Google+

Pokemon HeartGold/SoulSilver review

Back to Article

48 comments

  • Felixthecat - March 11, 2010 9:37 p.m.

    Fuck yeah! Michael Grimm review's are the best! Anyways, I was on the fence over this, I have loved Pokemon ever since Yellow and I was incredibly excited for HG/SS. Sadly, my excitment got kinda shallow for some reason, but now I'm probably gonna buy it, even though Red Steel 2 comes out on exactly the same day in Britian... I'll just buy both.
  • GamesRadarMichaelGrimm - March 11, 2010 8:55 p.m.

    @ Ravenbom Yeah :( Carolyn just finished reviewing FFXIII so it wasn't possible for her to squeeze HG/SS into her schedule. She remains the Pokemon Master!
  • Ravenbom - March 11, 2010 8:19 p.m.

    Pokemon review with no Carolyn?
  • Pocotron - March 11, 2010 8:13 p.m.

    @McSpermie Nothing, I just wanted to say it. But I fail to see how my comment could be viewed as childish. Fanboyish, perhaps, but not childish.
  • Yaro - March 11, 2010 6:12 p.m.

    Also functions as a Max Repel against random girl encounters Gotta love that comment. =)
  • Xplosive59 - March 11, 2010 4:22 p.m.

    how can you put one of the bad points is that it isthe same as gsc, gsc was the best era of pokemon in my oppinion and i strongly believe the pokemon games after were severly laking in comparison. the gsc era games are my absolute favourite so this is an instant buy.
  • TheRussianConcussion - March 11, 2010 6:48 a.m.

    How come Brett Elston didn't review this? I would've liked to hear his opinion. Good review regardless.
  • Mitchy13LAMF - March 11, 2010 5:55 a.m.

    nniiiiicceeee!!! sooo stoked! now kids will learn what real pokemon are not like the new other one. they really dont look like pokemon at all
  • Cwf2008 - March 11, 2010 4:22 a.m.

    Heres a complaint i have with it mentioning the generation 5 pokemon game...those damn japs will be getting the games years before we in the States do, and i sure as hell dont know how to read Japanese. reCAPTCHA: flamed hope...yes i did
  • Cwf2008 - March 11, 2010 4:14 a.m.

    I dont care how similar this is to the Gold and Silver or past ones, thats what makes it great. How can you improve on an already great game? I'll be surprised if i dont put another 100+ hours into this game...cant wait for its release
  • Fuzunga - March 11, 2010 4:09 a.m.

    I think it should get bonus points for being identical to the original.
  • CrashmanX - March 11, 2010 4:04 a.m.

    @OnyxOblivion, have fun with your super bubbly Pokemon Amethyst and Topaz >_> Anyways, about the article. I have already played the JAP version and must say it is exactly what I expected, in both good and bad ways. Good because its Pokemon Gold and Silver all over again, bad because the encounter rate seems to be through the roof.
  • OnyxOblivion - March 11, 2010 3:56 a.m.

    Gets better every series. The originals are the worst, imo.
  • GameManiac - March 11, 2010 3:37 a.m.

    I'm already a die-hard, everlasting Pokemon fan as it is (with a stalwart sense of control, so as to not go overboard), regardless of what ignorant people say, ever since playing Pokemon Blue, and progressing on with the series. Since 2nd Gen is the series I've played the least on, I've already pre-ordered it (along with the hundreds of thousands of other people). Still eagerly awaiting 5th generation though, although I still question if this rumor of it being a "rebirth to the series" (I heard it on an article on Bulbapedia) is true or not. I only wish I knew... I wonder if PokeWalker will work for the future generations?
  • McSpermie - March 11, 2010 2:38 a.m.

    What does my name have to do with what I am saying? It is irrelevant.
  • MrDuracraft - March 11, 2010 2:15 a.m.

    I think I'll hold off getting a new pokemon game until the 5th generation. I hope that they still have the following pokemon feature though (arguably one of my favorite parts of Yellow). Right now, I'm waiting for Galaxy 2.
  • Pocotron - March 11, 2010 2:07 a.m.

    @McSpermie Really, your name just... I'M the childish one here? ...McSpermie he says...
  • CH3BURASHKA - March 11, 2010 1:40 a.m.

    Red/Blue are the only real ones. They've been lying to you for more than a decade!
  • Cyberninja - March 11, 2010 1:33 a.m.

    i am already geting ss on sunday and i want to know can i put pokemon on the pokewalker and transfer them to a new game and if i can how many can i put on it?
  • McSpermie - March 11, 2010 1:27 a.m.

    I agree with Pocotron (though less childishly) and nik. If someone has never played pokemon before and asked you which one to play, you would say HG/SS in a second. Why not just give it a 9?

Showing 21-40 of 48 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 14 2010 - DS (US)
Mar 26 2010 - DS (UK)
Available Platforms: DS
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Game Freak
ESRB Rating:
Everyone
PEGI Rating:
3+