Google+

Saints Row: The Third review

Back to Article

94 comments

  • kor2disturbed - November 11, 2011 2:15 a.m.

    Along with everyone else, holy shit this got a ten!? Surprising to say the least. Oh, and to the guy buying this over Skyrim: Are you fucking high!? Skyrim offers practically a years worth of content if you want Skyrim, buy Skyrim. I'd understand if you weren't an RPG fan, but for Gods sake man, think about what you're doing!
  • shawksta - November 11, 2011 1:47 a.m.

    Dang didnt expect this but boring side missions is kind of bad, if you dont think its that bad, then ill take it. Makes Carolyns review of SS seem undermade, but regardless still good.
  • Rhymenocerous - November 11, 2011 1:34 a.m.

    And I though San Andreas was too silly... Guess this series isn't for me.
  • Gene - November 11, 2011 1:30 a.m.

    There have been some questionable tens this year (Deus Ex: Human Revolution? Seriously, go back and play it again) and I get the feeling this could be another one. Then again, I'm the kind of dour, humorless protofeminist who'd knock of a point for calling it Whored mode. That kind of thing doesn't sit well with me. The trouble with praising something such as this, and the accompanything score, is the inevitable comparisons. Is it really as good as Skyrim or Arkham City? And beyond that, given you've made that it's as good as GTAIV, will we be seeing it in the top 5 Best Games Ever next time Gamesradar do a list?
  • GamesRadarMichaelGrimm - November 11, 2011 2:01 a.m.

    I hear what you're saying. I could see a lot of what this game does coming off as offensive and crass (it is) for the sake of attention, but in the end I couldn't ignore how much fun I had with it. Everyone that made this has a deep understanding of why most people play sandbox games, and they went out of their way to make the most pure sandbox they could. I have a hard time imaging even GTA V rivaling it on a pure fun standpoint because this game sacrifices its plot and story almost entirely for the sake of a fun game. I'm also the one that gave Deus Ex a ten and that was nearly for a completely opposite reason, in that the adult-minded story and open morality of the game did a lot to offset some its clunkier mechanics. A Ten is more an indication of true excellence within its genre, not a statement that it's better than every game that ever got a nine. For example, I think Citizen Kane and Kung Fu Hustle are amazing films, but I hold them to very different standards. Cheers
  • TomSJ3 - November 11, 2011 9:49 a.m.

    What people need to realize is that just because a game gets as 10, it doesn't mean the game is going to be right for them. Since Gene was bothered by the name of Whored mode, which I personally think is pretty clever, Gene probably wasn't exactly the target audience for Saints Row 3. That doesn't mean that the game deserves a lower score though. Also, comparing Skyrim and Arkham City to SR3 doesn't really make sense because the three games are trying to be completely different things. I'm sure Skyrim received a ten because it is the perfect open world rpg that it could be, and Arkham City is arguably the best comic book superhero game every made. Personally, I probably will enjoy Skyrim and Arkham City more than SR3, but that doesn't mean it deserves to have any points knocked off. It wasn't trying to compete with those two games. What does make sense, however, is comparing SR3 to GTA IV since they are both huge sandbox games that would appeal to the same audience. Also, I feel the need to defend Michael Grimm's decision to give Deus Ex: Human Revolution a 10. I can understand why many people would hate it. It's a bit slow at times, it requires a lot of patience to play stealthily, and the boss fights are difficult, especially if you had only played stealthily until you reached them. I have always been a huge fan of games that you need to play slowly and patiently, where every single move is made carefully and every shot is taken deliberately, so I might be a bit biased towards DX:HR to begin with. However, for what the game wanted to do, which was to be a fun stealth-based shooter with interesting rpg elements and a compelling story, it pulled off these elements perfectly, which is why I believe the 10 is justified.
  • Gene - November 11, 2011 10:47 a.m.

    "It's a bit slow at times, it requires a lot of patience to play stealthily, and the boss fights are difficult, especially if you had only played stealthily until you reached them." I actually didn't have a problem with any of these. I habitually play my games slow (if you were to watch me play Assassin's Creed you'd think it was Silent Hill). I had deeper problems with it, which I could list, but I think Yahtzee's Extra Punctuation covered most of them very well: http://www.escapistmagazine.com/articles/view/columns/extra-punctuation/9115-Extra-Punctuation-What-Human-Revolution-Got-Wrong And, hell, I value 10s very high. It's a good year if there's ONE 10 in the whole year. The last time I felt a game really deserved a 10 was Braid, and possibly Mass Effect 2, although that would be pushing it. But! I'm about to take my first steps into Skyrim. I shall chase a 10...
  • Gene - November 11, 2011 10:43 a.m.

    Thank you. I suppose I disagree with it, but I respect your opinion.
  • juicenpancakes - November 11, 2011 1:23 a.m.

    "Is it better than GTA IV? Tie." Holy sh**, that statement stopped my heart for a second. The whole review was incredible. Is it wrong for me to start wishing for some of these big time games to get bad reviews so I can save a little money? Oh well, I'll add this to the purchase list.
  • spideralex90 - November 11, 2011 12:46 a.m.

    Wow I was not expecting this to get a 10. This looks like a really fun game and I was considering picking it up. But still a 10? GTA5 better get an 11.
  • 435 - November 11, 2011 12:44 a.m.

    I certainly feel good about buying three copies now. :D
  • magic_muffin_man - November 11, 2011 12:34 a.m.

    The Nintendo fanboy in me is weeping that this got a better score than skyward sword. WEEPING. On the other hand, this looks wicked awesome.
  • ThicknSwift - November 11, 2011 12:23 a.m.

    10 out of 10...WOW, I knew SR:TT was gonna be good, but 10 out of 10 good, Glad I'm buying it over skyrim. (Note: I want Skyrim so f*cking much)
  • TriforcePlayer - November 11, 2011 12:16 a.m.

    That first image made laugh longer than I should have.

Showing 81-94 of 94 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 15 2011 - PS3
Nov 15 2011 - PC
Nov 15 2011 - Xbox 360 (US)
Available Platforms: PS3, PC, Xbox 360
Genre: Adventure
Published by: THQ
Developed by: Volition
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Partial Nudity, Strong Language, Sexual Content
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending