Google+

The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword review

Excellent
Back to Article

101 comments

  • n00b - November 11, 2011 7:38 a.m.

    Carolyn, Carolyn, Carolyn we all know that Majora's Mask is the best zelda game. anyway i might like this one since its different
  • RonnyLive19881 - November 11, 2011 7:13 a.m.

    Well I don't think ill be coming here for a while, how dare you GR... There is just no way Skyrim is better than this. I've been playing it since MIDNIGHT and it just has nothing on Zelda. Also, I lost $200 Frakin dollars all because you guys want an HD Zelda and you probably ly played the game in a poor motion plus environment, /bitching Or after the scolding I have a question, did you play the game with the motion plus add on or a confer with it built in? If so maybe there is less calibration problems with the built in ones. No other reviews mention this problem. Also how is a new bad guy a con?
  • angelusdlion - November 11, 2011 7:21 a.m.

    for crying out loud, A> they gave it a 9 out of ten, that's still an amazing review score. B> they said multiple times the motion control wasn't bad. C> If you're leaving don't let the door hit you in the ass. D> Please try to curb the rampant fanboyism. I'm sure that GR doesn't care if you come to the site or not and that sort of thing honestly makes you look the whiny crybaby.
  • LOZ4EVAH - November 11, 2011 10:14 a.m.

    Dude no one's gonna take you seriously if you look like that in real life. lol
  • RonnyLive19881 - November 11, 2011 4:30 p.m.

    I was just expecting a 10, so much that I lost money on it Lol Now that I'm over it though, I've decided to accept that not every reviewer is the same and just deal with it. Plus I'm way more aggravated at the Giant Turd (bomb) review. Also don't be dissin mah glasses yo Lol
  • ThatGuyFromTV - November 11, 2011 7:40 a.m.

    You forgot to call their sexuality or their mother into question. If you're gonna do fanboy rage, please learn to do it correctly. Also make it a bit more obvious if the rage is supposed to be a joke, I didn't see the "/bitching" the first time I read it. I give this rage a 5 out of 10. /troll Anyway, I try to see it as they reviewed this against other Zelda games, and it might have been weak against them, which is still hella strong compared to almost every other game out there. I don't mind having a new evil guy either, I just wish made him a little less... I dunno... creepy. Also if they're saying this is the first game in the timeline will we get an official timeline now?
  • RonnyLive19881 - November 11, 2011 5:50 p.m.

    Confer=Controller Lol posted that from my phone.
  • Transmatrix - November 11, 2011 6:27 a.m.

    So, what does Brett think about the game?
  • pr0tostar - November 11, 2011 6:19 a.m.

    Great review. Honestly the Zelda comparison debates are rubbish. A REAL Zelda fan sees the unique appeal in each of the games. "Legend of Zelda Games are made with love." This has always been true about the series, and will be as long as its headed by those who share Miyamoto's beliefs. You can blame this generation of gamers for not being able to see it, because it's a dying concept driven into the ground by industry marketing.
  • MasterSplinter - November 11, 2011 7:17 a.m.

    Agree, excellent review.And I agree with everything you just said protostar,infact, it leads me onto the thought/debate are games art? Which when I think of the zelda series there is no doubt whatsoever in my opinion, im not saying it isnt true of any other games, but particularly for me the zelda series, well it just seems obscene for anyone to question it.I feel like an idiot for trading in my wii now lol.To me art is presenting yourself emotionally, honestly through your work, & shows your soul in a way words couldn't describe whilst being beautiful enough to capture the imagination of anyone who beholds it.Miyamoto has always pulled this off and i think he deserves even more credit than he actually gets.much as i love gears of war its kinda sad more people probably know who cliff blezinski is but dont know miyamoto. Splinter out
  • Ultimadrago - November 11, 2011 5:23 a.m.

    Not better than even Twilight Princess? Canceling preorder pending...
  • MetaMoss - November 11, 2011 7:24 a.m.

    Don't do it man, other reviews say it could easily beat Ocarina of Time!
  • geeksplosion - November 11, 2011 5:13 a.m.

    Personally, my favorite Zelda of all time is Zelda II: The Adventure of Link.
  • NightCrawler_358 - November 11, 2011 4:42 a.m.

    Oh Come on!! How many games do I have to buy this season? And it comes with a bloody soundtrack!? I need to buy it!! I seriously think that 2011 has been the best year in gaming in a long, long time, if not ever.
  • taokaka - November 11, 2011 3:07 a.m.

    Good review. I'm actually glad to see that this isn't the best Zelda game but for a good reason, which is so I can laugh at my friend who also reads this sight because he read a preview from I think IGN and he wouldn't shut up about how this is going to be the best Zelda game ever. Literally every time I saw him he would say that and now his favourite sight has just swept the rug out from beneath his feet.
  • Arobadope - November 11, 2011 5:10 a.m.

    Read Ign's review then play the game then decide whether it is the best Zelda or not. Also realize it's their own opinion and really most of the reasons the said no as to why it isn't better then wind waker or TP seem a little iffy. WW might have a timeless art style....but so does SS so that bit really makes 0 sense to me in fact SS's art style is basically a better looking version of WW's. As for controls I can't comment one or the other since I haven't played it, but that is also a subject of opinion (like all reviews). Honestly, I feel like GR sometimes tries a bit too hard at being the "troubadors of the unique game" with their professed love of games like Catherine, Okami, Wind Waker, El Shaddai, Muramasa. It seems more like they shout that they love these games just so when they tank they can say "We told you all to buy it so don't bitch at us!" Not taking anything away from GR because I think this site is one of the most objective, I just find it funny how there seems to be that kind of presence here.
  • BladedFalcon - November 11, 2011 10:35 a.m.

    Instead of trying to validate what YOU want to believe from other reviews, why not just wait for the game and decide if it's your favorite Zelda or not? This review already stated that for a lot of people, this is going to be the best Zelda ever, and that's perfectly valid. There's no reason for calling GR's argument's iffy just because you don't agree with them. On that point. SS's art-style is NOT a better looking version of WW's and this not a matter of opinion. The styles themselves are just plainly different: WW is cell shaded, SS is not. A lot will like SS's look better, and that's perfectly valid, but calling it the "same, but better" art style of WW is just plainly misguided and wrong. And lastly... what does GR's reviews on those games you mentioned have anything to do with this game? at this point it just sounded like you were trying to take potshots at the site for random, no-related gripes of yours.
  • SerpentineZERO - November 11, 2011 10:48 a.m.

    BladedFalcon speaks the truth.
  • Darkwun - November 17, 2011 7:04 a.m.

    Damn mate, calm down lol It's easy to poin out the folly of people's arguments (with valid points though I might add) you'll come across sevral shades more hostile if you see the validity in the hypothesis of both your and the interlocuters quarrel. Yes his view his very subjective and based on a game he hasn't played (which I am giddily playing now) a more valid point to make is based on the reviewers perception of previous games, their style versus the subjects own views and perceptions on those games, one could reach a proper consensus on what the game is Reviews are a guide, and will always be, one person's opinion and should be treated as such. I'm having less trouble than in this review, but I consider this a great review. WW is not my favourite, and I do prefer Skyward sword's art style, but I guessed my differences from reading this review. People up in arms about the diffrences should take contrasting opinion into consideration when reading.

Showing 61-80 of 101 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 20 2011 - Wii (US)
Available Platforms: Wii
Genre: Adventure
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Nintendo
Franchise: Legend of Zelda
ESRB Rating:
Everyone 10+: Animated Blood, Comic Mischief, Fantasy Violence
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.