Google+

Saints Row IV review

Great
Back to Article

14 comments

  • supersupportsupreme - January 9, 2014 2:51 p.m.

    This is my reason for laughing like a lunatic, the insanity is just enough to keep my therapist away for a month. Enjoyed it, but the negatives that are mentioned...never happened to me, son. Also this game came out 3 days after I was married, which my new wife bought me as a wedding gift.
  • modestcomplexity - September 26, 2013 7:44 p.m.

    I love the ridiculous direction they took this game, it definitely helps the title differentiate itself more from GTA 5 and gives me a legit reason to keep on playing both games. The fun factor for SR4 is off the charts, and really is the perfect thing for when you want just stupid fun. Not in that mood? Then don't play this game, because the it lacks the balance of humor and depth that GTA has. It's a one trick pony but boy what a trick. Last, I loved the soundtrack, only wish it was as expansive as GTA's (it's got about half as many songs). However there were tons of highlights, especially the Mad Decent 106.9 radio station (which is DJ’ed by Riff Raff, a perfectly ridiculous character that fits SR4 to a T) - that station has some great tunes from Diplo, Bonde Do Role, Zed's Dead, etc.
  • ekagrata - September 15, 2013 3:48 p.m.

    I'm not sure if it just me, or if it is just AUS version of the game, it only took me 20:50 hours to complete the game, story line missions and sideline mission. which brings to roughly 80-89% of the game. and some 385-400 of the collectibles, while bouncy from story point to story point, including removal of all the zinyak. I did enjoy it, to the fullest but because of the delay and removal of some of features, I'm yet to think it was best to have paid full price for it. ( that is imho)
  • Pospoon - September 2, 2013 5:31 p.m.

    Excellent game. I never really liked the Saint's Row series too much, but this one definitely hits the right spot. It actually got to the point where I'm hoping Infamous Second Son's gameplay feels as good as the superpowers in this game do. I never get tired of those Super Sprint Melee attacks, it just feels so awesome even after doing it hundreds of times. I was just gonna rent this from Redbox then move on but I went out and paid full price after I was already halfway through on the rental. This may even end up my game of the year, it's just damn fun.
  • The_Ouroboros - August 30, 2013 9:40 p.m.

    To say the story missions weren't memorable is so far from the mark I had to reread that to make sure. Most of them were longstanding characters' own personal hells, which made for so many callbacks to old characters and moments I was consistently pleasantly surprised. Everything to do with Keith David all the way up until getting his Lando Calrissian outfit was excellent. I didn't even know *redacted* was in the game but that made it all the better. The only missions I didn't enjoy (not really spoilers as both were in the trailers) were the MechAssault missions and the Giant Saints Flow Can fight. But even the story behind why you fight that thing is chuckle-worthy. You see Shujinko again, I mean come on! Maero becomes a Homie. There are more homages to the earlier games then there were to pop culture. Not true, but close. Speaking of the Homies... I was hoping that this site, above all others, would point out that the Homies all have independent dialogue with each other any time you take two of them out on together. Whenever you're free roaming, just click two different ones from your phone and even if they're dead, or a gang leader who was brought down, they'll talk with any other character and some of these have been absolutely phenomenal. They'll talk personal shortcomings that lead to their demise, or why they think that the leader of the Saints is the worst problem of them all, or just hear Keith David talking to Pierce about intergalactic peace and the impossibility of it all since no cultures can get along without bloodshed. Definitely fleshes out the little down time there is. If anything, going for 100% is tricky purely because of the challenges you have to farm, like 2 hours in an alien spacecraft, gtfo of here. I'm still doing it though, 99% is bugging me. But if you liked the other games, this game IS for you.
  • muhammad-ijaz - August 22, 2013 12:23 a.m.

    I love this games information and I have just Still waiting for a sequel to SR2. <a href="http://racingtopgames.com">Racing Games</a> <a href="http://www.onlinegamesvilla.com">Online Games</a>
  • usmovers_02 - August 18, 2013 8:37 p.m.

    Still waiting for a sequel to SR2 :(
  • g1rldraco7 - August 14, 2013 2:55 p.m.

    Makes me want to play the games more thanks for the review
  • avedon-arcade - August 14, 2013 10:12 a.m.

    I'd say that's pretty much on par with how I felt when I initially played it at E3. It's a shame about there not being such pivotal moments in the game though. This is low on my list though but will eventually pick up.
  • rainn'sgaydar - August 14, 2013 10:03 a.m.

    I held off on SR3 until it was free on PS+, so it's really fresh for me. And I'm loving it so much that I was considering buying 4 at full price, which I rarely so anymore. This makes me a little more hesitant, but I'm sure I'll love it when I do eventually buy it. After all, 8 is great. 8 just also means I don't have to play it right away.
  • antiAntag0nist - August 14, 2013 8:24 a.m.

    You know what they say, 8 is great. It's a little disappointing to read that the story missions are a bit lacking. One issue that I had with SR: The Third was that there weren't as many story cutscenes compared to the previous games; I also didn't like that Activities were made to be regular missions for part of the game. Nonetheless, I am looking forward to playing this.
  • Talvari - August 14, 2013 6:35 a.m.

    Awesome. Very much looking forward to getting this. You know the devs have confidence in their game when the reviews are let out a week in advance :D Sounds like everything saints row 3 was...but better.

Showing 1-14 of 14 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Aug 20 2013 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC (US)
Aug 23 2013 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Genre: Action
Published by: Deep Silver
Developed by: Volition
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Intense Violence, Partial Nudity, Strong Language, Use of Drugs, Sexual Content

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.