Google+

The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword review

Back to Article

88 comments

  • geeksplosion - November 11, 2011 5:13 a.m.

    Personally, my favorite Zelda of all time is Zelda II: The Adventure of Link.
  • NightCrawler_358 - November 11, 2011 4:42 a.m.

    Oh Come on!! How many games do I have to buy this season? And it comes with a bloody soundtrack!? I need to buy it!! I seriously think that 2011 has been the best year in gaming in a long, long time, if not ever.
  • taokaka - November 11, 2011 3:07 a.m.

    Good review. I'm actually glad to see that this isn't the best Zelda game but for a good reason, which is so I can laugh at my friend who also reads this sight because he read a preview from I think IGN and he wouldn't shut up about how this is going to be the best Zelda game ever. Literally every time I saw him he would say that and now his favourite sight has just swept the rug out from beneath his feet.
  • Arobadope - November 11, 2011 5:10 a.m.

    Read Ign's review then play the game then decide whether it is the best Zelda or not. Also realize it's their own opinion and really most of the reasons the said no as to why it isn't better then wind waker or TP seem a little iffy. WW might have a timeless art style....but so does SS so that bit really makes 0 sense to me in fact SS's art style is basically a better looking version of WW's. As for controls I can't comment one or the other since I haven't played it, but that is also a subject of opinion (like all reviews). Honestly, I feel like GR sometimes tries a bit too hard at being the "troubadors of the unique game" with their professed love of games like Catherine, Okami, Wind Waker, El Shaddai, Muramasa. It seems more like they shout that they love these games just so when they tank they can say "We told you all to buy it so don't bitch at us!" Not taking anything away from GR because I think this site is one of the most objective, I just find it funny how there seems to be that kind of presence here.
  • BladedFalcon - November 11, 2011 10:35 a.m.

    Instead of trying to validate what YOU want to believe from other reviews, why not just wait for the game and decide if it's your favorite Zelda or not? This review already stated that for a lot of people, this is going to be the best Zelda ever, and that's perfectly valid. There's no reason for calling GR's argument's iffy just because you don't agree with them. On that point. SS's art-style is NOT a better looking version of WW's and this not a matter of opinion. The styles themselves are just plainly different: WW is cell shaded, SS is not. A lot will like SS's look better, and that's perfectly valid, but calling it the "same, but better" art style of WW is just plainly misguided and wrong. And lastly... what does GR's reviews on those games you mentioned have anything to do with this game? at this point it just sounded like you were trying to take potshots at the site for random, no-related gripes of yours.
  • SerpentineZERO - November 11, 2011 10:48 a.m.

    BladedFalcon speaks the truth.
  • Darkwun - November 17, 2011 7:04 a.m.

    Damn mate, calm down lol It's easy to poin out the folly of people's arguments (with valid points though I might add) you'll come across sevral shades more hostile if you see the validity in the hypothesis of both your and the interlocuters quarrel. Yes his view his very subjective and based on a game he hasn't played (which I am giddily playing now) a more valid point to make is based on the reviewers perception of previous games, their style versus the subjects own views and perceptions on those games, one could reach a proper consensus on what the game is Reviews are a guide, and will always be, one person's opinion and should be treated as such. I'm having less trouble than in this review, but I consider this a great review. WW is not my favourite, and I do prefer Skyward sword's art style, but I guessed my differences from reading this review. People up in arms about the diffrences should take contrasting opinion into consideration when reading.
  • Hobogonigal - November 11, 2011 5:30 a.m.

    Damn you Taokaka it still will be the best (and yes it was IGN)! Damn you GamesRadar for giving this a 9 when it has a wealth of new content and tries to do something new for the series. Usually I agree with all that you guys say but the only con I could see here was to do with the occasional motion control caliberation. I've been following this site for years and I've seen a lot of games with more flaws than LoZ:SS receive 10's. Oh well, I was just expecting a perfect score as your previews were always glowing. P.S. Taokaka, GamesRadar and IGN are internet sites, not sights...
  • BladedFalcon - November 11, 2011 10:38 a.m.

    And so you damn a site because they didn't give it the score you wanted. Smart, and very objective too. P.S. It's motion control "calibration", not "caliberation"....
  • taokaka - November 11, 2011 6:18 p.m.

    just because of your hilarious owning of hobogonigal I shall humbly admit that your other comment to be entirely correct. I just wanted to shut hobogonigal up and it seemed to work, MWAH HA HA HA.
  • Hobogonigal - November 11, 2011 7:34 p.m.

    Curse you James and your evil laugh!!!!!!!!
  • Hobogonigal - November 11, 2011 7:29 p.m.

    You're one to talk. First person I've seen make so many replies on one article with the sole purpose of calling people objective. Sure, its pretty fun to reply to maybe one or two but you've done quite a lot here... Not trying to be objective but GamesRadar often tend to play games up in their previews and then mention niggles after people have bought it when they post a review. I think the best example of this was the preview of Bodycount- it sounded amazing but I played the demo and it just felt off. That's why it has a Metacritic of 53. I still love GamesRadar, my favourite site, and considering all the time I've spent here I think I'm entitled to a bit of damning here and there.
  • xf3RnVnD0x - November 11, 2011 2:57 a.m.

    great ign says motin controls r perfect... 10/10 gameinformer, 10/10 edge. How can u complain about its graphics. If i ever get a hd zelda cuz fanboys of the hd twins couldn't stand the greaness that is zelda i'll be mad i just dont accpet this review is not good
  • CitizenWolfie - November 11, 2011 2:01 a.m.

    I'm looking forward to playing this come Christmas. I wasn't sure about the motion controls from the demo as it didn't feel like what I was doing matched up with what Link was doing. But since you mentioned recalibrations maybe it was something to do with that (it was at a Games convention with loads of people playing all day). I'm quite glad they toned down some of the dungeons. I know they're a huge part of the series but personally I prefer exploring every inch of Hyrule and savouring the little things like the sun setting over Lake Hylia. And I totally agree with Wind Waker being the best Zelda. I've been replaying it recently and it still feels fresh today. Majora's Mask really hasn't aged well despite being awesome. Wind Waker and Link to the Past have remained timeless. Without any spoilers, how does Ghirahim fare as the villain? He just seems a bit "diet Sephiroth" to me from what I've seen.
  • shawksta - November 11, 2011 1:34 a.m.

    What makes me excited is the Amount of content during and after the games story. Ive seen link do ALLOT of things that would make it rewarding to trying everything.
  • Gene - November 11, 2011 1:25 a.m.

    For someone like me, who genuinely believed that Twilight Princess was a poor game getting by on its Zelda name (I say that as a colossal Zelda fan but seriously: compare Twilight Princess to Okami and you'll see how much it's missing)... How much am I likely to get out of this? Has the core concept of the game evolved at all? Has it grown up? Or am I better off sticking with Skyrim and replaying Okami?
  • shawksta - November 11, 2011 1:29 a.m.

    Considering what they changed and made to the series, it has, especially with the concept,story and gameplay.
  • ithurtstopoop - November 11, 2011 1:20 a.m.

    "The thing is, Zelda is a rare example of a series that has never had a serious misstep to tarnish its record. " Well Excuuuuuuseme princess
  • juicenpancakes - November 11, 2011 1:18 a.m.

    It's a bit odd reading a Zelda review not written by Brett Elston, but if the torch should be passed to anybody, it's Miss Gudmundson. I'm adding this to my list of day-one purchases.
  • shawksta - November 11, 2011 1:15 a.m.

    Question Carolyn, would you say Ocarina of time has met its match with this game?

Showing 61-80 of 88 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 20 2011 - Wii (US)
Available Platforms: Wii
Genre: Adventure
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Nintendo
Franchise: Legend of Zelda
ESRB Rating:
Everyone 10+: Animated Blood, Comic Mischief, Fantasy Violence
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending