Google+

Assassin's Creed 4: Black Flag review

Back to Article

78 comments

  • Livalosa1 - January 29, 2014 3:49 a.m.

    How about Japan with Samuriis or China with Assassin Ninjas that will be cool
  • agrizzl - December 30, 2013 1:34 a.m.

    I got this game for Xmas, boy after how much I hated AC3 I was really worried about this one too. Was I an idiot! This is by far the most fun and best AC game!! I even think this could be my favourite game this year! I'm a real stickler for open world games and this one is so damn fun, being a pirate sailing the seas, exploring lush islands crafting and upgrading the ship.. Love it!! Get into it!
  • agrizzl - December 30, 2013 1:36 a.m.

    Also, Great review!!
  • NotarizedHype - December 17, 2013 5:02 a.m.

    This game is the $hit can be frustrating at time but id worth it
  • asmin-cool - December 5, 2013 1:52 a.m.

    I played a few hours of Black Flag and when I exited the game and then opened it up a few hours later, it said 0% progression. My Uplay achievements had been locked (I unlocked a bunch), but my uplay progression were still at 13% and my uplay "actions" were still unlocked (example: complete sequence 1). So the uplay progression said 13%, but when I opened the game, my game profile/save file said 0%. I then went into C:\Program Files (x86)\Ubisoft\Ubisoft Game Launcher\savegames\MY CODE\437, and here my save file was 38kB, which is about what 13% into the game would be. So my save file has my progress saved, and uplay does recognize that I have played 13%. But when trying to load the save file in-game. It just starts from the beginning (AKA 0%). so wht can i do???
  • MazovoiD - November 30, 2013 1:51 a.m.

    Pretty sad, I think, that the general fanbase does not seem to value the story that much. I haven't played the game, but based on the reviews I have read, Ubisoft completely ditched the story and focused only on gameplay that revolves around pirate ships, looting and pillaging. I've never been into pirates, and I valued the assassin's creed story much more than gameplay. So I guess this game won't be a good one for me. Sigh.
  • lisa-jeffries - November 27, 2013 10:55 a.m.

    Ok, seriously? The A. I in this game is a joke. There's no improvement since III, and no challenge still, to the story line. How can a town see you do a double assassination, of the guards at that, and just walk by. The detail in this game needs much improvement and challenge would be great. The nicest thing I can say of it, is my 4 year old had a little trouble when multiple attackers are on him. I'd love my money back. LoL I really wanted this game to be awesome!! Bethesda games are so superior in challenge, details and all around programming. Sorry to those assassin fans, I guess I just need more thought put into the story line.
  • steph123 - November 26, 2013 5:25 p.m.

    This game has blown me away! even the glitches are amazing! http://youtu.be/yLieXvzuIwQ
  • saucymonk - November 21, 2013 6:41 a.m.

    I love ASS CREED and I can't wait to see how much better this looks on XBONE!
  • asFan12 - November 16, 2013 11:48 a.m.

    Looking really good. Im a big fan of the assassins creed series. So this can only be a good game. :) www.pixelplay.dk
  • ianbrettcooper - November 8, 2013 1:02 p.m.

    "Characters are killed off too quickly, plot threads are too hastily tied off..." Well, like it or not, the Assassin's Creed series is based on history, and the fact is, in this period, the characters who die did so in a very short space of time. I'm not sure how AC4 could have pulled off drawing out the game between each major character's demise when often these folks died within a couple of weeks of each other. So I think your point is a stretch. Besides, it's certainly a lot better than the appalling and offensive AC3.
  • zelta38 - October 30, 2013 9:54 a.m.

    This pretty much confirms what I was thinking from the promo: it's a great pirate game shoehorned into an AC game for no reason other than to boost sales as a sequel to an established franchise. Just let AC requiescat in pace please, it's high time.
  • GR HollanderCooper - October 30, 2013 2:29 p.m.

    But don't undersell how good of a pirate game it is--it's SUCH a good pirate game.
  • zelta38 - October 31, 2013 9:01 a.m.

    It definitely looks like one :)
  • hester2 - November 21, 2013 9:11 a.m.

    Super late response, but I can't agree more. I enjoyed ACII and Brotherhood, but I didn't love them. I felt they got repetitive toward the end. With Black Flag, though, I can see myself playing until I've taken all the forts and wiped out the legendary ships. Hell, I even like the fleet feature.
  • Swedish_Chef - October 30, 2013 7:42 a.m.

    Is the combat still ridiculously easy as balls? Seriously that's something they haven't fixed since the first game, seriously I think they somehow managed to make it even easier post 2, which is something I thought wouldn't even be possible since the first game's combat basically devolved into mash the counter button to win!
  • hester2 - November 21, 2013 9:13 a.m.

    They finally made it so that you actually have to juggle multiple enemies at once. The main mission combat is still pretty easy, but some of the ship raids can be pretty challenging. There's one enemy type with an ax that can easily shave off half your health.
  • Swedish_Chef - November 21, 2013 5:25 p.m.

    Ah okay that's actually a good sign, thanks man.
  • hester2 - November 22, 2013 6:46 a.m.

    Fair warning, though. The first couple of hours are pretty much same ol' Assassin's Creed. It doesn't show its potential until you get the boat, but once you do, it's amazing. Since then, I've spent maybe two hours on the story missions, and probably 8-10 just sailing around, raiding ships, robbing warehouses, and taking down forts.

Showing 1-20 of 78 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 19 2013 - PC
Nov 15 2013 - PS4
Nov 22 2013 - Xbox One
Q4 2013 - PS3, Xbox 360, Wii U (US)
Available Platforms: PC, PS4, Xbox One, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii U
Genre: Adventure
Published by: Ubisoft
Developed by: Ubisoft Montreal
Franchise: Assassin's Creed
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Alcohol, Violence