progress" is 85%. I'm not sure where the 20-25 hours for the core game is coming from, but unless the next 15% of the main story takes substantially longer than the rest of it I won't be coming close. I'm loving the game but I feel like the story has gone by maybe a bit too quickly.
  • Katlu - October 21, 2011 6:07 a.m.

    Well I'm sold! :D
  • Shinn - October 20, 2011 3:53 p.m.

    Thanks for helping me realize I cannot wait to buy this game.
  • IAmARobotWhoTurnsIntoATruckAnd - October 20, 2011 10:46 a.m.

    I'm thinking of getting this game, but i'm just wondering whether or not I, as someone who's not weighed down by D.C. nostalgia, will find it fun.
  • sternparez - October 21, 2011 5:18 a.m.

    yeh, trust me. I don't know the first thing about comics and Arkham Asylum is one of my favourite games and this may be even better.
  • gallatincarhartt - October 20, 2011 5:06 a.m.

    Is it possible to play the game in the Sinestro skin or the other Catwoman outfits or just the Challenge maps? Anyone know this. I am ape s**t for this game . . . love every moment of it!
  • Xerxes667 - October 26, 2011 10:05 p.m.

    beat the game first, then you can go in on any skin... but you probably figured that out by now
  • TODDRICKDAL15 - October 17, 2011 11:41 a.m.

    i just think F**k is just wants to be batman penis envy
  • inkyspot - October 17, 2011 10:05 a.m.

    Best Buy is screwing with my order... and I'm getting really pissed.
  • Joco84 - October 17, 2011 7:44 a.m.

    so, if i want to share this game with my friend and play his game on my console - I will need to pay money to unlock a vital part of the main story mode? can someone confirm/deny my fears?

Showing 1-20 of 118 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Oct 18 2011 - Xbox 360, PC, PS3 (US)
Oct 21 2011 - Xbox 360, PC, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PC, PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: WB Interactive
Developed by: Rocksteady Studios
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Alcohol Reference, Blood, Suggestive Themes, Use of Tobacco, Violence, Mild Language
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.