Google+

Mario Kart 7 review

Back to Article

111 comments

  • Conservative_Gamer - November 29, 2011 8:21 a.m.

    Well done review. I was going to rent it, but now I think I have to buy it. Do you think that Nintendo will have any plans to release extra tracks via DLC? I think they said that they will allow developers to release dlc in their next 3ds firmware upgrade. This will probably be the one game where I will actually pay to extend my experience.
  • shawksta - November 29, 2011 9:27 a.m.

    Thats a rather interesting point, Nintendo said they dont want DLC to be crap, so we wont see little things like new stages, but then it questions what will they do for DLC?
  • larkan - November 29, 2011 8:20 a.m.

    I'd never buy a 3ds...but jeebus those screens looks awful. I hope that's just because it's blown up and at a lower resolution. Either way, too much money for a handheld device when I already have a phone nearly as capable with games 1/30th of the price. Quality might not be the same, but I only play games on my phone for about 10 minutes at a time anyways.
  • shawksta - November 29, 2011 9:34 a.m.

    *Sigh* No, pics and videos dont show the true quality's of 3DS games, they look MUCH better. What your saying is subjective, Phones and handheld systems are 2 different things, dont bring it up.
  • BladedFalcon - November 29, 2011 10:34 a.m.

    Actully... It's not, like it or not smarthphones are now considered handheld systems because you can play games and buy them just as in a "traditional" console. Their focus is STILL different, yes, since the 3DS is a dedicated gaming platform. But one has to be in denial to not acknowledge that smartphones and platforms like the 3DS are now in direct competition.
  • comaqi - November 29, 2011 8:15 a.m.

    Great! With all the great Nintendo games this year maybe they can get their act together!
  • EnragedTortoise1 - November 29, 2011 8:12 a.m.

    Glad to hear that it's not shit, I'm running out of Star Coins to collect.
  • Imgema - November 29, 2011 7:51 a.m.

    AAAAh, 60 fps of silky smooth motion makes my eyes sooo happy and relaxed. I hate when racing games (or any game that has some speed) run at 30 fps. No matter how good the graphics are, they just ugly, blurry, stuttering racers that makes my eyes sad. There were many reasons why arcade racers looked so much better than their home versions back in the day. Frame rate was the biggest one. Play the latest Sega rally in arcades or a good PC and see the difference 60 fps make. All games should run that smooth. It makes them look better, less tiresome, more responsive with better sense of speed etc.
  • GhostbustTyler - November 29, 2011 7:34 a.m.

    Forgive me if I didn't see it in the review, but have they fixed the rubberbanding issue that is in every iteration of this series? That is pretty much the biggest reason why I stopped buying these games.
  • bread_or_decide - November 29, 2011 7:25 a.m.

    Okay seriously a TEN? I don't think so.
  • GR_JustinTowell - November 29, 2011 8:33 a.m.

    A game anyone can play, everyone can love. One that fits perfectly on the system it's released on. One that pushes technical boundaries and embraces both single-player and multiplayer gaming. One that pleases long-term fans as much as those with a casual interest. One that's worth purchasing the console just to play. If a game is all of these things, it can only be a 10. Guess what? It is.
  • BladedFalcon - November 29, 2011 8:56 a.m.

    "One that's worth purchasing the console just to play" I'm sorry Justin, but this is an entirely subjective statement, and you know it. And you also seem to forget: It's still a racing game, as approachable as it might be, racing is a genre a lot of people are simply not into it, no matter how good the game might be. I am one of them.
  • shawksta - November 29, 2011 9:21 a.m.

    So? Mario galaxy is a platforming game, and saints row is just a havok Sandbox game, regardless of what genre it is people wont like everything,especially the mixed like and hate for the shooter genre. Ill agree that this alone isnt enough to justify, but main point in mind, Mario Kart 7 proved itself worthy than just being a rehash. .
  • BladedFalcon - November 29, 2011 10:39 a.m.

    Yes, but the point I was trying to make with bringing the genre up is to bring attention to the fact that it's not as universally accessible as Justin Makes it out to be. And also, I'm not contesting the quality or score of the game. And i have no doubts that for those that DO have the system it's a must buy. But i do NOT think that a single game is enough to warrant dishing 170 extra to play it.
  • mikeleddy83 - November 29, 2011 11:15 a.m.

    Sorry you feel that way bud but from experience I can tell you I bought a ps3 for mgs4, a 360 for tales of vesperia, a gamecube for resi 4, a psp for peacewalker... and so on. I'm not bragging about riches, you're free to call yourself a hardcore gamer if you've got one or one million games but a game worth buying a system for is a 10 for that reason, take into account that it's an opinion, it might not resonate with your own feeling but it will for the majority of others.
  • BladedFalcon - November 29, 2011 11:56 a.m.

    Interesting, so your own opinion is what resonates will the majority of gamers? how humble of you! And you're right. I'm certain most gamers will run straight away to buy a console just because ONE single good game has been released for it. Who cares if the console has other great games already, that NEVER factors in the someone's decision to buy a console, I'm sure. There ARE people that might buy a console for a single. But I'm willing to bet that most of them, including you, don't buy just that one game and never buy another game for the console again. Consoles are meant to play a variety of games, so objectively speaking, the more good games you have available, the more useful the console would be. But silly me, how dare I expect a console to have more than a few handful of games to keep me happy! *rolls eyes*
  • mikeleddy83 - November 29, 2011 1:29 p.m.

    To not buy other games would be pretty stupid unless you're the owner of an atari jaguar and aliens vs predator (okay, maybe tempest 2000). Looks like we're at odds here though, I'm really struggling to see what this happiness is that you're persuing. Regardless, good luck!
  • BladedFalcon - November 29, 2011 2:39 p.m.

    Maybe it's the fact that i have enough time to play around 15-20 games per year, which is why good game variety is important to keep me playing the system and not let it collect dust. But yeah, it's mainly a difference of focus. Obviously you look for one great game to justify your purchase, and i differ from that. Which is why there's different tastes for everything.
  • shawksta - November 29, 2011 2:14 p.m.

    I know but point is, for the racing genre, this is a big regardless if the genre isnt big.and I know your not and your right, I dont care that he gave it a 10, the main focus is that its the best Mario Kart and step up to online. I agree %100, 3DS owners, this is a great buy, but not enough to warrant a full purchase of a system. I bought a 3DS from my own will, and others have their own way that will object and did buy a system for 1 game, so their opinions are subjective, but otherwise its a big point.
  • kingsmikefan - November 29, 2011 9:48 p.m.

    Yes, a review is SUBJECTIVE!

Showing 81-100 of 111 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: 3DS
Genre: Racing
Franchise: Mario