Google+

Uncharted 2: Among Thieves review

AT A GLANCE
  • Voice acting and scripting are of an award winning standard
  • The action just keeps on coming
  • Attention to detail
  • Some jump and grab sections can be a bit tricky
  • There are enemy types that are a pain in the ass
  • It has to end :(

Since we briefly played Uncharted 2 at Gamescom in Cologne recently and were part of the multiplayer Beta, we expected it to be pretty good, but shittin’ crikey, not this good.

Sony has searched long and hard for their killer-app - a sole reason to part with your cash - but have come up short. Killzone 2 had good-looks but offered very little in terms of originality. LittleBigPlanet was mega-fun but too niche for many. Ratchet & Clank is great but too juvenile to win over the hardcore masses. Uncharted 2 now fills this void - and then some.

So good are Nathan Drake’s new adventures, that unless Lara Croft goes fully nude for the entirety of her next game, then she won’t even get a look in over this.

Here’s the obligatory gist of the action: It’s a couple of years after the events of original game (which is surprisingly, very rarely spoken of). Drake and Elena have parted ways for reasons unknown and a British bloke, named Flynn, ropes Nathan and Kiwi crumpet Chloe, into stealing an antique oil lamp from a Turkish museum.

Above: The Turkish museum heist in action

From here, Drake ends up on the trail of terrorist Zoran Lazarevic and the secrets of Marco Polo’s doomed expedition to find Shangri La and the mythical Cintamani Stone. Cue blood-shed, incredible scenes of exploration and of course, tricky puzzles.

But what makes Uncharted 2 so damn near perfect? Right off the bat, we’ll say the script and voice acting simply can’t be touched. And we’re not talking just games here. Most movies and TV scribes struggle to keep up with the quality here. That’s why it gets this...

You might not give a toss about the chemistry between the characters right now (don’t worry we’ll get to the guns and killing soon) but it's hard not to fall for it when you play the game.

The lines are tight and delivered so convincingly you get the sense that the voice actors are really enjoying themselves. It pulls you in and, honest to Jeebus, there are moments when we actually <shiver> ‘LOL’d’. Not to mention pause the game and fist-punch the air as we stumble across another impressive environment to swing, climb and blast our way through...

More Info

Release date: Oct 13 2009 - PS3 (US)
Oct 16 2009 - PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3
Genre: Adventure
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: Naughty Dog
Franchise: Uncharted
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Blood, Language, Suggestive Themes, Violence
PEGI Rating:
16+

123 comments

  • jamboy199three - September 18, 2009 4:37 p.m.

    *screams like a little girl*
  • chunk266 - September 18, 2009 4:44 p.m.

    EPIC i am going to love this game
  • Curtis_Stone - September 18, 2009 6:11 p.m.

    MW2 ad UC2 are all I need to make this a great year...
  • TheWebSwinger - September 18, 2009 6:15 p.m.

    All of those killer apps he mentioned in the intro are just as killer app-y as this game. That said, why didn't the reviewer mention the multiplayer? I mean even I've played the Beta, and could comment on it. Oh well, can't wait for this game!
  • wkdtkd - September 18, 2009 6:15 p.m.

    AAAAAARRRGHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!! I'm indecently excited about this!!!
  • thedocument - September 18, 2009 6:29 p.m.

    I just recently bought a PS2 and one of the main reasons for doing so was for this game. I can't wait.
  • Corsair89 - September 18, 2009 6:34 p.m.

    I still have to play the first one. Now I really need to play them both.
  • Amnesiac - September 18, 2009 6:37 p.m.

    SO glad I pre-ordered this. This has been my most wanted game of the fall (which is saying something), and I'm happy to know it's very, very justified.
  • therat - September 18, 2009 7:06 p.m.

    umm hate to rain on your parade thedocument, but this is only for PS3.
  • forza - September 18, 2009 7:16 p.m.

    The game is a month away from release wth!
  • mrandydixon - September 18, 2009 7:24 p.m.

    I'd really like to know if the MP adds anything significant. Will you review or at least comment on that after it goes live?
  • lovinmyps3 - September 18, 2009 8 p.m.

    I'm getting this first day!!
  • ShinRa - September 18, 2009 8:28 p.m.

    Drake's Fortune's my game of the generation so far so this made my number one most-wanted December last year but it's great to see the sequel surpass expectations. :D
  • crumbdunky - September 18, 2009 8:28 p.m.

    Having been in the MP betas I can say that those portions of the package will NOT let the SP down at all-fantastic, original and more thoughtful stuff than most offer and the quality all round is incredible-and the finished game with the promised dedicated servers(why doesn't every game on Live and PSN have them they make a VAST difference?). I always had high hopes after feeling the first game was a killer app myself but it looks like it might just blow even thse expectations away.
  • lethalcodeine - September 18, 2009 9:27 p.m.

    my eyes have been pownd(owned+pwned)
  • saltyceadog - September 18, 2009 9:39 p.m.

    ... *wants* Gotta go pre-order it now. Thanks GamesRadar!
  • manmeatpizza - September 18, 2009 10 p.m.

    Also hardcore-gamer1990, realised the irony of that ramdom out-burst fanboyism?
  • chairmanofthebar - September 18, 2009 10:10 p.m.

    Does it have any pain in the ass parts like when the undead first show up in the first game?
  • garnsr - September 18, 2009 10:16 p.m.

    I tried playing the first Gears of War recently, but I just don't like the huge, lumbering muscle-men like I like the quick, clever guys like Nathan Drake and Lara Croft. I recently played through TR Underworld for the trophies, and I love action adventure with lots of exploration, and I can't wait for my copy of Uncharted 2 to come in.
  • ciderdrinker - September 18, 2009 10:19 p.m.

    Me want.

Showing 1-20 of 123 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000