Google+

Metro 2033 review

Back to Article

31 comments

  • HankVenture - March 12, 2011 5:52 p.m.

    The shooting does suck and the guns sorta blow it shouldn't take 2 shotgun shells to bring down one of those dog things within the second chapter. But the atmosphere is great, I have honestly jumped already. The Graphics can get pretty rough but still beautiful, and the audio bothers me, it's hard to hear one person talk at times due to them being to quiet or having a bustling market all around me, along with the monsters don't make a ton of noise when attacking. There are also some flaws like you pointed out, but those can be forgiven, especially for the sequel. I will be a buyer of Metro 2034
  • JCBlueNose2011 - February 13, 2011 3:14 p.m.

    Played and completed this game and I found it to be a decent game with challenging tasks, amazing graphics and a good storyline can't wait for the sequel.
  • Tygerclaws - May 14, 2010 6:02 a.m.

    After having just beaten the game, I honestly don't see what's wrong with the shooting. Yes, it's difficult to aim. Yes, it takes a lot of ammo to kill a nosalis. So? You're not exactly under ideal circumstances, fighting ideal enemies. I thought that it was nearly perfect, for what it was. So, it didn't control like Halo. Boohoo. Immersion is the name of the game, and I don't know about you guys, but I can't aim a gun perfectly while under stress, wearing a gasmask, carrying thirty or more pounds of gear, while freezing. >.>
  • tororosso - May 1, 2010 11:37 a.m.

    This game deserves 9 across the board. Very well executed game. I took one of review's comments and decided to bring it to this page as well because it tryely describe in detail the main intention of this type of game. TxTotally - wrote "Really fun and unique game. The shooting mechanics would be a big problem if that was what the game was focused on but it is not. This game is all about atmosphere and an immersive quality caused by no indicators or hud to let you know ahead of time what to do with the gasmask for instance. Instead you have to listen to subtle things like your characters breathing and the flashlight gradually dimming to cue you to change your filters or charge your batteries. I highly recommend Metro 2033 to anyone who loves games like Bioshock and is not so worried about the shooting but more interested in a unique world and atmosphere that sucks you in. This is not CoD and you are not a special forces bada** so the gunplay actually fits the concept of the story and your character. I have played about halfway through and I actually stopped because I do not want the experience to end. These kinds of games are rare in their new fresh feeling that comes from feeling like you have never played anything quite like this." The story of this game was treated with care and attention. Everything from pacing of the story to the mood to environment of game world as a whole truly worked perfectly. I've played with their other game S.T.A.L.K.E.R and theres a lot of similarities between the two. But one difference in stalker is in 1 hr of gameplay there's 15 mins of magic/quality experience.. but with Metro2033 entire game was Deep in immersive journey. I havent experienced in a game since Half Life 2.. and that was decades ago! (PC)(Surround sound) Story: 89 Gameplay: 85 Video:95 PC Audio:100 Overall: 94 take note... in order to get same experience i had with the game.. played in darkness..alone.. surround set up using speakers not headphones btw if possible PC with gfx settings to High across the board. xbox 360 bit ugly face value but hooked up in darkroom w/ 5.1 sound immersiveness still possible
  • ProphetZarquon - April 13, 2010 8:58 p.m.

    Recently picked up the game after reading your review, you summed it up perfectly! Cheers
  • kellen2000 - March 30, 2010 11:56 a.m.

    I was on the fence about purchasing this game, I've read a few reviews and seen a few videos. This review really puts me over the edge, I'm most likely going to get it now, I just wish I could play a demo first, just to make sure.
  • Anonymous93 - March 29, 2010 4:44 p.m.

    When did this become a 360 exclusive or is it just a timed exclusive?
  • shadowskater - March 21, 2010 12:58 a.m.

    the game was very good gameplay wise, and it also has very good graphics. very few games have limited hud this one pulled it off great textures looked good, even up close although the guns and hands looked small (knives were bigger than guns and so were hands when knife was equipped) the game was over all fun as hell to play although very short at on 6-14 hours of game play it a game you would want to play in one sitting its short enough to do it very creepy plot plays good and fits both the game and the book. if you havent read or played the game i suggest you do your missing out otherwise
  • juicenpancakes - March 21, 2010 12:35 a.m.

    Why is this review not on Metacritic?
  • rabidbutcher - March 20, 2010 11:27 p.m.

    I just threw the disk into my xbox, thanks to this review I'll know a little more of what's in store for me. Kind of disappointed about the shooting bit, but I suppose I'll get over it.
  • TxTotally - March 17, 2010 8:19 p.m.

    Really fun and unique game. The shooting mechanics would be a big problem if that was what the game was focused on but it is not. This game is all about atmosphere and an immersive quality caused by no indicators or hud to let you know ahead of time what to do with the gasmask for instance. Instead you have to listen to subtle things like your characters breathing and the flashlight gradually dimming to cue you to change your filters or charge your batteries. I highly recommend Metro 2033 to anyone who loves games like Bioshock and is not so worried about the shooting but more interested in a unique world and atmosphere that sucks you in. This is not CoD and you are not a special forces bada** so the gunplay actually fits the concept of the story and your character. I have played about halfway through and I actually stopped because I do not want the experience to end. These kinds of games are rare in their new fresh feeling that comes from feeling like you have never played anything quite like this.
  • crumbdunky - March 17, 2010 10:39 a.m.

    Was excited. Still think the premise is great. However, GR, that shooting IS crap and unforgivable and the presentation(on PC AND 360) is so up and down it's amazing. Sadly, it's a rental and I wanted to love it.
  • w40kfanatic - March 17, 2010 12:25 a.m.

    i cant wait for this game, im getting it this week. i would like to see a rating on the shooting. on a scale of 1-10, what would it be? this wont, in any way, affect how much i want this game, i just want to know so i can be prepared for it.
  • Failureisinevitable - March 16, 2010 10:11 p.m.

    This game looks epic. I've been waiting for it since I first saw the article in my GI. I think the lack of a HUD (but there is a crosshair, sadly) makes this one of the most immersive games I've ever seen. I can't wait to play it, and I don't care much for the gunplay. I just like the way the situations sound like edge-of-the-seat gameplay.
  • maudier - March 16, 2010 9:52 a.m.

    www.ihatesara.com/?mylink=8c0a 2a9669214e05
  • Tochy - March 16, 2010 3:31 a.m.

    damn,wish i had a xbox 360
  • barrage7667 - March 15, 2010 11:48 p.m.

    @noobeater cause he probably sucks at it and is not used to the slightly different look and feel and gameplay, i know i sucked at it at first
  • noobeater - March 15, 2010 6:58 p.m.

    how can anyone not enjoy bioshock letfy?? for me the second one had the best last hour/ending out of any game i have ever played
  • feeheelee - March 15, 2010 6:36 p.m.

    Can't see a demo doing it justice, especially if the shooting is a ropey as described here. Mtero 2033 has truly come out of left field and is looking really, really good!! I for one am surprised but pleasantly so. The world needs more games like this, by this I mean Half Life!
  • FreekinIdiot - March 15, 2010 5:54 p.m.

    I agree with all of the above, so glad this game got a good review, it looks so promising.

Showing 1-20 of 31 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 16 2010 - Xbox 360, PC (US)
Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360, PC
Genre: Shooter
Published by: THQ
Developed by: 4A-Games
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Drugs, Violence
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending