Google+

Mercenaries 2: World in Flames review

Solid
Back to Article

35 comments

  • Vivapwnata - December 7, 2008 8:56 p.m.

    I am actually disappointed, I thought this game was gonna kick so much ass, but I guess it's alright. This isn't out of harshness, but I used to play mercs 1 for hours on end, and now I am sad about the storyline especially. Took them long enough to come out with the cheats. PS-I'm surprised there are no REAL terrorist bastards you have to kill(snicker snicker)
  • conal130 - November 3, 2008 7:49 p.m.

    i bought Mercs 2 about a month ago, and i have NOT been disappointed, i've completed it and all, and got the costumes etc. but i go on it simply to blow the sh!@ out of towns and people. i would easily give this game a ten, not a nine because of the dialogue, but for anyone looking for a fun, free-roaming, run 'n' gun shooter, this is for you.
  • darkjoker08 - September 7, 2008 1:10 a.m.

    gta4 owns compared to this
  • Trekologist - September 4, 2008 1:04 a.m.

    I bought this game, and I'd have to say that these guess were a bit harsh on it. Sure it may get repetitive, but it someone names one game that isn't, in some degree, repetitive... I didn't see Halo 3 getting a score this low, and it was basically the same deal as this. It's very fun with excellent mini-game hijackings, and a huge area to blow stuff up with. The graphics, are very well done, and I don't see how they could say that. Maybe this reviewer was pissed because he didn't like the first one, or maybe he had to spend his own money to but the game, either way, this review seems biased and harsh. If you're opinion on this game that some of you have yet to play has been changed because of one lowly internet review, then go back to whatever cave you came from and just let the whole world tell you what you should feel.
  • Gotxxrock - September 3, 2008 10:57 p.m.

    Yick... This is what happens when small independent game companies sign on with EA. Their games become shit. To sum this entire game up... "Meh"
  • sithdude - September 3, 2008 4:36 p.m.

    well, remember, a 7 is still good, but why did it take so long to make the game. i play it alot and there are still many glitches in the gameplay. What the heck were they doing with all those months??!! whatever, i still think its a pretty good game, but the main story is really short. atleast i can still go after acheivments, but if u have it for the ps2 or pc i cant imagine how bored u are already with the game
  • JRW3 - September 2, 2008 3:23 a.m.

    Uh-I was really looking formard to this game, but thanks for giving us a warning before buying it.Another reason not to preorder
  • lfcaron8 - September 1, 2008 9:39 a.m.

    well it's not better than gta IV.....but i'll still go buy it i think anyways all the right good games Gears 2,left 4 dead and such all come out on or around my birthday so im covered for those ;)
  • Crossleft501 - September 1, 2008 5:40 a.m.

    I actually went out n got it today...it's a lot of fun but the dialogue gets kinda annoying like they said and idk what they're talking about with the graphics cuz it looks just fine to me esp the explosions :P in all seriousness tho I'd reccomend it as at least a rental and lets be honest...its the first game thats come out in like the last 3 months that hasn't sucked...what else do you have to do?
  • Predator428 - August 31, 2008 11:45 p.m.

    Well thats disappointing, I was really looking forward to this game. Ah well.
  • GoldenMe - August 31, 2008 7:12 p.m.

    Weird. So I won't be playing Mercs 2 either. Guess I'm saving for Left 4 Dead. No way that game will get less than 8.
  • Bazookatier - August 31, 2008 6:20 p.m.

    It's unfortunate to hear that, I played Mercs 1 on Xbox for hours. I have to go rent it to see for myself. Me and my bro will probably enjoy the co-op anyway.
  • dan1419 - August 31, 2008 4:56 p.m.

    nd they sed it was gna be better den gta IV... very unlikely :P
  • conal130 - November 3, 2008 7:50 p.m.

    oop sh!@, sorry about the above, i wouldn't give this a TEN because of the dialogue.
  • Amatarasu - September 14, 2008 2:21 a.m.

    i say this is better than gta! well that's just cause i realy love goin agro with nukes...BUT STILL!!! if you don't at least rent it,your a douchebag who needs to be killed with fire....or a nuke....mmmmm...nuuukes
  • NaThAn0001 - September 6, 2008 12:37 p.m.

    i read this review and was really dissapointed then i saw a vid of the gameplay on ign (no disrespect gamesradar im a loyal fan and member lol) but seriously the graphics are'nt bad they arent the best iv ever seen but they are well and truelly this gen
  • NaThAn0001 - September 6, 2008 12:15 p.m.

    shit, i wanted this game so much... its rubbish that the developers can get away with last gen graphics, but maybe it will make up for that with the total explosions,bombs etc.
  • YaleBox v2 - September 3, 2008 1:13 a.m.

    I loved mercs one and if mercs 2 is the same, i would give it a 8.5. I have seen the graphics, played the game, and played 2 player. The game could have more depth, (more weapons/veichles) but its a game, and like people, no game is perfect.
  • NintendoNerd655 - September 2, 2008 8:37 p.m.

    hey.... 7's a good score. I'll at least rent this game, if not buy it.
  • Marioninja1 - September 2, 2008 6:05 p.m.

    Damn, oh well, if Left 4 Dead or Fallout 3 gets a 7 out of 7 I will personally go to the studios and slap all the makers in the face...and maybe stop by The makers of Duke Nukem Forever too, it's about 11 years old now, so I migh visit them to see how things are going...

Showing 1-20 of 35 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Aug 31 2008 - Xbox 360, PS3, PS2, PC (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PS2, PC
Genre: Action
Published by: Electronic Arts
Developed by: Pandemic Studios
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Language, Use of Alcohol, Use of Tobacco, Violence

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.