Google+

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 review

Back to Article

75 comments

  • magicwalnuts0 - November 10, 2009 7:57 p.m.

    No mention of campaign length okay.... Too bad I was boycotting this game anyway.
  • SuperBadnik - November 10, 2009 6:15 p.m.

    Uh, i'm sick of hearing about this overrated same-as-the-rest game.
  • ksquared - November 10, 2009 4:51 p.m.

    How does a game that has minimal graphical updates to an already aging engine(oooo swirly smoke) and "frustrating and irritating AI" get a perfect score? Perhaps its only worth 40 bucks, definitely not 60
  • axis56 - November 10, 2009 3:31 p.m.

    calm down, play it, judge it, carry on your life. thats what the reviewers done and its what you should too before going off on one with no idea of what the game is like in entirity. might get it, usually skeptical but ill wait around see what my friends say hu are equally skeptical as me usually and then go from there. ReCaptcha: Ams Whelked
  • Amatarasu - November 10, 2009 5:51 a.m.

    not commparing it to cod:waw? oh well, my argument on how much better it is than cod4 ends now but....ARE...THERE....AL KEIDA ZOMBIES?! that is the one dam thing i have said over and over again, no one ansers these things!
  • key0blade - November 10, 2009 4:17 a.m.

    Wow, just...wow.
  • Cwf2008 - November 10, 2009 4:08 a.m.

    Dammit i had to read the whole thing! Now i know some of the plot...Son of a bitch
  • Megajamz - November 10, 2009 3:14 a.m.

    far toooo good already hammering multiplayer goty in my opinion
  • Samael - November 10, 2009 3:03 a.m.

    Cool. I'll rent it, thoroughly enjoy what looks like some incredible (if over the-top) single-player and never play it again. Far too many more interesting game scoming out these days.
  • michaelmcc827 - November 10, 2009 1:19 a.m.

    agreed
  • wiitard07 - November 10, 2009 1:18 a.m.

    At first I was skeptical about this game thinking it would just be a re-skin of COD4. Then I heard about this strange new custom kill streak feature, new killstreak options and especially the Spec Ops mode. I think I will enjoy Assassin's Creed two overall more but think that I will get a helluva lot more playtime of this. L4D2 will be great also. Haters fuck off
  • Gotxxrock - November 10, 2009 12:19 a.m.

    Meh. No server support for PC, no point in buying. Whats the point of a multiplayer game without community involvment? I guess I'll just buy it for the 360 then.
  • Mags172 - November 10, 2009 12:10 a.m.

    The game looks amazing, but I can't get it until Christmas. Can't wait to play it.
  • banjokazoozie - November 10, 2009 6:49 p.m.

    just got a copy of this today on ps3 for £26 shame i have to wait till cristmas till get a ps3 :(
  • crumbdunky - November 10, 2009 6:38 p.m.

    Didn't read like the review for an alledgedly perfect game to me-and having NEVER played any game I'd give 10/10 I must say every 10/10 score confuses me a little. However, when I recall the reviews for the likes of GTA4(which most reviewers went perfect over)I rememver them being a lot more gushing than this, saying how much MORE and BETTER than the previous game in the series or last great in the genre they were. Bottom line, from mates who've now finished it(I won't be buying into IW and Activision after they scalped us in the EU in the name of ripping gamers off eberywhere next time, being homophobic in promos, lying about WHY they did what they did to PC gamers, saying they hate fanboys but being on record bitching about the PS3 and being close to Kotick among a host of other gamers hrming activities-seriously-they did a proper divide and rule in the name of even higer profits and giving us all crappier multiplayer in future)in SP and played a decent amount in the co-op and mp they reckone it's a good game, even a great one in some areas but basically just more of the same with a crap story. There's no technical advance, it's got the same shoddy AI and there's NO innovation(which apparently killed KZ2 EVERYWHERE!)whatsoever-and this is coming from mates who are mssive fanboys of the MW/COD franchise(and who STILL bought the game despite my endless messages about how they were helping Acti bend over the gakming commmunity and "were they proud f that?"). I'm sure it IS a good game and I'd love to be playing a little bit with you(though only a little as COD controls bore me silly with their two minute learning curve-where's the challenhe?)but I'm just not buying perfect-well, in fact I'm not buying at all as already EA are looking to follow Actis lead in shafting us by culling new IP-we should have stood up together over what they were doing wrong, imo. We didn't and now they know they can teat us like cack and we'll still turn up like giddy, hyperventilating schoolgirls at a JT gig for the midnight launch. Why didn't we stand up over the EU hike or for PC gamers? Why? Because the game's perfect?
  • Dexsus - November 10, 2009 4:48 p.m.

    Ok, I haven't played this myself and have no intention to at least until the price goes down, but did anyone and I mean anyone doubt that this would have gotten anything but a 10?
  • ksquared - November 10, 2009 4:28 p.m.

    Ill wait for bad company 2
  • FreekinIdiot - November 10, 2009 2:34 p.m.

    Amazing. God I wish I wasn't so skint, looks like i'm going to have to call Tyrone and see if he'll let me turn tricks again in order to afford this one.
  • Wiggs3 - November 10, 2009 1:07 p.m.

    Personally, I couldn’t care less about the one player campaign! The last two CoD games have been all about the online multiplayer mode, and in my opinion - no other online game comes close to MW2 (or any other CoD game for that matter). I played online until 4am on its release, and I just can’t believe how good it is. It’s everything I wanted CoD4 to be. I much preferred the weapons in CoD4 and the level design (size) of WaW, and MW2 combines both these elements perfectly. I thought the review was great.
  • deedob - November 10, 2009 12:40 p.m.

    huh... ODST was made in a single year. MW2 took about twice as long, at minimum. Even Halo: Reach was started before ODST... They are not made by the same Bungie "team". So no, MW2 should not be compared to ODST for the length of development, as is mentionned in the article. Just sayin'

Showing 41-60 of 75 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 10 2009 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC (US)
Nov 10 2009 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Activision
Developed by: Infinity Ward
Franchise: Call of Duty
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Language
PEGI Rating:
18+