Google+

Modern Combat: Domination review

AT A GLANCE
  • Incredibly cheap price
  • Plenty of multiplayer modes
  • Decent graphics
  • Nothing new here
  • Mishmash game design
  • Online disadvantage when using Move

Modern Combat: Domination’s actual value is somewhat difficult to quantify. The game is basically a budget Call of Duty clone and considering that the gaming market is already drowning in first-person shooters, it really begs the question: why the hell do we need another Call of Duty clone? While MCD sells at an incredibly affordable $7.99 (seriously, you can find food items at your local Taco Bell that are more expensive than this game), the title is simply a hodgepodge of game designs from other, better shooters.

MCD is strictly a multiplayer experience, so only competitive FPS fans need apply; however, that’s not to say that it skirts on content. In truth, MCD offers a great deal considering the budget price and, graphically, it’s surprisingly solid. The game includes five maps and six multiplayer modes. These multiplayer modes run the gamut of what gamers have come to expect from a $60 FPS with your standard team deathmatch and free-for-all along with objective-based game types like Boom and Bust (one team tries to set off a bomb while the other defends), Escort (kill the opposing team’s leader), Extraction (capture the flag), and Domination (territories).

The online play is a cross between the first Modern Warfare’s leveling system and Counter-Strike’s money system. In a nutshell, as you play through matches, you will gain experience to level up and unlock items to customize your character loadout; however, you start off each match with a set amount of money to buy said items and killing enemy players will allot you more money to buy more stuff. If this sounds goofy to you, that’s because it is. This zany design choice means that newcomers will need to log in some serious hours before they are even given the option to buy different types of gear.

The chief selling point of MCD is that it is Move compatible and, to be honest, it works perfectly. The motion controls are incredibly tight and responsive. MCD also supports standard controllers that mimic the button layout from recent CoD titles, so Modern Warfare fans will feel right at home. Unfortunately, this means that Move players will be getting their asses handed to them more often than not. The sad truth is that no matter how good the precision is for the Move, it just doesn’t match the speed and accuracy of a good old-fashioned controller.

In terms of low-budget games, you could do way worse than MCD. If you’re one of the sad few who has missed out on the Modern Warfare craze due to financial issues or you simply want another game that’s Move compatible, then MCD should fit well within your budget. The game isn’t spectacular, but it has enough bells and whistles to keep you occupied.

Jan 31, 2011

More Info

Release date: Jan 18 2011 - PS3 (US)
Jan 18 2011 - PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Gameloft
Developed by: Gameloft
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Blood, Violence
PEGI Rating:
16+

16 comments

  • potpan0 - February 7, 2011 5:38 p.m.

    I'm always causious of downloadable multiplayer games. They may be really good, but most likely, after a month or two, barely anybody will be online.
  • InFeRnOg - February 2, 2011 5:11 a.m.

    Definitely don't agree with the score for this. I got it for $6 as a PS+ member and I have Move - it works beautifully. It feels fantastic. I highly recommend picking this up, particularly if you have Move. I don't agree with GR either about Move players at a disadvantage. I pick guys off from afar, I circle them and they're still slowly turning as I pump them full of holes. Set the sensitivity down all the way or near the bottom depending how you play and have fun!
  • Zepaw - February 1, 2011 4:03 p.m.

    "seriously, you can find food items at your local Taco Bell that are more expensive than this game" Not true.
  • gazdog9 - February 1, 2011 3:59 p.m.

    Might give the demo a try . I downloaded the demo for Breach on the 360 and I didn't like it at all . I find that I'm playing COD less and I like the idea of a stripped down multiplayer . MOH has this and even though it's not perfect (by a long shot) it feels like a "purer" multiplayer experience
  • KnightDehumidifier - February 1, 2011 1:34 p.m.

    Man those Chinese bootleggers that sold those knockoff Prada bags a while back seem to have gotten into the gaming industry. Good for them.
  • AlphaAGENT144 - February 1, 2011 12:14 p.m.

    for 7 dollars why would you not buy something worth it, like Counter Strike or, even if you had an extra few bucks, TF2, your waaay more likely to get more fun out of it
  • mrmorozov987 - February 1, 2011 3:01 a.m.

    See, when Gameloft brings one of their "franchises" from the iPhone to a console, everyone realizes how pointless and poorly made their titles are. There is absolutely zero reasons why this game should exist. Gameloft, stick to Poker games on mobile phones, and leave the actual game developing to people who care about it. While your at it, grab the slightest sliver of ambition, will ya?
  • keltar93 - February 1, 2011 2:44 a.m.

    Gameloft should stick to iPhone for their fun knockoffs, where the original doesn't exist
  • EnragedTortoise1 - February 1, 2011 2:31 a.m.

    But the review itself makes it sound like a six or seven at the least, especially with the low price point.
  • 4fromK - February 1, 2011 2:27 a.m.

    This game is baiscally summed up by a large, impact font "MEH" so 5 is the perfect score; this game is 5 incarnate.
  • mastersword369 - February 1, 2011 2:15 a.m.

    Tortise, it's not a low score unless you rate by the "7-10 scale".
  • FOZ - February 1, 2011 2:12 a.m.

    Review doesn't really match with the score. How bad could a CoD clone be, seeing as the real CoD is now an unbalanced caricature of itself?
  • ChiefLethal - February 1, 2011 2:12 a.m.

    A 5 seems a bit harsh.
  • AleeR - February 1, 2011 2:04 a.m.

    Played the demo, and it was decent. But when I think of paying even $8, I feel I'd rather go back to a game that does it better, like Counter-Strike.
  • EnragedTortoise1 - February 1, 2011 2:01 a.m.

    And yes, I have played it.
  • EnragedTortoise1 - February 1, 2011 1:57 a.m.

    Honestly, for eight bucks, it's at least a seven and a half for me. What caused you to rate it so low? I know it's a COD clone, but that doesn't make it bad..

Showing 1-16 of 16 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.