Google+

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 review

Back to Article

75 comments

  • hobojesse - November 10, 2009 11:54 a.m.

    I'm sorry, but if your on the first page and live in the States, you can't say the game didn't deserve a 10. It wasn't available until midnight, and all of the comments on the first page were made before that. play it before you judge it. the reviewer clearly enjoyed the game and believed it was a very strong game. whether or not it deserves a 10, I'm waiting until I gtemy hands on the game before I decide.
  • gamesradar_george1 - November 10, 2009 11:35 a.m.

    Just to clarify and answer a few comments here - this review is based solely from the console version. As far as I'm aware no-one on GR has played the PC version yet so we can't comment or criticize until then. We, will, of course have a review of the PC game once we've had access to it.
  • cabrerajuan - November 10, 2009 5:26 a.m.

    haha metacritic didn't use the "Just for you metacritic" section.
  • IHazCheezburger - November 10, 2009 4:22 a.m.

    I honestly am not sure how I feel about this game getting a 10. I believed it was going to get a 9. And this isn't criticism, I've been looking forward to playing this for a while, and will be getting it tomorrow. I think it's just an issue with relative ratings of sequels. Because if this was CoD4 (ie MW1 never existed, and this was the first Modern Warfare game in the CoD series) I'd probably think this game deserved an 11. But because it IS a sequel and didn't really introduce revolutionary change, does it really deserve a 10? I mean, like the reviewer said, IW could have just changed a few things, added new maps and guns and everyone would have been satisfied. Yet while that might be sufficient, is that really "Incredible?" I'm not so sure... I think in order for a sequel to warrant a 10 it really ought to have done something radical and "incredible" with the direction of the series (like RE4 or CoD4 did), rather than just expanding on an already successful formula (even if there are a lot of good additions in this iteration). Anyways, just my 20 cents, thanks for the review.
  • Sebastian16 - November 10, 2009 4:07 a.m.

    "To try and argue differently would make you look like a massive clown." Henceforth, GR no longer holds a place in my heart. "No 'look round a corner' move" IT'S NOT BALANCED FOR LEAN!
  • gogo65uk - November 10, 2009 2:53 a.m.

    It says nothing of the 6 hour campaign mode but its still quite good. And match making can be a bit of a pain I was lvl 1 and was pitched against lvl 20s + and a lvl 45 + 50. There was never any doubt it would have got less than 10 to be fair.
  • UndyingReaver - November 10, 2009 1:34 a.m.

    RAW! get to rank up all over again :P
  • RabidCabbage - November 10, 2009 1:08 a.m.

    Cyberninja- Well, the reviewer thinks it's great, and worth a 10, but he's finished it. I think the rest of us should reserve judgement until playing it. Until that time I will assume the GR staff have enough journalistic integrity to be able to ignore the "hype train" and score games fairly and accurately.
  • Cyberninja - November 10, 2009 12:42 a.m.

    codmw2 got a 10 big shocker there does it desevere it no probaly not there are so many more desevering games that dont already ride a hype train that you guys could be covering dont let them be the next okami but thats my 2 cents everyone else probaly thinks this great
  • bernie10 - November 10, 2009 12:32 a.m.

    any word on how much Activision is going to be making off of this game?
  • kissmeimgreek - November 10, 2009 12:23 a.m.

    you guys sure have given a lot of games 10s this year... I only see that as a good thing though.
  • Romination - November 10, 2009 12:22 a.m.

    i'm complaining about the articles on digg thing. i liked the similar articles better. I got to see some cool old stuff that i never knew was on the site. i'm not talking about the review because...who's surprised?
  • tirrandir - November 10, 2009 12:12 a.m.

    Glad to see this is as awesome as everyone hoped it would be. I probably will never play it. I tried to play COD4 a while back and realized that I really am just not made for shooters. But it's nice to have the huge release of the fall be a quality game.
  • sniper430 - November 10, 2009 12:10 a.m.

    Only read the end, don't want any spoilers, thanks for the final thoughts though, gives me even more confidence in this game

Showing 61-75 of 75 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 10 2009 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC (US)
Nov 10 2009 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Activision
Developed by: Infinity Ward
Franchise: Call of Duty
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Language
PEGI Rating:
18+