Google+

Watch Dogs review

Back to Article

43 comments

  • BladedFalcon - May 27, 2014 5:34 a.m.

    Sounds fun, but definitely not nearly what the 2012 Demo had promised us. Also, hearing the story isn't worth writing home about ensures I'll not be rushing to get this game any time soon.
  • shawksta - May 29, 2014 12:26 a.m.

    To be fair, there are some promises on a demo that werent fulfilled but substituted with something else entirely that turned out better. Take The Last Of Us for example, when it was revealed and explained, it had a high emphasis on how the enemy AI was gonna be smarter and doing things like calling friends, holding you down while others shoot and such, the final game didnt have as advanced AI as the initial demo promised but the game itself was still an incredible experience worthy of GOTY. This has nothing to do with Watch Dogs but something to take note of.
  • BladedFalcon - May 29, 2014 8:27 a.m.

    Except TLOU did deliver on that front msotly. Sometimes the AI could be dodgy, sure, but they DID call for backup, they ran for cover,m and then tried to flank you based on your last know location. They even threw molotovs at the spot they last saw you if you had them freaked out enough. But yeah, the holding down wasn't exactly there, to be sure. And we'll see I guess. It's just that in the demo the city felt truly alive, in a way that from what I've seen so far in the actual game, it just doesn't happen. It's still a pretty game, but honestly not that different from how GTA 5 felt and looked.
  • shawksta - May 29, 2014 4:44 p.m.

    From most reviews that's was it seems to be, its not much different from GTA 5, some people say GTA 5 without the memorable characters, but in its defense some AI are atleast aware on how to leave a building if you shoot indoors if thats anything.
  • Rhymenocerous - May 27, 2014 5:33 a.m.

    The open world sounds great fun and should offer loads of varied gameplay, but the lazy, adolescent approach to character design annoys me.
  • Vonter - May 27, 2014 9:46 a.m.

    Adolescent? I thought the intend was making him look more or less like a bum, despite how fancy or not those clothes are (it's not that obvious to me). The character looks suspicious is like a modern take of the coat and fedora caricature the 80s and 90s had. http://wwsick.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/965.jpg ^^ Nothing suspicious at all.
  • rainn'sgaydar - May 27, 2014 4:46 a.m.

    Great review! Took me from "maybe one day" to "definitely after Mario Kart." Sucks to hear tailing missions still permeate Ubi's games. I would think that all the one star ratings people were giving AC IV tailing missions would send the message, but apparently not. Bummer, but the rest of the game sounds like something I'll quite enjoy.
  • davidperry - May 27, 2014 4:45 a.m.

    Finally my one more game released and going to be mine soon, i love it playing when i didn't have this i had one thing that is Aiden Pearce costume i love it so much. I have all gaming costume like Assassin's Creed, GTA and now watch dogs, found at FilmStarJackets ....
  • CitizenWolfie - May 27, 2014 2:45 a.m.

    Quite disappointed to hear it's pretty much what I expected. When I first saw gameplay trailers I instantly thought it looked like just another AssCreed mixed with GTA. Sucks that Ubi still haven't moved on from tailing missions too. However the first AC had a similar buzz when it was announced and then the second game is one of the previous gen's greatest games across all formats.
  • Jacko415 - May 27, 2014 2:39 a.m.

    Soooooo.... wait for steams summer sale?
  • Vonter - May 27, 2014 12:53 a.m.

    Well it surprises me, I thought it'll be more average given the lack of info. It seems to have enough distractions for when the story gets tedious (as expected of pretty much every Ubisoft game ever made). I'll get Mario Kart 8 this week, so I giving chance for Ubisoft to confirm/deconfirm the Wii U version, I'll wait if it indeed comes out, since I prefer to play there than in my 360. Anyway hype almost blinded my expectations since I really thought it was a run of the mill GTA clone. At least it looks like it has a sense of humor at some spots.
  • universaltofu - May 27, 2014 12:24 a.m.

    Down for some hacking, sucks the game didn't defy expectations, but maybe they'll improve in Watch Dogs 2, 3, 4, revelations, brotherhood, unity.
  • Rhymenocerous - May 27, 2014 5:31 a.m.

    Don't worry, this is Ubisoft. They'll be at least 17 sequels and spin-offs by October.
  • pl4y4h - May 27, 2014 10:59 a.m.

    LOL
  • bogdan-zivanovic - April 28, 2014 9:01 a.m.

    Since i cant buy my aunt will buy it for my b day (im serious) and if she doesnt ill go crazyyy and probably give some money to someone with a credit card....done
  • Vonter - April 23, 2014 10:03 a.m.

    Well at least the game will sell on its own merits since I think the hype peaked right in February. Also I hope the Wii U version integrates the gamepad due to the delay. Also being that Ubisoft has proven they get it.
  • Timstertimster - March 6, 2014 12:19 p.m.

    I'm excited. My expectations for GTA V were high and I feel utterly bored and disappointed with it. Even jumping across a hedge causes a rag doll drop to the floor. Terrible. And MP is me sitting alone in a lobby waiting for a group to collect. It takes hours because now there are over 500,000 jobs available to play. It's dumb. I'm pinning great hopes on WD. I like the mixture. The look is nice. I do worry about a lack of simple MP modes like cat'n'mouse and TDM.
  • punkamisto - August 21, 2013 10:54 a.m.

    And that already makes 4 of us. Oh look now we can create a facebook anti-Watch Dogs group..Just joking..and I will still probably buy it some months later. Still, not really excited.
  • ithurtstopoop - August 21, 2013 4:19 a.m.

    can i send them dick pics?
  • phoenixwright13 - June 29, 2013 3:42 p.m.

    It's more like Sleeping Dogs and Assassin's Creed more than GTA and Assassin's Creed.

Showing 21-40 of 43 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 18 2014 - Wii U
May 27 2014 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC, Xbox One, PS4 (US)
Available Platforms: Wii U, Xbox 360, PS3, PC, Xbox One, PS4
Genre: Action
Published by: Ubisoft
Developed by: Ubisoft Montreal
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Intense Violence, Nudity, Strong Language, Strong Sexual Content, Use of Drugs, Use of Alcohol