Google+

Titanfall review

Great
Back to Article

101 comments

  • shawksta - March 10, 2014 10:35 a.m.

    Neat, though the whole "Its gonna be the call of duty killer'' statement could go both ways.
  • n00b - March 10, 2014 9:52 a.m.

    wait hold the review don't go yet!!!! WHAT HAPPENED TO MONSTER NPC THE SIZE OF BUILDINGS???????? i know it isnt april first yet what about all the cool monsters they showed off on the art book?
  • Vonter - March 10, 2014 12:53 p.m.

    They are in the background apparently.
  • talleyXIV - March 12, 2014 5:48 p.m.

    That is so lame.
  • Vonter - March 12, 2014 6:32 p.m.

    Future DLC I bet.
  • zdruck07 - April 14, 2014 7:12 a.m.

    Yeah, they appear in the backgrounds of some maps, and in one map at the beginning of one of the campaign missions. In the desert map (can't remember its name) these dragon things come down and tear a few grunts apart then leave. I was real disappointed by that, wish they would have integrated them into the maps. Still a really fun game though.
  • Vonter - April 14, 2014 9:29 a.m.

    I suppose, still it's not a good sign when a next gen game puts those kinds of limits. I mean presentation shouldn't limit gameplay possibilities it should make things that didn't work before work now.
  • pl4y4h - March 10, 2014 9:46 a.m.

    Called it! Nice way to start my morning
  • Grady_McAlister - March 10, 2014 9:46 a.m.

    --id guess most gamers who were planning on getting this game --ALREADY own a XB1 --which means XB1's dismal sales numbers will not go up 'much' --i mean lets tell the truth --xb1 is selling on par with wiiU,ps3 and vita --while PS4 is selling on par with 3ds --and once again knack was the #1 selling game in the world for the 2nd week in a row --if knack outsells titanfall this week --XB1 got some trouble
  • retro62 - March 10, 2014 10:41 a.m.

    the reason Knack is number 1 two weeks in a row is Sony played the clever card and made a souls PS4 hard to come by, they forced customers to buy a package that come budged with Knack. that way customers had the option of either a console with a game they don't want, or not have a PS4 at all. Then Sony announce that there ground breaking Knack is number 1 again two weeks running, coincidence that the console only got launched in Japan 2 weeks ago!!!!. Now don't go thinking that i am being a XBOX fanboy as i aint, i am from the sony systems from early PS1 days right threw till this next gen when i decided to make a change, and just for that reason a change. I still admire Sony and will get the PS4 eventually and will see the war of machines be a seesaw ride as they release games/features over time
  • Grady_McAlister - March 10, 2014 12:17 p.m.

    --yeah, it doesn't matter HOW sony is making ps4 and its WORST games sell --they ARE selling --and theyre kicking Xbox's ass PRETTY good --I figured they were probably giving knack away with Japanese bundles
  • Grady_McAlister - March 10, 2014 3:55 p.m.

    ps4daily.com/2013/09/playstation-4-japan-bundles/
  • retro62 - March 10, 2014 9:31 a.m.

    i have read a few reviews so far on this since the embargo lift, most of them slate the multiplayer campaign story and compare it with COD all the time… COD did not have a multiplayer campaign, so any story, even if it is not that good is extra content in my eyes. People may say, "i don't see the fascination, does not look good, hy all the hype etc" i think i am looking forward to this as its a new type of game, instead of the same old reboots, sequels upon sequels, and a next-gen machine that is limited in AAA titles, (plants v zombies) its still in the infancy of the machine and this game is a massive step to why to expect in the future i think. instead of the realise of lego games all the time, (as my son calls his Xbox1 - Legobox)
  • bebl09 - March 10, 2014 5:50 p.m.

    I think the CoD comparisons in that sense are more about there being a 'campaign' mode of some sort that no one really gives a crap about and instead just go straight to the normal multiplayer, which I think is a pretty fair comparison.
  • BladedFalcon - March 10, 2014 9:11 a.m.

    So... I have to ask what is no doubt in everyone's minds: IS IT BETTER THAN HALO REACH??? IT GOT THE SAME SCORE SO SONY AND NINTENDO MUST BE BUYING YOU OFF RIGHT GR??? /Tired old joke
  • BladedFalcon - March 10, 2014 9:18 a.m.

    Also, I've noticed a lot of other sites have decided to wait on posting their reviews to properly judge how the servers will hold up. I know Cooper dedicated a space to address that concern... But isn't this still jumping the gun a little to post this review without waiting even a day or two to see if the servers won't flat out shit the bed like they did with SimCity?
  • FoxdenRacing - March 10, 2014 9:49 a.m.

    Not saying I approve of it, but it's probably the same conundrum faced by any news source. If they wait a week to see how the servers pan out, then the page views aren't going to amount to anything, and the ad money won't amount to anything, and that means the staff don't get paid. I wish it was possible for a reviews site to exist so bang-on, so trusted, that people would rather wait the week or two for their review, rather than gobble everything up the day the embargo lifts and then not think about it again.
  • BladedFalcon - March 10, 2014 9:54 a.m.

    True I suppose, and I mean, I guess it's also valid to operate under the assumption that even if the servers don't work for shit at first, the idea is that the game SHOULD work in the state it was reviewed today sooner or later. Still, it is a bit of a conundrum, since back when Simcity Launched, I remember a LOT of sites jumped the gun with early reviews, giving the game 9s and 10s... Which are kinda ludicrous looking back now, seeing as it wasn't just the server problems, but from what I've heard, even with online working as it should, the game isn't really very good on it's own.
  • GR HollanderCooper - March 10, 2014 10:51 a.m.

    Honestly, I don't see the point in holding a review to check servers. Do the servers work? Great! Then I stand by my score. Do the servers not work? Then it's a 0/5. It either works or doesn't.
  • The_Tingler - March 10, 2014 11:23 a.m.

    Yeah, agree. The game is still the same whatever the condition of the servers. But you guys need to do some sort of day one news report on the servers. Please? :)

Showing 21-40 of 101 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 11 2014 - PC, Xbox One
Apr 08 2014 - Xbox 360 (US)
Available Platforms: PC, Xbox One, Xbox 360
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Microsoft
Developed by: Respawn Entertainment
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Strong Language, Violence

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.