Google+

We Recommend

49 comments

  • ironMunky07 - December 4, 2013 7:13 p.m.

    I was really torn on which one to get. The PS4 or the One? I've decided to get both and this based on the fact that I am a gamer. Both platforms offer their exclusives and with both consoles, I can enjoy all of them. I'm no fanboy by any means. I love video games because it's really a great release. So...PS4 or Xbox One? Both.
  • lastusableusername - November 25, 2013 12:23 p.m.

    PSP did technically do that "most next gen" thing you mentioned, it suspends games each time it (basically) turns off.
  • JrX818 - November 25, 2013 4:34 p.m.

    As well as the Vita - Well at least sometimes it does xD
  • suade907 - November 25, 2013 6:39 a.m.

    I agree with the review 100%. But I'm surprised the review didn't mention the lack of a hdmi passthru while off. This was a big deal for my wife and I. She hates tech and cannot get to the voice commands to work to save her life. In the end I had to unplug the directv from the xbox one. Overall I'm amazed by the ps4 and feel a meh feeling from the xbox one. I could have waited for sure. The load times seem to be very long on the xbox one as well.
  • Eightboll812 - November 25, 2013 8:26 a.m.

    I was hoping long load times would be something this gen "fixed", seeing as how much emphasis was placed on speed of switching between tasks, and minimizing the time we wait on stuff. I'm guessing PS4 won't be much better.
  • batman45238 - November 23, 2013 7:16 a.m.

    I'm a Sony man. I believe both the Xbox One and PlayStation 4 hold a lot of promise. It really depends on what games you like. I'm all about Killzone Shadow Fall, Infamous Second Son and Uncharted 4. I also love all the Ratchet and Clank games. So the PS4 was a no brainer. Now there's a Xbox One, PlayStation 4 and a Wii U. Put them together and you get....One 4 U.... Keep calm, there's One 4 U. :D
  • Rast - November 23, 2013 8:16 a.m.

    lol
  • TheLoneWulf - November 24, 2013 9:27 a.m.

    Love it! I'm with you, you go where you find what you want, not what the fanboys scream for. For me, it'll probably be the XB1, mostly because I tend to enjoy the games on the Xbox. Well, that and the controller's more comfortable in my hand. But, as you said, There's One 4 U, so pick what you like and have fun, fellow gamers!
  • Rast - November 23, 2013 6:39 a.m.

    In the Escapist magazine's Xbox One vs PS4, they held the PS4 as the winner. I think both consoles show promise. Is pointless to base a buy on these game site tests when both are powerful and so close up to one another in performance. Exclusive game titles and will decide a lot. Else it does not really matter.
  • rxb - November 22, 2013 7:25 a.m.

    When I played Forza the loading times felt long. Also how long do game installs take?
  • suade907 - November 25, 2013 6:46 a.m.

    I agree, the loading times were very long. I'm finding that with dead rising 3 and ryse as well. Plus some apps even take forever to load. I launched the exercise app for my wife and we waited over a minute. Then the free one lap kinect jet ski game. That sucker had super slow loading times as well.
  • Eightboll812 - November 20, 2013 8:15 p.m.

    You are holding on to there being a surprise extra 8 GB of RAM hidden in there? MS just let themselves get beat up for the last 5 months with reports of "lesser hardware", devs reporting Xbone 50% less powerful, and then trying to overclock both CPU and GPU to improve by 10% each respectively to narrow the gap, and yet they hid all this extra stuff away in there and didn't TELL anyone?? Are you seriously that delusional with fanboyism? Take it easy before your brain 'splodes from a massive fanboy hemorrhage.
  • Eightboll812 - November 20, 2013 4:15 p.m.

    For all those [MS employees] pissed at the review and that it says to wait on getting one, please do take a minute to recall this was the same website that previously said, "Xbone deserves your consideration now that MS has done a 180 on all the unpopular policies". The review isn't colored by a wish that the Xbone will fail, it's actually the reverse. It's colored by the fact that the features that are supposed to work at launch (even if you grant grace for all the ones that are postponed) actually don't work that well at all. It's actually a bit funny since MS repeatedly uses the excuse on delayed features that they want it to be rock solid and work, so they are busily perfecting it before they release it to the wild. And yet a released feature here, i.e. voice commands, sounds like it is BEYOND POOR quality. What happened to the "it has to be awesome, because that's what our customers expect"?? Regardless of how much of a fan you are of company ABC, you get better products from ABC when you hold ABC accountable for their product failures, than making excuses for ABC on every website you can find that is saying anything less than "it's perfect" in their reviews.
  • Eightboll812 - November 20, 2013 8:09 p.m.

    So genuine fails of the software don't count...only fails of the hardware?? But you yourself said: "The only flaw is the RROD issue with the 360, and they never made any promises in the first place that it was utterly reliable" So MS makes faulty hardware, you say "it's ok". MS makes faulty software, you say "it's ok". C'mon dude-bro, don't you realize how stupid you sound? Have fun gesticulating wildly and shouting at your Xbone while it does nothing other than stare back at you, lol.
  • Eightboll812 - November 22, 2013 9:57 a.m.

    Let's take a reader poll, shall we? "The only flaw is the RROD issue with the 360, and they never made any promises in the first place that it was utterly reliable" ^^ THAT sounds like excuse making. Combined with your obvious, over the top, fanboyism toward the Xbone, why would anyone read it otherwise? So let's have that poll... anyone agree with dedicated1 that this was a statement of condemnation toward MS for releasing faulty product? Or anyone agree with me that it was excuse making for MS? (Only old GR accounts count, so you don't go create a bunch of new people to agree with yourself ;-))

Showing 1-20 of 49 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.