Google+

Sonic CD review

Back to Article

33 comments

  • middleyjo - November 28, 2013 8:03 p.m.

    hm why did i not see this on the app store? will have to check this out! my comment is classified as spam? :(
  • S0ULEATER - December 16, 2011 10:23 p.m.

    I think I am going to get this because this was the sonic of my childhood. I near had a sega genesis but I did play this on pc, never did beat it though I think I got stuck on the water stage
  • S0ULEATER - December 16, 2011 10:26 p.m.

    derp read the comments guess this was on sega cd makes since in retrospect
  • Nikku7 - December 16, 2011 11:16 p.m.

    Yeah, I remember getting it on the PC when I was really young. I know that I finally made it to the last stage but I don't think I ever beat it. I have been trying to get it to run again for a few years now, but my newer computers don't have all the right components to run it ever.
  • Moondoggie1157 - December 16, 2011 6:03 p.m.

    So I am hearing different things right now. Is Sonic CD being released on PSN on the 20th? Or is that only in the UK? I have heard a few people say it is a XBLA exclusive here in North America. I can't even begin to tell you how much this game means, Sonic babysat me. For real.
  • IceBlueKirby - December 16, 2011 5:36 p.m.

    Sonic CD was so awesome...I don't remember if I ever finished it, but since I just bought it, I can make sure!
  • talleyXIV - December 16, 2011 5:05 p.m.

    Looks like an eye sore. However I always thought that of the Sonic series.
  • Nintygameplayerperson - December 16, 2011 4:58 p.m.

    I have this on Sonic Gems Collection. It's pretty much the only good game on the disc.
  • ThatGamerDude - December 16, 2011 3:57 p.m.

    I've been waiting 9 years to play this game. I must get it as soon as possible!
  • alexfruen - December 16, 2011 2:29 p.m.

    The US soundtrack is NOT vastly inferior. It's a obvious that a gamer will tend to prefer which ever he our she hears first. The US soundtrack is deep and atmospheric (Tidal Tempest Bad Future?! COLLISION CHAOS?!) Nice review non the less!
  • AleeR - December 16, 2011 4:20 p.m.

    Agreed. Having the US soundtrack included is a dealbreaker for me. I understand why people may not like it, but if you played this in American on the Sega CD, it's just not the same without that music.
  • DaveGoose - December 16, 2011 2:09 p.m.

    God Damn Brits and your Sonic love..... Wait a minute? I'm half British.....and I love Sonic... NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOoo (Great Review)
  • WTeen8 - December 16, 2011 1:02 p.m.

    I own the gamecube version on gems collection...didn't care for it too much. Still prefer sonic 2. also this line from the reivew bugs me. "By comparison, Sonic 2 looks like an 8-bit game" Ahem, Sonic CD uses mostly the same graphics from sonic 1, Sonic 2 Improved on sonic ones grpahics....also I find the picture below that paragrpah to have a somewhat 8-bit background...argument invalid, and this is only my opinion so don't hate me.
  • GR_JustinTowell - December 17, 2011 4:56 a.m.

    Maybe I didn't make myself clear. I mean the complexity of level layout. Sonic CD makes Sonic 2 look like Sonic 1 Master System does to MD Sonic 2. That probably made even less sense. Wonderful :)
  • EwoksTasteLikeChicken - December 16, 2011 12:44 p.m.

    Might pick it up in a year once it drops in price and there aren't as many games out.
  • Fuzunga - December 16, 2011 11:55 a.m.

    I had the PC version of this when I was a kid.
  • NelosAngelos - December 16, 2011 11:33 a.m.

    Gah! A blast from my past. I never had it on the Mega drive, but I did have it as a PC version and it was great! I never finished it, being as complex as it was and me being only about 6 years old and just starting to dip my feet into gaming, but I played the hell out of it. I'm glad to see it getting more attention, it really was one of Sonic's best, most unique outings.
  • Galgomite - December 16, 2011 10:43 a.m.

    Very psyched to finally be picking this up-- and with selectable music! In most ways I'd rate this game after Sonic 1 and 2, thanks to long loading times and occasionally ugly graphics, but it's WAY better than Sonic 3, etc. IMHO. But one request, GR: can we have some other editors' opinions of Sonic games? I'm starting to feel like I'm reading a not-so-objective personal blog, since Justin appears to write each and every Sonic article.
  • CancerMan - December 16, 2011 11:35 a.m.

    But Justin knows his s**t! I would prefer to hear his opinion over anyone else where Sonic is concerned.
  • Arucard04 - December 16, 2011 10:02 a.m.

    Sonic 2 is still the best of the series to me but I'm glad to see this game widely available.

Showing 1-20 of 33 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PS3, PC, Xbox 360, iPhone, iPad
Published by: Sega