Google+

The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword review

Excellent
Back to Article

88 comments

  • talleyXIV - November 11, 2011 1:37 p.m.

    I hate when you guys say "This game is awesome, This game is awesome, This game is awesome. Final verdict: 9." This game truly deserves a 10, I can tell from screenshots. I am not even a Zelda fanboy and I can say that this getting a 9 and Saint's Row 3 getting a 10 is pretty silly.
  • TheKey - November 11, 2011 1:56 p.m.

    I thought you had a valid point until you said "This game deserves a 10, I can tell from the screenshots." that's when I disagreed, simply because that's such a flimsy argument.
  • Cyberninja - November 11, 2011 1:14 p.m.

    Honestly i think sometimes people forget games journalists are people with their own opinions, which is why Carolyn says WW is the best 3d Zelda and other people like another game in the series. so i say the best thing to do is shut up and buy the game yourselves then judge if its better or worse than another game in series. also a 9 is a great score which is why a lot of the new games coming out are 9s and 10s. also we all know Brett would have given the game a ten so there is no need to ask about that.
  • KolbitosFruitJuice - November 11, 2011 1:09 p.m.

    Great score, great game. Like Carolyn said, everyone will have a different favorite Zelda game. At the end of the article, she states that the game isn't objectively superior to Windwaker and TP. Which is her opinion. Being a Zelda fan herself, she can't really claim that statement is objective. But you know what? It really doesn't matter. Because this game will be fantastic, and I know I will love it. Will it be my favorite? No, because I am unable to place a single Zelda game in the #1 spot. They are all magical, and do some things better than the other titles of the series. For me it doesn't really matter which one is the best. They are all fantastic. Great review
  • Stridefizzel - November 11, 2011 12:57 p.m.

    I gotta say, I'm a little disappointed with this review. Not the score FYI, a 9 is an awesome score, but just the review itself felt very... off. I usually come to Gamesradar to read a good, quality review with insight into the game that you just don't really find at other sites. This review just felt as if the reviewer had something against the game in a way, the tone was weird. And I think I might know why. I'm sorry, but Wind Waker is the best 3d zelda ever! Are you crazy! That game was good, but it didn't HOLD A CANDLE to ocarina of time! The crappy cartoon graphics were childish, the sailing got REALLY OLD towards the end... sorry to rant but no, just no. OoT is the best, twilight princess and majora's mask are kind of a tie for 2nd and 3rd, it depends on your style with those two games, and WW sits squarely at 4th.
  • TheSatur9 - November 11, 2011 12:43 p.m.

    People seem to be forgetting that WW also received a 9/10.Yet it's almost always referred to as the best 3D Zelda on this site.
  • Zepaw - November 11, 2011 12:39 p.m.

    Twilight Princess still ranks as my favorite Nintendo game. This still seems like a strong game I would love to play through.
  • Ariaka - November 11, 2011 11:54 a.m.

    Not a bad job. Made me really want to delve into a new Zelda, though, and I don't have Skyward Sword preordered. Wind Waker is a favorite of mine, as well, I found the boating kind of fun and it puts a huge emphasis on exploration and the unknown. So is Majora's Mask, because of its uniqueness to the series, and the first step for Eiji to show how he differs from Miyamato in style, and it was a great change in pace. Ocarina of Time was a great first 3D Zelda game, and it will always be remembered for it, but its successors were much more innovative. I accidentally nuked my Twilight Princess save some years ago, so guess I'll pull out the Gamecube and just play the GCN version. Don't have patience for wiggle controls right now XD
  • Ravenbom - November 11, 2011 11:48 a.m.

    WHOA!!! Ms Gudmundson! You lost some personal points with me by claiming Wind Waker the best Zelda! It might be more timeless but the GC controller Zelda makes a strong argument for a N64 3D Zelda for one. I hate both those controllers but the N64 controller is still the best controller for 3D Zeldas. Besides that, Wind Waker loses all it's steam in the final act when it becomes fetch quest time on a mostly featureless expanse of water. Even that wouldn't have been so bad if you didn't have to stop to use the Wind Waker. It would have been excusable if you could just change the wind with the c-stick by that point in the game. I seriously bet 5% of the overall gameplay is in the Wind Waker animation. I still heart you but not as much now.
  • IceBlueKirby - November 11, 2011 11:37 a.m.

    Glad I pre-ordered this, can't wait to grab it.
  • MyCoolWhiteLies - November 11, 2011 11:28 a.m.

    Great review. I skimmed it a bit (trying to avoid knowing much about the game beforehand) but I think I gleaned just enough.
  • marioman50 - November 11, 2011 11:21 a.m.

    "Ghirahim, because he's evil" Oh Carolyn, you so silly!
  • BladedFalcon - November 11, 2011 10:56 a.m.

    Can't say I'm surprised, since Zelda fans are amongst the most loyal, and also among the most irrational. But still, it doesn't make it any less disappointing to read most of the comments so far. "Whaaaaaaaa! you didn't give this a 10 whaaaaaaaaa!" WTF people, you act as if they had given this game a friggin' 6 or something. 9 was, last I remembered, a pretty friggin' great score, far above good games. But nooo, if a site doesn't give the game you have a boner on a perfect score even if you haven't played the game, you will all b*tch even if it got a great score regardless. I know I'm pretty much fighting a losing battle, since this is the Internet. But seriously, to all those whining that the game got a 9, grow up.
  • codystovall - November 11, 2011 11:27 a.m.

    If I were Carolyn Id give it a fukin 7, just to spite these complainers. Shawksta, your fanboyism is so pathetic. You really didnt have to criticize her review.
  • shawksta - November 11, 2011 1:43 p.m.

    I know what your thinking but I didnt criticize it one bit, I respect all her reviews, this one is just as great, I dont care about the score either, im just curious that some vital points im expecting to hear her opinion about arnt there is all.
  • shawksta - November 11, 2011 1:58 p.m.

    We REALLY cant stop it, and lets be honest, nearly EVERY game that didnt get a high score will have people complaing, regular or fanboys. 9 is an awesome score, everyone needs to grow up and learn that just because it didnt score 10 doesnt mean its horrible, it means its the best a game can be that can nearly be a 10 but needs more effort.
  • LOZ4EVAH - November 11, 2011 10:17 a.m.

    Hmmmmmnn......9?
  • BladedFalcon - November 11, 2011 10:44 a.m.

    What's bad about a 9?
  • 510BrotherPanda - November 11, 2011 10:09 a.m.

    But...Can you play with Link left-handed on-screen? That's still the only thing that bugs me: Link's right-handedness in the Wii games. I did not play the Wii version of TP, so this is my first time having to "cope" with it... Replayed WW during the summer. Still as fun and quirky (facial animations and other cute touches) as ever. Also, Midna + Tetra mentions FTW! Nice review, Carolyn.
  • GameManiac - November 11, 2011 10:04 a.m.

    Well, I'll definitely get Skyward Sword. I just wish I was able to get it as a Day 1 purchase.
  • shawksta - November 11, 2011 9:26 a.m.

    I reread the review and saw that the review wasnt really fleshed out. Not that im saying that the review is bad or anything but it seems like you just wrote simple things and stamped it as a review and your barely mentioning the details we wanna hear, what about all the content this game has during and after game, Link being acrobatic with his new 'Run' that makes up for being grounded in usual zelda and how it borrows things from Mario, actually caring about the NPC's(Besides Zelda), and other tidbits, I have heard so much to make me love it more than twilight and thats out,of the question as its better than it and how it set great new standards than any zelda. Im rather dissapointed, the score's good, but the review itself isnt justifiying how great this game truly is, you can do better than this carolyn.

Showing 21-40 of 88 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 20 2011 - Wii (US)
Available Platforms: Wii
Genre: Adventure
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Nintendo
Franchise: Legend of Zelda
ESRB Rating:
Everyone 10+: Animated Blood, Comic Mischief, Fantasy Violence
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.