Google+

The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword review

Excellent
Back to Article

88 comments

  • shawksta - November 11, 2011 9:26 a.m.

    I reread the review and saw that the review wasnt really fleshed out. Not that im saying that the review is bad or anything but it seems like you just wrote simple things and stamped it as a review and your barely mentioning the details we wanna hear, what about all the content this game has during and after game, Link being acrobatic with his new 'Run' that makes up for being grounded in usual zelda and how it borrows things from Mario, actually caring about the NPC's(Besides Zelda), and other tidbits, I have heard so much to make me love it more than twilight and thats out,of the question as its better than it and how it set great new standards than any zelda. Im rather dissapointed, the score's good, but the review itself isnt justifiying how great this game truly is, you can do better than this carolyn.
  • shawksta - November 11, 2011 9:27 a.m.

    Still not saying the reviews bad, it was great but you could do better.
  • BladedFalcon - November 11, 2011 10:20 a.m.

    I didn't have a problem with what the review covered, at all. It addresses all the important points concerning the game, and gives the reader a good idea of what the experience will be like. That's the whole point to a review, no? What you're asking is more of a thorough analysis of a game you haven't even played, or a wish list of what YOU wanted to hear.
  • Untarr - November 11, 2011 9:13 a.m.

    I have to agree with others here on Majora's Mask. I still remember the pure elation I felt when the words "Dawn of a New Day" came across the screen. It was easily the most emotionally connected I have ever been to a Zelda game and up there on my all-time list. Other than that, great review, look forward to playing it.
  • onetimebuster - November 11, 2011 8:33 a.m.

    Im going to pick this up when i get more money so many good games this year.
  • RonnyLive19881 - November 11, 2011 7:55 a.m.

    *Ok
  • ncurry2 - November 11, 2011 7:51 a.m.

    I'm not going to complain about the score, as you said everyone has their favorites and this will undoubtedly be some people's favorites. But to only give it 1 page of review (this second page is just the is it better than...) is really disappointing, especially because I only follow 3 gaming websites regularly; this one, IGN, and GameInformer and the other two have both claimed that this is without question the greatest Zelda game ever and thoroughly described why. Idk, I just don't think this did a good job explaining the verdict. You guys are still my favorite of the three though :)
  • Isnogud - November 11, 2011 7:44 a.m.

    Saying that Twilight Princess is better overall and that Wind Waker still looks better graphics wise than Skyward Sword is an insult. Skyward Sword is like IGN said, a masterpiece. (And I HAVE played it thoroughly)
  • n00b - November 11, 2011 7:38 a.m.

    Carolyn, Carolyn, Carolyn we all know that Majora's Mask is the best zelda game. anyway i might like this one since its different
  • RonnyLive19881 - November 11, 2011 7:13 a.m.

    Well I don't think ill be coming here for a while, how dare you GR... There is just no way Skyrim is better than this. I've been playing it since MIDNIGHT and it just has nothing on Zelda. Also, I lost $200 Frakin dollars all because you guys want an HD Zelda and you probably ly played the game in a poor motion plus environment, /bitching Or after the scolding I have a question, did you play the game with the motion plus add on or a confer with it built in? If so maybe there is less calibration problems with the built in ones. No other reviews mention this problem. Also how is a new bad guy a con?
  • angelusdlion - November 11, 2011 7:21 a.m.

    for crying out loud, A> they gave it a 9 out of ten, that's still an amazing review score. B> they said multiple times the motion control wasn't bad. C> If you're leaving don't let the door hit you in the ass. D> Please try to curb the rampant fanboyism. I'm sure that GR doesn't care if you come to the site or not and that sort of thing honestly makes you look the whiny crybaby.
  • LOZ4EVAH - November 11, 2011 10:14 a.m.

    Dude no one's gonna take you seriously if you look like that in real life. lol
  • RonnyLive19881 - November 11, 2011 4:30 p.m.

    I was just expecting a 10, so much that I lost money on it Lol Now that I'm over it though, I've decided to accept that not every reviewer is the same and just deal with it. Plus I'm way more aggravated at the Giant Turd (bomb) review. Also don't be dissin mah glasses yo Lol
  • ThatGuyFromTV - November 11, 2011 7:40 a.m.

    You forgot to call their sexuality or their mother into question. If you're gonna do fanboy rage, please learn to do it correctly. Also make it a bit more obvious if the rage is supposed to be a joke, I didn't see the "/bitching" the first time I read it. I give this rage a 5 out of 10. /troll Anyway, I try to see it as they reviewed this against other Zelda games, and it might have been weak against them, which is still hella strong compared to almost every other game out there. I don't mind having a new evil guy either, I just wish made him a little less... I dunno... creepy. Also if they're saying this is the first game in the timeline will we get an official timeline now?
  • RonnyLive19881 - November 11, 2011 5:50 p.m.

    Confer=Controller Lol posted that from my phone.
  • Transmatrix - November 11, 2011 6:27 a.m.

    So, what does Brett think about the game?
  • pr0tostar - November 11, 2011 6:19 a.m.

    Great review. Honestly the Zelda comparison debates are rubbish. A REAL Zelda fan sees the unique appeal in each of the games. "Legend of Zelda Games are made with love." This has always been true about the series, and will be as long as its headed by those who share Miyamoto's beliefs. You can blame this generation of gamers for not being able to see it, because it's a dying concept driven into the ground by industry marketing.
  • MasterSplinter - November 11, 2011 7:17 a.m.

    Agree, excellent review.And I agree with everything you just said protostar,infact, it leads me onto the thought/debate are games art? Which when I think of the zelda series there is no doubt whatsoever in my opinion, im not saying it isnt true of any other games, but particularly for me the zelda series, well it just seems obscene for anyone to question it.I feel like an idiot for trading in my wii now lol.To me art is presenting yourself emotionally, honestly through your work, & shows your soul in a way words couldn't describe whilst being beautiful enough to capture the imagination of anyone who beholds it.Miyamoto has always pulled this off and i think he deserves even more credit than he actually gets.much as i love gears of war its kinda sad more people probably know who cliff blezinski is but dont know miyamoto. Splinter out
  • Ultimadrago - November 11, 2011 5:23 a.m.

    Not better than even Twilight Princess? Canceling preorder pending...
  • MetaMoss - November 11, 2011 7:24 a.m.

    Don't do it man, other reviews say it could easily beat Ocarina of Time!

Showing 41-60 of 88 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 20 2011 - Wii (US)
Available Platforms: Wii
Genre: Adventure
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Nintendo
Franchise: Legend of Zelda
ESRB Rating:
Everyone 10+: Animated Blood, Comic Mischief, Fantasy Violence
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.