Google+

The Walking Dead game review

Astonishing
Back to Article

73 comments

  • GamingBear - November 27, 2012 3:45 a.m.

    I can only assume your review is a bit late because of the almost unbearable crying at completing the game? I loved this series, the connection you built up with characters, the communication between them and the tense qte, and not forget the ending, close to tears I was. Great stuff telltale, a breath of fresh air.
  • jasoncarter - November 26, 2012 10:07 p.m.

    I agree it does indeed deserve good reviews for the story alone. However, There is still 1 really huge issue. In over 4 months, they have still not fixed the save bug the plagues steam copies of the game. I really have no idea why and quite franking its moronic. I thankfully back up all my saves as I go, but the fact that they cannot or simply refuse to fix this problem is just sad.
  • Misterscaryface - November 26, 2012 7:46 p.m.

    This is by far, my favorite game of the year. I couldn't agree more with this review, I was predicting perhaps a 4.5 star review due to some minor graphical/audio glitches (nothing game breaking) but now that I think about it, 5 star is completely deserving. Best written, best voice-acted and best emotional attachment to characters I've seen yet in the medium. This is a perfect example of how story telling in videogames can be just as emotionally engaging as a movie/book. Having this game done in episode format was really clever too, cause it forced the player to take their time with the game. There was no need to rush through it, the next episode was always like a month away. So, it let you savor each episode and replay it over multiple times if preferred. Well done Telltale, well done indeed. 5*/5*
  • t_skwerl - November 26, 2012 6:07 p.m.

    I just finished the other day and I was an emotional wreck. Due mostly to Clementine at the end. That was heartbreaking and a textbook case of how to make a bittersweet ending. I don't think it'll make game of the year or even dlc of the year, but it deserves kudos for emotional impact alone. I got very angry at some characters, I broke down and cried like a ... well, like Clementine in some places. Very well done game. Can't wait for an eventual Season 2.
  • Mattel9 - November 26, 2012 5:20 p.m.

    I completely agree with everything in this review. This game made me care about the characters and left me with so much emotion after I finished it. Not many games can do that to people. TellTale definitely created one of the best games of the year.
  • Spiderman - November 26, 2012 4:47 p.m.

    Yeah, you only get one episode on xbox per your 5$. So, it comes out to 25$ total, I believe. Personally I got it for Steam, but I imagine both versions are the same for quality. And wow, I was just blown away by this game. Truly worth it.
  • taokaka - November 26, 2012 4:11 p.m.

    I started and finished the entire game on the weekend and apart from the first episode, lousy quicktime events and duck (my only regret is saving him) I rather enjoyed the game. The final episode was my favourite by far, the scene which you're walking up to the hotel just had me giddy with excitement.
  • MyCoolWhiteLies - November 26, 2012 2:57 p.m.

    This series is one of three game series that I consider to have genuinely great writing. The other two being Portal and Mass Effect (despite the ending).
  • JimmyCooldaddy - November 26, 2012 2:19 p.m.

    is the story from the comic books i'm gunna get with my preorder? should i read it after i'm done with all five chapters?
  • BladedFalcon - November 26, 2012 2:08 p.m.

    To be honest, I've kinda ignored everything walking dead related, and as such, I hadn't really paid the game any attention. But considering the overpowering hype and praise it's getting, I now feel like it would be a mistake to pass on it. So I'm willing to give it a try... Though I have to ask, I know the game is based more around the comics than the TV series, so how much would it help or affect to read the comics first? or I won't miss that much if I don't?
  • TomSJ3 - November 26, 2012 2:31 p.m.

    You don't have to read the comics to enjoy the game. The game's story is completely separate from the story in the comics (and the show), with all new characters. In the first episode of the game, there are a couple of characters from the comic that show up for a little while, but honestly their appearances in the game were pretty inconsequential. Definitely buy the game, but I can't pass up the opportunity to recommend the comics as well. If you aren't reading them yet, you're missing out.
  • BladedFalcon - November 26, 2012 3:07 p.m.

    *nods* well, it's just that I barely even have time to properly enjoy videogames on a regular daily basis. I'm not sure if I want to commit getting hooked to a 100+ long comic series that is STILL ongoing. Still, from what you mentioned, it does seem that I can enjoy the game properly without having any prior experience to the series, so I'll definitely give it a go eventually ^^
  • GamingBear - November 27, 2012 3:59 a.m.

    I would seriously suggest getting the comics, I think they are great. They only take about an hour to 2 hours max to read each issue.
  • patbateman17 - November 27, 2012 8:23 a.m.

    Definitely do yourself a favor and play this one through - hands down my favorite game of the last few years and the only game in recent memory to really hook me in at an emotional level. Just read the comments, this game is amazing. After beating it I just sat there for a while and couldn't process what happened - it's that incredible. I have no idea how someone could dislike this game.
  • CitizenWolfie - November 28, 2012 2:28 a.m.

    It is based totally in the canon of the comic series, but it's more of a parallel story to what the comic is. It takes place in the same universe, and a couple of characters intertwine each story but even the cameo appearances are more nods to the comic, something for the fans. And even then, the cameos are only really in the first episode. If you've never read the comics though, the game still makes perfect sense as it's largely a self-contained set of characters.
  • garnsr - November 26, 2012 2:07 p.m.

    I've only the played the first two episodes, but I'll play the others if we get them free from PS Plus like the first two. The zombie setting puts me off, though, I just don't like zombies very much. I'd rather play this story in an alien environment, or something, instead of the zombie setting that is just so overdone to me now.
  • gingermidget - November 21, 2012 2:15 p.m.

    Where's episode 4 and 5's reviews?
  • GR HollanderCooper - November 25, 2012 10:29 p.m.

    Coming soon!

Showing 21-40 of 73 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Apr 24 2012 - Xbox 360, PC, PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS Vita, PC, PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: Telltale Games
Developed by: Telltale Games
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.