Google+

The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword review

Excellent
Back to Article

101 comments

  • MetroidPrimeRib - November 11, 2011 11:17 a.m.

    This game is better then Skyrim.
  • BladedFalcon - November 11, 2011 11:27 a.m.

    Obvious troll is obvious.
  • MetroidPrimeRib - November 11, 2011 11:51 a.m.

    HURRR YOU DISAGREE WITH MY OPINION YOU MUST BE TROLLING RIGHT GUISE
  • ThisIsMyFuckingThirdAccount - November 11, 2011 5:06 p.m.

    His opinion is that you are trolling. Hypocritical troll is hypocritical.
  • shawksta - November 11, 2011 1:53 p.m.

    I would say Both Skyrim and Skyward Sword are top contenders for GOTY, they play very differently in their own levels.
  • BladedFalcon - November 11, 2011 2:11 p.m.

    That's also how I feel about it. So claiming either one is better than the other outright without even playing them is just plain trolling. And stupid.
  • shawksta - November 11, 2011 3:18 p.m.

    It is, its just better to consider them both great on their own levels without comparisons, their not the same after all. To me, It seems Skyward Sword and Skyrim will be the best buds of GOTY with others aswell, much like how 2010 had Mass Effect 2,Red Dead redemption and Mario Galaxy 2 as the Trio of 2010, their all awesome games, and each very different in their own levels so there's no need to have a comparison.
  • BladedFalcon - November 11, 2011 10:56 a.m.

    Can't say I'm surprised, since Zelda fans are amongst the most loyal, and also among the most irrational. But still, it doesn't make it any less disappointing to read most of the comments so far. "Whaaaaaaaa! you didn't give this a 10 whaaaaaaaaa!" WTF people, you act as if they had given this game a friggin' 6 or something. 9 was, last I remembered, a pretty friggin' great score, far above good games. But nooo, if a site doesn't give the game you have a boner on a perfect score even if you haven't played the game, you will all b*tch even if it got a great score regardless. I know I'm pretty much fighting a losing battle, since this is the Internet. But seriously, to all those whining that the game got a 9, grow up.
  • codystovall - November 11, 2011 11:27 a.m.

    If I were Carolyn Id give it a fukin 7, just to spite these complainers. Shawksta, your fanboyism is so pathetic. You really didnt have to criticize her review.
  • shawksta - November 11, 2011 1:43 p.m.

    I know what your thinking but I didnt criticize it one bit, I respect all her reviews, this one is just as great, I dont care about the score either, im just curious that some vital points im expecting to hear her opinion about arnt there is all.
  • shawksta - November 11, 2011 1:58 p.m.

    We REALLY cant stop it, and lets be honest, nearly EVERY game that didnt get a high score will have people complaing, regular or fanboys. 9 is an awesome score, everyone needs to grow up and learn that just because it didnt score 10 doesnt mean its horrible, it means its the best a game can be that can nearly be a 10 but needs more effort.
  • LOZ4EVAH - November 11, 2011 10:17 a.m.

    Hmmmmmnn......9?
  • BladedFalcon - November 11, 2011 10:44 a.m.

    What's bad about a 9?
  • 510BrotherPanda - November 11, 2011 10:09 a.m.

    But...Can you play with Link left-handed on-screen? That's still the only thing that bugs me: Link's right-handedness in the Wii games. I did not play the Wii version of TP, so this is my first time having to "cope" with it... Replayed WW during the summer. Still as fun and quirky (facial animations and other cute touches) as ever. Also, Midna + Tetra mentions FTW! Nice review, Carolyn.
  • GameManiac - November 11, 2011 10:04 a.m.

    Well, I'll definitely get Skyward Sword. I just wish I was able to get it as a Day 1 purchase.
  • shawksta - November 11, 2011 9:26 a.m.

    I reread the review and saw that the review wasnt really fleshed out. Not that im saying that the review is bad or anything but it seems like you just wrote simple things and stamped it as a review and your barely mentioning the details we wanna hear, what about all the content this game has during and after game, Link being acrobatic with his new 'Run' that makes up for being grounded in usual zelda and how it borrows things from Mario, actually caring about the NPC's(Besides Zelda), and other tidbits, I have heard so much to make me love it more than twilight and thats out,of the question as its better than it and how it set great new standards than any zelda. Im rather dissapointed, the score's good, but the review itself isnt justifiying how great this game truly is, you can do better than this carolyn.
  • shawksta - November 11, 2011 9:27 a.m.

    Still not saying the reviews bad, it was great but you could do better.
  • BladedFalcon - November 11, 2011 10:20 a.m.

    I didn't have a problem with what the review covered, at all. It addresses all the important points concerning the game, and gives the reader a good idea of what the experience will be like. That's the whole point to a review, no? What you're asking is more of a thorough analysis of a game you haven't even played, or a wish list of what YOU wanted to hear.
  • Untarr - November 11, 2011 9:13 a.m.

    I have to agree with others here on Majora's Mask. I still remember the pure elation I felt when the words "Dawn of a New Day" came across the screen. It was easily the most emotionally connected I have ever been to a Zelda game and up there on my all-time list. Other than that, great review, look forward to playing it.
  • onetimebuster - November 11, 2011 8:33 a.m.

    Im going to pick this up when i get more money so many good games this year.
  • RonnyLive19881 - November 11, 2011 7:55 a.m.

    *Ok
  • ncurry2 - November 11, 2011 7:51 a.m.

    I'm not going to complain about the score, as you said everyone has their favorites and this will undoubtedly be some people's favorites. But to only give it 1 page of review (this second page is just the is it better than...) is really disappointing, especially because I only follow 3 gaming websites regularly; this one, IGN, and GameInformer and the other two have both claimed that this is without question the greatest Zelda game ever and thoroughly described why. Idk, I just don't think this did a good job explaining the verdict. You guys are still my favorite of the three though :)
  • Isnogud - November 11, 2011 7:44 a.m.

    Saying that Twilight Princess is better overall and that Wind Waker still looks better graphics wise than Skyward Sword is an insult. Skyward Sword is like IGN said, a masterpiece. (And I HAVE played it thoroughly)

Showing 41-60 of 101 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 20 2011 - Wii (US)
Available Platforms: Wii
Genre: Adventure
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Nintendo
Franchise: Legend of Zelda
ESRB Rating:
Everyone 10+: Animated Blood, Comic Mischief, Fantasy Violence
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.