Google+

Thief review

Back to Article

68 comments

  • BladedFalcon - February 24, 2014 7:59 a.m.

    Never played a Thief game before, so even if it is a reboot, this one offers no good story to lure me in, so I see no need to play it, specially if the level and game design is as hit and miss as most reviews so far claim it is.
  • db1331 - February 24, 2014 8:12 a.m.

    I HIGHLY recommend getting Thief 2, and installing the texture mod to pretty it up and run at modern resolution. From a gameplay/immersion standpoint, it still completely blows away 99% of modern games. It's still fun as all hell, brutally hard on Expert (especially if you don't quick save), and at times it can be just as scary (if not more) as anything in today's survival horror genre. I mean, just look at all the stuff there is to do in this map of one level of Thief 2. And it's only the SECOND LEVEL in the game. http://i.imgur.com/om7LJLQ.jpg
  • GOD - February 24, 2014 8:19 p.m.

    That picture comparison seems super biased.... the one on the left isn't labeling things to do but just describing every single rooms contents or supposed purpose. Meanwhile the one on the right is more of a walkthrough map without the massive amounts of descriptive text. The on one the left goes so far as to label each individual room, and even crates. That same level of description is not applied to the one on the right. Also why compare the second level from the last to game to the first level in this game? Makes sense to me that the first level in a reboot of a game would be the most linear of them all...... I'm not saying one game is better than the other, I just think the evidence you used is shoddy at best.
  • db1331 - February 25, 2014 5:01 a.m.

    I don't disagree with you at all. I was just trying to show the awesomeness of that level from Thief 2. I saw that image elsewhere and just copied the link.
  • mothbanquet - February 25, 2014 6:29 a.m.

    A million times yes. Played it again for the first time in a decade a few months back and it was still as brilliant as ever. Best part about getting a gaming rig? All these old games that still hold up gameplay-wise and with mods that spruce it up to almost-if-not modern standards.
  • Jackonomics2.0 - February 24, 2014 7:32 a.m.

    You see this is what im talking about, when your story doesn't hold up, your judged on something else entirely. Regardless, im still buying this game, I love stealth.
  • nash1991 - February 24, 2014 7:25 a.m.

    Great!! Cant wait to play it :)
  • stevenhearn - February 24, 2014 4:34 a.m.

    Excellent review..... These kind of reviews insists me to preorder this game. I had preordered the CD key of this game last week itself....and now eagerly waiting for its release.
  • wiitard07 - February 21, 2014 1:12 p.m.

    Hoping for three or more stars! I'm itching for a stealth game and that's a solid score.
  • db1331 - February 21, 2014 12:18 p.m.

    It's 3.5 stars, isn't it?
  • universaltofu - February 21, 2014 12:25 p.m.

    hehe, thought the same, I wonder if they will do one of these for Castlevania too.
  • nash1991 - February 21, 2014 3:16 p.m.

    My gut tells me it will be 4-4.5! Regardless of the stars, I'm stoked for this game so will be getting it anyway :D
  • wiitard07 - February 22, 2014 7:54 a.m.

    Stealth games are my jam no matter what the score is, I'm pumped.
  • joper90 - February 24, 2014 1:04 a.m.

    Prepare for appointment.. I say it will get 2-3 max.
  • joper90 - February 24, 2014 1:39 a.m.

    disappointment even.. doh.
  • db1331 - February 24, 2014 6:46 a.m.

    Called it.
  • BladedFalcon - February 24, 2014 7:56 a.m.

    Lol, you seem to have a knack for this :P This has to be the third or fourth time I've seen getting the score right for a review in this site XD
  • db1331 - February 24, 2014 8:06 a.m.

    I'm the Review Whisperer. I just look at a game, and a score pops into my head. I'll admit that guessing x/5 stars is a lot easier than x/10, though.
  • homestar99 - February 24, 2014 8:23 a.m.

    I can see why. Every point except 5 in a out of ten review is impossible in a star review. I can see what makes the calculation easier. Except shit like Call of Duty, which is always destined to get 8's and 9's 'cos bribery pays.
  • BladedFalcon - February 24, 2014 8:23 a.m.

    ..What is the real difference though? a 5 star scale that work in half stars is technically the same as 10 scale anyway XD Which is why I always felt confused as to why GR felt the need to change their scoring system... In practical terms, it works exactly the same as before XD
  • homestar99 - February 24, 2014 8:28 a.m.

    Well, technically out of ten scores are more complex 'cos five star reviews are limited to full and half scores, just whole numbers and halves. Out of ten's can have any tenth of a decimal. They changed the system so they wouldn't have to go through that tenth of a decimal shit and stick to whole numbers and point fives.
  • BladedFalcon - February 24, 2014 8:48 a.m.

    ...Actually, that's wrong. IGN was the site that used decimals. GR never used decimals, they gave solid numbers, like 8 or 9, but never 8.5 or anything... So again, having 10 solid numbers, and then changing to wholes and halfs of 5 starts that end up making 10 scores as well is the same shit...

Showing 41-60 of 68 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Feb 25 2014 - PS4, Xbox One, Xbox 360, PC
Feb 25 2014 - PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: PS4, Xbox One, Xbox 360, PC, PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: Eidos
Developed by: Eidos Montreal
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Nudity, Strong Language, Strong Sexual Content, Use of Drugs, Violence