Google+

Thief review

Back to Article

47 comments

  • BladedFalcon - February 24, 2014 7:59 a.m.

    Never played a Thief game before, so even if it is a reboot, this one offers no good story to lure me in, so I see no need to play it, specially if the level and game design is as hit and miss as most reviews so far claim it is.
  • db1331 - February 24, 2014 8:12 a.m.

    I HIGHLY recommend getting Thief 2, and installing the texture mod to pretty it up and run at modern resolution. From a gameplay/immersion standpoint, it still completely blows away 99% of modern games. It's still fun as all hell, brutally hard on Expert (especially if you don't quick save), and at times it can be just as scary (if not more) as anything in today's survival horror genre. I mean, just look at all the stuff there is to do in this map of one level of Thief 2. And it's only the SECOND LEVEL in the game. http://i.imgur.com/om7LJLQ.jpg
  • GOD - February 24, 2014 8:19 p.m.

    That picture comparison seems super biased.... the one on the left isn't labeling things to do but just describing every single rooms contents or supposed purpose. Meanwhile the one on the right is more of a walkthrough map without the massive amounts of descriptive text. The on one the left goes so far as to label each individual room, and even crates. That same level of description is not applied to the one on the right. Also why compare the second level from the last to game to the first level in this game? Makes sense to me that the first level in a reboot of a game would be the most linear of them all...... I'm not saying one game is better than the other, I just think the evidence you used is shoddy at best.
  • db1331 - February 25, 2014 5:01 a.m.

    I don't disagree with you at all. I was just trying to show the awesomeness of that level from Thief 2. I saw that image elsewhere and just copied the link.
  • mothbanquet - February 25, 2014 6:29 a.m.

    A million times yes. Played it again for the first time in a decade a few months back and it was still as brilliant as ever. Best part about getting a gaming rig? All these old games that still hold up gameplay-wise and with mods that spruce it up to almost-if-not modern standards.
  • Jackonomics2.0 - February 24, 2014 7:32 a.m.

    You see this is what im talking about, when your story doesn't hold up, your judged on something else entirely. Regardless, im still buying this game, I love stealth.
  • nash1991 - February 24, 2014 7:25 a.m.

    Great!! Cant wait to play it :)
  • stevenhearn - February 24, 2014 4:34 a.m.

    Excellent review..... These kind of reviews insists me to preorder this game. I had preordered the CD key of this game last week itself....and now eagerly waiting for its release.
  • wiitard07 - February 21, 2014 1:12 p.m.

    Hoping for three or more stars! I'm itching for a stealth game and that's a solid score.

Showing 41-47 of 47 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Feb 25 2014 - PS4, Xbox One, Xbox 360, PC
Feb 25 2014 - PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: PS4, Xbox One, Xbox 360, PC, PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: Eidos
Developed by: Eidos Montreal
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Nudity, Strong Language, Strong Sexual Content, Use of Drugs, Violence