Google+

Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker super review

Back to Article

25 comments

  • Darkhawk - January 24, 2011 5:43 a.m.

    So, wait... Just to clarify: Can you play the narrative in single player, then activate online multiplayer for a boss? Or do you need to play through the whole campaign in multiplayer in order to co-op against the bosses.
  • spacemonkey086 - August 10, 2010 5:44 a.m.

    lol I still think the original for psx was the best all around. I didn't like that they turned mgs4 into an action game.
  • stiliom - July 7, 2010 2:49 p.m.

    hi, i found a another great review. Check it. http://www.gladriel.com/reviewFull/content/2771/Metal-Gear-Solid-History/
  • ScruffMoney - June 13, 2010 2:14 a.m.

    PS. Does anyone ever use all 5000 characters?
  • ScruffMoney - June 13, 2010 2:14 a.m.

    Hey, I'll have you know me and my cousin went on a blind date and it wasn't awkward at all! We got married, just like our inbred parents before us, and our children love their flippers! As a PSP owner, and confused Metal Gear fan I'm definitely going to buy this... when I get some money. You see, I'm a poor college student, but I have a dream! One day, I will work a job where I make more than 9 dollars (Canadian) an hour and I will be able to pull my money sock out from under the mattress in my trailer and afford to purchase this! I WILL SUCCEED! The black man can't hold us down forever! We will have our day! Wait... I'm Canadian...
  • lovinmyps3 - June 12, 2010 5:37 p.m.

    I will definitely have to dust off my PSP. Portable Ops is one of the only two PSP games I bought (other was Monster Hunter, ironically), and I just love Metal Gear!!
  • philipshaw - June 11, 2010 9:57 a.m.

    Good review and I get this game on the day I get a operation on my nose, the pain will be worth it to get a new MGS
  • BlackElement17 - June 10, 2010 11:10 p.m.

    To bad I'm PSPless
  • Arucard04 - June 10, 2010 10:37 p.m.

    After playing it, I'd have to say it's the second best in the entire series for me, only bested by the brilliance of MGS3. I've seen more than one reviewer make similar claims. This game is amazing. Also: Ac!d 1 (but mostly 2) were amazing games.
  • Cyberninja - June 10, 2010 10:24 p.m.

    yes webswinger i just beat a tank that way and it was hard as a rock. but this game is still realy fun most of my week has gone to it so far
  • flyingtissues12 - June 10, 2010 9:28 p.m.

    You are the messiah. Meiks and Mild! OHHHHH! Only said that for the frankly abismal pun. Good review though except.... some like it plot?
  • TheWebSwinger - June 10, 2010 9:03 p.m.

    I was reading somewhere that, if you're going up against bosses solo, you can take out enemy soldiers surrounding the area, then lure out/kick the shit out of the vehicle/tank/mech's commander. Are they still nigh-impossible to beat when done this way?
  • skynetiscoming - June 10, 2010 8:11 p.m.

    A very fair review, although I did think the story was a great way to transition from MGS3 to MG/MGS1. I also like how they cut down the codec calls and put them into the audio tapes that you can listen to at your leisure. I also think the boss battles are still better than most out there, even if they are a little shy of MGS standards.
  • metalgatesolid - June 10, 2010 7:54 p.m.

    Ummmmmmmmmmmmm...It has Metal Gear Solid in the title. Like anything with Metal and Solid in it isnt awesome. Wish i had a PSP to play this on though.
  • slimjim441 - June 10, 2010 7:04 p.m.

    I almost forgot about this game. Good thing you guys did a super review, I was so close to selling my PSP. Now I can wait for a friend to buy this game, borrow it, enjoy its awesomeness, then sell my PSP. It does seem kind of disappointing that the boss fights aren't cool unless you do them in co-op, because with MGS, half of the fun was in the boss fights, especially in Snake Eater. The End is by far the best boss in that game.
  • Guardian88 - June 10, 2010 6:43 p.m.

    whw...you guys jus love looking for the shit beneath the oil huh?
  • allthegoodnameswheretaken - June 10, 2010 6:06 p.m.

    I thought there were two control schemes I've played the demo and you get used to the controls
  • Conman93 - June 10, 2010 5:45 p.m.

    I getting a psp for my birthday (hopefully). Having not played the other mgs games (forgive me) would this be a good place to start??
  • breener96 - June 10, 2010 5:07 p.m.

    @Afgefy: Thanks, and you're so lucky! I have to wait until the 17th of June to play it :( @Dave: No, I wouldn't expect it to be as good as previous 3 and 4. I'm glad about that, then. I may ragequit a few times, but I'll make it through the bosses eventually. After blood, sweat, tears and ammo. Lots and lots of ammo :P
  • Games_Radar_DaveMeikleham - June 10, 2010 3:30 p.m.

    @breener96 It depends on your expectations. If you go in looking for it to match Snake Eater or Guns of the Patriots, you'll be disappointed. But if you just want a slightly simpler, though still thoroughly decent Metal Gear for your handheld, then you absolutely won't be. Just take a couple of rocket launchers with you when you fight the bosses. That and loads of long, deep breathes. You can't listen to TalkRadar UK if you go and have yourself an aneurysm.

Showing 1-20 of 25 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PSP, PS3, Xbox 360
Genre: Action
Published by: Konami
Developed by: Kojima Productions
ESRB Rating:
Rating Pending
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending